Skip to Main Content

Pathways Regions

The Tennessee Pathways regions are the drivers of the Pathways initiative. Each region across the state has its own unique areas of strength and is empowered to have regionally driven planning and implementation. Tennessee Pathways provides helpful resources, guidance, and advocacy. Tennessee Pathways depends on regional buy-in and enterprise to implement education-to-career pathways across the state.

Regional Tennessee Pathways initiatives are facilitated by regional coordinators at local Tennessee Board of Regents institutions. They guide the work and direction of our nine regions across the state. Coordinators provide our staff and state planning team with information about each region's needs to ensure we are supporting alignment at the state level. These coordinators serve as champions and liaisons, convening business and industry support, coordinating cross-agency conversations, securing resources to sustain the work, and fostering cohesive, purposeful relationships between industry and education to ensure more students are ready for college and career.

Pathways Tennessee Nine Regions. Northwest: Benton, Carroll, Crockett, Dyer, Gibson, Henry, Lake, Obion, and Weakley Counties. Greater Memphis: Fayette, Lauderdale, Tipton, and Shelby Counties. Southwest: Chester, Decatur, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, and McNairy Counties. Northern Middle: Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Humphreys, Houston, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Stewart, Sumner, Trousdale, Williamson, and Wilson Counties. Southern Middle: Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Maury, Moore, Perry, and Wayne Counties. Upper Cumberland: Cannon, Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Smith, Warren, White, and Van Buren Counties. Southeast: Bledsoe, Bradley, Grundy, Hamilton, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Polk, Rhea, and Sequatchie Counties. East: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union Counties. Northeast: Carter, Greene, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi, and Washington Counties.