Skip to Main Content


Principal Study Council

The purpose of the Principals Study Council is to promote the continuous improvement of public education in Tennessee by communicating to the State Board of Education and/or the department suggestions for improving education, including task force reports, position papers, and recommendations. Providing in-service education opportunities that are designed to develop the leadership skills of principals is key.

Membership in the Principal Study Council is open to every public school principal, assistant principal and administrator in a similar position.

We strive to be a collaborative network of school leaders working with the department to improve public education in Tennessee.

Our mission is to serve as an important partnership among leaders, districts, and the department to:

  • Act as mutual voice for both leaders across our state and the department
  • Offer recognition and celebration of leadership
  • Support continuous learning
  • Encourage collaboration and networking for leaders within their districts
  • Enable collaboration and networking for leaders within the CORE regions
  • Empower leaders to effectively support teachers and students
  • Provide differentiated learning and capacity building through high-quality professional learning

Download the constitution

In order to provide a more direct opportunity for active participation in its activities, to keep the council responsive to the needs of its members, and to facilitate more direct cooperation between the department and the principals of the state, the Principal Study Council is organized into Area Study Councils for the purpose of disseminating and gathering information.

There are eighteen (18) Area Study Councils presently functioning across the state. Areas are identified in the following map (click to enlarge).

Principal Study Councils by Area and County -  Area 1: Sullivan, Washington, Unicoi, Carter, Johnson. Area 2: Green, Cocke, Hawkins, Hancock, Hamblen. Area 3: Scott, Morgan, Roane, Loudon, Monroe, Campbell. Area 4: Blount, Union, Claiborne, Anderson, Jefferson, Grainger, Sevier. Area 5: Hamilton. Area 6: Polk, McMinn, Meigs, Rhea, Bradey. Area 7: Macon, Trousdale, Clay, Pickett, Fentress, Overton, Jackson, Smith, Putnam, Cumberland, Bledsoe, White, Van Buren, Grundy, Sequatchie, Warren, Cannon, DeKalb, Pickett. Area 8: Wilson, Sumner. Area 9: Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Lincoln, Moore. Area 10: Hickman, Perry, Lewis, Maury, Marshall, Giles, Lawrence, Wayne. Area 11: Stewart, Houston, Dickson, Cheatham, Montgomery, Robertson, Humphries. Area 12: Davidson, Williamson, Rutherford. Area 13: Henry, Weakley, Carroll, Benton. Area 14: Obion, Lake, Dyer, Crockett, Gibson. Area 15: Haywood, Madison, Chester, Hardeman, McNairy, Harden, Decatur, Henderson. Area 16: Fayette. Area 17: Shelby County Schools. Area 18: Shelby Municipal Districts.
PSC Area Representative School District Contact Info  
Area 1 Chris Bogart Unicoi County High School Unicoi (423) 743-1632
Area 2 Denise McKee Clinch School Hawkins County School District 423-272-3202
Area 3 Nancy Lay Elk Valley Elementary Campbell 865-776-9940
Area 4 Jenna Sharp Clinton Elementary Clinton City 865-680-8186
Area 5 Lee Ziegler Hixson High School Hamilton 423-762-4465 ZIEGLER_LEE@HCDE.ORG
Area 6 Kimberly Shurett Jasper Elementary School Marion 423-942-2110
Area 7 Farrah Griffith White County Middle White
Area 8 Lance Taylor Guild Elementary Sumner 615-452-0737
Area 9 Kim Aaron Coffee County Middle Coffee 931-247-5728
Area 10 Kevin Eady E.A. Cox Middle Maury 931-379-1100
Area 11 Amber Raymer West Cheatham  Elementary Cheatham 615-792-5167
Area 12 Combined with 11        
Area 13 Michele Webb Henry County High School  Henry County (731) 642-5232
Area 14 Linda DeBerry Dyersburg Primary School Dyersburg City 731-286-3615
Area 15 Sabrina Sneed Brighton Middle School Tipton County
Area 16 Open        
Area 17 Stephanie Beach Cordova Middle Shelby (901) 416-2189
Area 18 Selina Sparkman Millington Middle School Shelby (901) 873-8130
Position Board Member School District Phone Email
Chair Varissa Richardson Munford Elementary Tipton County (901) 840-9705
Vice-Chair Farrah Griffith White County Middle White County (931) 738-9238
Vice-Chair Monti Hillis BR Memorial Elementary Warren County (931) 808-4899
Secretary Kimberly Shurett Jasper Elementary School Marion County (423) 942-2110
Past Chair Karen King West Side Elementary Cannon County 615-904-5570
East Region Mike Edmonds Boones Creek Middle Washington County 423-283-3520
Middle Region Monti Hillis BR Memorial  Elementary Warren County 931-808-4899
West Region Varissa Richardson Munford Elementary Tipton County 901-840-9705
Chair Emeritus Patton Gamble West View Elementary Washington County 423-753-1175
TDOE Liaison Martha Moore   TDOE 615-856-9306 

Secretary: Kimberly Shurett       

Jasper Elementary School            

Marion County

(423) 942-2110

Co-chairperson: Farrah Griffith

White County Middle    

White County

(931) 738-9238

Chair Emeritus: Varissa Richardson                        

Tipton County   



Co-chairperson: Monti Hillis      

BR Memorial Elementary             

Warren County


Who is eligible for membership?

Membership is open to every public school principal and assistant principal in Tennessee at no cost.

What areas are represented?

There are 18 areas equally represented through the state organized through the eight CORE regions.

How do I know what area I’m in and where my council meets?

Our map, list of area chairpersons, and bylaws are on the study council website.

When do study councils meet?

We meet annually at LEAD conference with other area meetings scheduled in cooperation with the CORE offices throughout the year.

What is the role of the department in the study councils?

The department provides a liaison to facilitate both CORE and state meetings, access to differentiated professional learning opportunities/content, and management for the process of recognition and celebration of principals.