Skip to Main Content

Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities

The Advisory Council for the Education of Students with Disabilities shall advise the State on unmet needs, initiatives of the Council and consult with the Governor, the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education and the Assistant Commissioner of the Division of Special Populations, Tennessee Department of Education.

All interested persons are invited to attend advisory council meetings. During the meetings opportunities for public input are available. The time available is limited and will be scheduled on a first come/first serve basis. For more information, contact Michael Holman at (615) 770-1064 or Dawn Fry, council chair at Dawn.M.Fry@gmail.com.

Name Email Address Area of Representation
Dawn Fry, Chair Dawn.M.Fry@gmail.com Parents
Joey Ellis, Vice Chair Joey.Ellis@tnstep.org Individuals with Disabilities
Amy Allen Amy.Allen@trentonssd.org Special Education Administrators
Angela Jackson Angela.Jackson@hck12.net State and Local Education Officials
Brian Brown brianbrown@charter.net Parents
Catherine Knowles Catherine.Knowles@mnps.org Office of the Coordinator for Education of Homeless Children and Youth
Chantal Hess-Taylor tteachlaw@aol.com Parents
Darlene Walden darwarld@live.com Parents
David Craig dcraig@tkds.org Private Schools
Jennifer Escue Jescue79@gmail.com Parents
Mary Meador Mary.Meador@tn.gov Juvenile Corrections Agencies
Stephanie Ortego sortego@bradleyschools.org Teachers
Melvin L. Jackson
mjacks63@utk.edu
Organizations Providing Transitional Services
Shannon Taylor Shannon.Taylor@hctnschools.com Parents

Date: January 13, 2020

Time: 10 a.m.-2 p.m. CT
Livestream
Location: Tennessee School for the Blind
115 Stewarts Ferry Pike
Nashville, TN 37214

Recordings of Council Meetings

Agendas and Minutes