Skip to Main Content

Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities

The Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities shall advise the State on unmet needs, initiatives of the Council and consult with the Governor, the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education and the Assistant Commissioner of the Division of Special Populations, Tennessee Department of Education.

Council Videos

Meeting

Date: April 9, 2019
Time: 10 a.m.-2 p.m. CT
Location: Scarritt-Bennett Center
Laskey Building, Great Hall
1008 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212

All interested persons are invited to attend advisory council meetings. During the meetings opportunities for public input are available. The time available is limited and will be scheduled on a first come/first serve basis. For more information, contact the Kristen McKeever at (615) 741-0572 or the Shannon Taylor, council chair at Shannon.Taylor@hctnschools.com

Name Email Address Area of Representation
Shannon Taylor, Chair Shannon.Taylor@hctnschools.com Parents
Joey Ellis, Vice Chair Joey.Ellis@tnstep.org Individuals with Disabilities
Amy Allen Amy.Allen@trentonssd.org Special Education Administrators
Angela Jackson Angela.Jackson@hck12.net State and Local Education Officials
Brian Brown brianbrown@charter.net Parents
Catherine Knowles Catherine.Knowles@mnps.org Office of the Coordinator for Education of Homeless Children and Youth
Chantal Hess-Taylor tteachlaw@aol.com Parents
Darlene Walden darwarld@live.com Parents
David Craig dcraig@tkds.org Private Schools
Dawn Fry Dawn.M.Fry@gmail.com Parents
Jennifer Escue Jescue79@gmail.com Parents
Mary Meador Mary.Meador@tn.gov Juvenile Corrections Agencies
Paula Brownyard pgbrwnyr@memphis.edu Institutions of Higher Education
Stephanie Ortego sortego@bradleyschools.org Teachers
Travis Commons tcommons@valorcollegiate.org Charter Schools
Melvin L. Jackson
mjacks63@utk.edu
Organizations Providing Transitional Services

Recordings of Council Meetings

Agendas and Minutes