Skip to Main Content

Recycling Rebate

Division of Solid Waste Management

Eligible Applicants:

The five most populous counties according to the annual census released in April by the United States Census Bureau and their cities that manage solid waste are eligible for the Recycling Rebate. Rebates may be used for a variety of recycling purposes such as establishing new programs or collection sites; preparing recovered materials for transport and marketing; identifying markets for recovered materials; and developing educational programs for adults and children to help them understand solid waste issues, management options, costs and the value of waste reduction and recycling efforts. If a local government provides collection or disposal services (TCA §68-211-825 (b)(2), recycling rebates for the amounts shown in the below table are offered.*

Top Five most populous counties and municipalities eligible for rebate


Belle Meade $530
Berry Hill $96
Oak Hill $834
Goodlettsville $3,066


Chattanooga $32,448
Collegedale $2,112
East Ridge $3,825
Lakesite $338
Red Bank $2,129
Ridgeside $78
Soddy Daisy $2,480
Walden $384


Knoxville $33,870


Murfreesboro $23,756


Arlington $2,123
Bartlett $10,730
Collierville $9,129
Germantown $7,106
Lakeland $2,291
Memphis $118,410
Millington $2,003


Eligible Projects: 

A local match equal to the rebate amount must be expended by the eligible local government.  Recycling rebates may be used to assist these local governments in their achievement of their 25% waste reduction and diversion goal and should be limited in scope to recycling programs and projects. 

Funding & Matching Requirements:

The Department has allocated $500,000 for recycling rebates for Fiscal Year 2019-2020. Rebate recipients are required to provide a dollar-for-dollar match for funds requested.  Matching costs will be documented at the time of reimbursement of eligible costs. Each county’s allocation of funding shall be proportional to the population of each county. Municipalities that manage solid waste within the five counties shall be offered a proportionate share of their county’s rebate on a per capita basis.

A local government may elect to not receive the rebate or may elect to have rebate funds assigned to the county, another city, solid waste authority, or non-profit recycler.  The State must be notified in writing of the local government’s intent to receive, assign, or waive funding opportunity by September 2, 2019. If a city designated to receive a recycling rebate does not submit the appropriate rebate application by September 2, 2019, the rebate funds will automatically be assigned to the county. If a county designated to receive a recycling rebate does not provide the appropriate rebate application by September 2, 2019, the allocated rebate funds for that county will automatically revert back to the Solid Waste Management Fund.

The allocation of funds in accordance with the amended T.C.A. §68-211-825 (b) is as follows:

Rebate =                   (Total Population of County)                            X         100% of State Funds Allocated for Recycling Equipment Grants
               (Total Population of Five Most Populous Counties)

Funding is distributed to each eligible rebate recipient based on a prorated per capita share.

To see what Materials Management program grants are currently offered please click here.

If you are interested in applying for this grant offering, please register and apply via the TDEC Online Grants System

Please contact Loretta Harrington at (615) 532-0086 or for additional information.


Loretta Harrington