Skip to Main Content

School-Based Medicaid

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) requires school districts to provide both special education and related services to eligible students to ensure they receive access to a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE). The IDEA defines FAPE as special education and related services that are provided at public expense in the least restrictive environment. This means health-related services can be provided in the school setting which can be the most cost-effective alternative. 

Contact Information

Theresa Nicholls, assistant commissioner

Theresa.Nicholls@tn.gov

 

TennCare is the state of Tennessee’s Medicaid program that operates within the guidelines set by the federal government. This program allows school districts to seek payment for providing medically necessary services (related services) to Medicaid eligible children. For more information on how your district can participate and receive Medicaid reimbursement for health related services, review the Department of Education/TennCare Provider Registration Webinar and the presentation PowerPoint .

The department, in collaboration with the Division of Tenncare, is pleased to provide school districts with a Tenncare Billing Manual  to address the coverage by TennCare of medical services provided in a school setting. TennCare is the state of Tennessee’s Medicaid program that operates within the guidelines set by the federal government. This program allows school districts to seek payment for providing medically necessary services (related services) to Medicaid eligible children.

The Tennessee Department of Education does not endorse, recommend, or approve the vendors on this list. It is provided for informational purposes only. Contact Susan.Usery@tn.gov if you are a vendor that provides these services and would like to be added to this list.

Accelify

Natalie Roth, Director of Marketing

p: (347) 532-3209

c: (312) 330-5758

Natalie@accelify.com

Accelify Website

Access Medical Billing, Inc.

Brian Leach, President

p: (423) 566-8283

accessmedical01@yahoo.com

Curlee Communications

Renee Denney

p: (865) 693-5622

rdenney@curleecommunication.com

https://knoxvillespeech.com/

Frontline Education

Jennifer Robinson, Medicaid Program Manager

p: (678) 736-7627

c: (602) 684-5365

jrobinson@frontlineed.com

Frontline Education Website

Go Solutions

Matthew M. Flaminio, Esq., President and Chief Legal Officer

p: (800) 260-2544

Matthew.Flaminio@gosolutions.net

Go Solutions Website

 

Public Consulting Group, Inc.

Alicia Stewart

p: (615) 983-5333

astewart@pcgus.com

Public Consulting Group Website

Sivic Solutions Group, LLC

Siva Kakuturi, President

p: (315) 868-9777

skakuturi@sivicsolutionsgroup.com

Sivic Solutions Group, LLC Website

Stellar Therapy Services

Melissa Christopher

p: (423) 622-1551

e_melissa@stellartherapy.com

Stellar Therapy Website

Speech Pathology Services of East Tennessee, LLC

Carlos Stanojevich, CFO

Physical Address: 2030 Chilhowee Medical Park, Maryville, TN 37804

Mailing Address: PO Box 5209 Maryville TN 37802-5209

p: (865) 982-3400

f: (865) 238-2034

email info@spset.com