Skip to Main Content

2014-15 Writing Assessment Results

In the 2014-15 school year, the TCAP Writing Assessment was required for all students in grades 3-11. It was administered online and centrally scored by Measurement, Inc. The writing assessment included two passages. Students in grades 3-5 wrote one essay, and students in grades 6-11 wrote two essays. Writing rubrics were used to score each assessment.  The writing rubrics included four traits:  development, focus/organization, language, and conventions.  Each trait was scored individually on a four-point scale, with four being the highest possible score. 

2014-15 Writing Assessment Results

2014-15 Writing Assessment Rubrics

Argument Rubric (PDF)

Informational/Explanatory Rubric (PDF)