Skip to Main Content


The State Board of Education has the authority to adopt academic standards for each subject area in grades K-12.

The current state science standards (located in the drop-down menus below) were first implemented in classrooms in the 2009-10 school year. The state board adopted new state science standards in October 2016, and they will be implemented in classrooms in the 2018-19 school year. The revised science standards were developed utilizing recommendations found in A Framework for K-12 Science Education: Practices, Crosscutting Concepts, and Core Ideas.

Note: The State Board of Education sets the requirements for high school graduation (see the High School Policy 2.103). Per SBE Rule, students must achieve three high school level units of science in order to graduate with a high school diploma, including Biology I, either Chemistry I or Physics, and one additional laboratory science course. View a list of the courses required for high school graduation.

Note: The third lab science must come from the list of courses with permanent science course codes or select CTE courses. Special courses, submitted by districts, may not substitute as a third lab science. For a list of permanent science course codes or to locate the select CTE courses that will satisfy the third lab science graduation requirement, consult the correlation of course code document.

The TN Science Standards Implementation Guide can be used to facilitate meetings and investigations which connect the framework to the 2018-19 science standards. The Science Standards Reference is an exploration of all three dimensions of science instruction: science and engineering practices, crosscutting concepts, and disciplinary core ideas. This document contains progressions of learning for each discipline, connections to the Framework for K-12 Science Education [italicize], and content support for each standard in grades K-8, biology, chemistry, and physics. 

Science Standards Coding

The structure of the k-8 science standards includes grade level/course, conceptual strand, and content standard.

Example coding for grades K-8 standards:


0207 is the grade and year the standard was implemented.

6 is the Conceptual strand and 1 is the standard number. (the standards are numbered consecutively throughout each conceptual strand.)

Example coding for 9-12 standards:

CLE 3210.3.2

CLE is an abbreviation of for course level expectation. This denotes the action a student should be taking as part of this standard.

3120 is the course number.

3 is the conceptual strand and 2 is the standard number

Current K-8 Standards

Select the grade level to view a description of the course and the standards adopted by the state board.

Download PDF:

Current High School Standards

Select the course title/grade level to view a description of the course and the standards adopted by the state board.

Download PDF:

Advanced Placement

Download PDF: