Skip to Main Content

Tennesseans 12+: Now Eligible for a COVID-19 Vaccine
TDEC COVID-19 Response and Resources

Risk and Resilience Program

What if your community had the opportunity to pause and take stock, identify the status of its priorities, learn about a range of resources and action steps to support priorities more holistically, and take some positive steps toward a more resilient and sustainable future?

TDEC’s Office of Policy and Sustainable Practices (OPSP) is excited to be working with six Tennessee communities from 2019-2020 through the  Risk & Resilience Strategic Planning and Community Engagement Sessions for Tennessee Communities. Our current community partners include: the Town of Stanton, the Town of Spring City, Cocke County, Humphreys County, Montgomery County, and Morgan County. 

Every Tennessee community faces challenges. In the past several years, Tennessee communities have been faced with many extreme weather events from historic flooding to droughts. Communities face other challenges, too: need for improved water infrastructure, community health concerns, transportation snarls, economic and development conflicts.

This program offers strategic planning, technical assistance-based workshops, and community engagement sessions that will support Tennessee communities in taking stock of their vulnerabilities, needs, and priorities. Next, this program will identify a range of federal, state, and local resources available to support the community in its priority areas. Finally, these sessions will provide technical assistance and community engagement activities to implement positive action consistent with consideration of risk-management, resilience planning, environmental stewardship, conservation, smart growth, and sustainability.

Please see the past Request for Applications for more information on this program. Applications are not currently open.

Request for Applications (PDF)

2019-2020 Community Partners

  • The Town of Stanton
  • The Town of Spring City
  • Cocke County
  • Humphreys County
  • Montgomery County
  • Morgan County