Skip to Main Content

Find COVID-19 Information and Resources

Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities

The Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities shall advise the State on unmet needs, initiatives of the Council and consult with the Governor, the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education and the Assistant Commissioner of the Division of Special Populations, Tennessee Department of Education.

All interested persons are invited to attend advisory council meetings. During the meetings opportunities for public input are available. The time available is limited and will be scheduled on a first come/first serve basis. For more information, contact Michael Holman at (615) 770-1064 or Dawn Fry, council chair at Dawn.M.Fry@gmail.com.

Name Email Address Area of Representation
Joey Ellis, Chair Joey.Ellis@tnstep.org Individuals with Disabilities
Scott Rupe, Vice Chair scott.rupe@gmail.com Disability Advocate
Allie Plofchan aplofchan@valorcollegiate.org Representative of Charter Schools
Amy Allen Amy.Allen@trentonssd.org Special Education Administrators
Angela Jackson Angela.Jackson@hck12.net State and Local Education Officials
Catherine Knowles Catherine.Knowles@mnps.org Office of the Coordinator for Education of Homeless Children and Youth
Chantal Hess-Taylor tteachlaw@aol.com Parents
Darlene Walden darwarld@live.com Parents
David Craig dcraig@tkds.org Private Schools
Jennifer Escue Jescue79@gmail.com Parents
Loria Hubbard lhubbard@thearctn.org Parent Representative
Mark Liverman mark.liverman@tn.gov Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Representative
Stephanie Ortego sortego@bradleyschools.org Teachers
Melvin L. Jackson
mjacks63@utk.edu
Organizations Providing Transitional Services
Shannon Taylor Shannon.Taylor@hctnschools.com Parents
Tammy Day tammy.l.day@vanderbilt.edu Higher Education Institutes Representative
Virginia Crump virginia.crump@tn.gov State Corrections Representative

Date: October 13

Time: 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Livestream

Minutes

Agenda

 

Date: July 13

Time: 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Livestream

Minutes

Agenda

 

Date: April 27

Time: 10 a.m. - 12 p.m.  CT

Livestream

Recordings of Council Meetings\\

Minutes

Agenda

Agendas and Minutes