Adventure Tourism Districts

Application and Approval Process

Applications to designate an area as an Adventure Tourism District are accepted during the first quarter of each year.  Applications must include a resolution from the local governing body authorizing creation of the district, a parcel map of the proposed district, a business plan that must be based on “quantifiable data demonstrating that the creation of an adventure tourism district would enhance sustainable economic development in the area,” (T.C.A. § 11-11-204b) and a notarized letter from the local government mayor or executive which confirmed their plan. 

Applications for Adventure Tourism District designation will be accepted from January 1, 2015 through April 15, 2015.  An online website will be available during this period to receive applications.  Communities interested in preparing applications for 2015 submission should consult the guidance document prepared for local governments

Counties with Designated Adventure Tourism Districts

Districts Designated in 2015

Campbell County - 1 District
Cumberland County - 3 Districts
Decatur County - 1 District
City of Ducktown
Hardeman County - 3 Districts
Hardin County - 1 District
Henderson County - 5 Districts
City of Kingsport
Lawrence County - 7 Districts
City of Pigeon Forge
Roane County - 4 Districts
City of Spencer
Sumner County - 1 District

Districts Designated in 2014

Anderson County – 2 districts
Blount County –1 district
Carroll County – 2 districts
Grundy County – 1 district
Jackson County – 5 districts
Maury County – 1 district
McMinn County – 1 district
Overton County – 4 districts
Perry County – 2 districts
Putnam County – 6 districts
Roane County – 1 district
Scott County –2 district
Union County – 2 districts
Warren County – 2 districts
White County – 6 districts 

Information for Qualified Businesses in Designated Districts 

Approval as an Adventure Tourism District allows qualified businesses that locate within the district to earn a jobs tax credit to offset a portion of the business’ Tennessee franchise and excise tax liability.  The qualified business must make a capital investment of at least $500,000 and create the required number of full-time jobs with minimum health care benefits under T.C.A. § 67-4-2109.  Businesses located within Tier 3 counties must create a minimum of 13 jobs, businesses located within Tier 2 counties must create a minimum of 19 jobs, and businesses located within Tier 1 counties must create a minimum of 25 jobs in order to quality. Click here for the tier map

Additionally, businesses must complete a jobs tax credit business plan which must be submitted to the Department of Revenue.  An online application is available.

Businesses and local officials may contact either of the following individuals for questions and assistance. They administer the jobs tax credit program for the Department of Revenue.

Randy Hilliard
Karyn Hill