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Administrator’s Letter
July 1, 2021

Honorable Members of 112th Tennessee General Assembly 
Legislative Plaza 
320 6th Avenue North 
Nashville, TN 37243

Dear Members:

In 2013 the General Assembly passed an act to reform Tennessee’s workers’ compensation 
system. It wasn’t the first attempt at reform since the first legislation was passed over one 
hundred years ago in 1919. However, many considered it among the most substantive 
reforms. Governor Bill Haslam stated that the legislation “brings clarity and fairness to 
the system and builds on our ongoing efforts to make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the 
Southeast for high quality jobs.”

Today the reforms have been in place for seven years. The effective date of the 2013 legislation 
was July 1, 2014. Enough time has passed to make initial evaluations of the reform’s impact on 
the system. It is interesting to consider the outcome of the 2013 legislation through the lens 
of many who in 2013 had doubts about whether it could be implemented in a year, doubts 
that it could be implemented without another layer of bureaucracy and increased budgets, 
and doubts about the effectiveness of an administrative court for workers’ compensation 
claims. 

Those doubts have proved to be unfounded. The reform was implemented successfully 
in a year without increasing staff or budgets. Tennessee now has a Court of Workers’ 
Compensation Claims that issues sound, consistent opinions based on the law in less time 
than pre-reform courts and that has received outstanding marks from attorneys in the 
Bureau’s annual survey. The post-reform Appeals Board has provided an appellate court 
that has resulted in a 90% drop in cases appealed to the Supreme Court. Today more 
assistance is available to injured workers who do not have an attorney or whose employer 
did not provide workers’ compensation benefits. Now fewer cases must go through a court 
hearing because of a mediation settlement rate above 80%. 

And in the last year, the Bureau successfully addressed new issues such as a global pandemic, 
the rapid expansion of telehealth, and a need for employers to shorten the periods of their 
employees’ disabilities caused by work related injuries. 

The 2021 “review of the impact of the Workers’ Compensation Reform Act of 2013” required 
by T.C.A. § 50-6-134 shows the reform resulted in a system that is more consistent, more 
focused on the needs of employees and employers, and more cost effective than the pre-
reform system even in difficult times. We appreciate the General Assembly’s vision in passing 
the 2013 Reform Act and additional legislation in the ensuing years that has continued to 
improve Tennessee’s workers’ compensation system.

Abbie Hudgens, Administrator



3

Easier to understand  
at a glance.

Reflects a full 12 months of 
data instead of 11 months and 
a week or so.

Data may not be directly 
comparable to previous 
reports due to timeframe shift.

FY       CY
We’re changing this report’s data reporting period. 

Previous reports were based on fiscal year where data was reported from July 1 through 
the end of the following June (when available). Because of the date legislation requires 
annual reports to be sent to legislators, it is not possible to provide a full year’s data for 
the most current fiscal year. The change to calendar year (unless otherwise noted) will 
make it possible for data comparisons in complete twelve-month periods.

Data will now be reported in calendar years instead of fiscal years 
(unless otherwise noted).

Last year’s report was based on a fiscal year.  
Reporting Period: July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020

This report is based on a calendar year.  
Reporting Period: January 1, 2020 - December 
31, 2020

View previous reports

The change results in data that is:

However, keep in mind that: 

https://www.tn.gov/workforce/injuries-at-work/bwc-newsroom/2017/12/17/annual-report-to-the-general-assembly.html
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Preface
This year’s annual report is arranged into sections:

• Impact of 2013 Reform Act on Resolution of Claims

• Impact of 2013 Reform Act on Benefits to Injured Workers

• Impact of 2013 Reform Act on Medical Issues Related to 
Workers’ Compensation

• Changes in the Workers’ Compensation Law since 2013

• New Developments/Issues in the Workers’ Compensation 
System

• Final Thoughts

The first three sections provide information on the changes 
the 2013 Reform Act made to a particular area of the 
workers’ compensation law, changes, if any, made in the last 
seven years to that area, and information on the impact of 
the 2013 Reform Act on that area of the law. Statistics and 
commentary from the National Council on Compensation 
Insurance (NCCI) about the effect of the Reform Act are also 
included in applicable sections.i

Following the first three sections is a recap of legislative 
changes to the workers’ compensation law since the Reform 
Act. The final two sections of the report reflect on the 
challenges and issues facing the workers’ compensation 
system.

i Post-Reform Study of Tennessee Senate Bill 200 (2021 
Update, June 2021)
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1. Impact on  
Resolution of Claims
Ombudsmen (p. 5)

Ombudsman Attorney (p. 6)

Mediation (p. 7)

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims (CWCC) (p. 8)

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB) (p. 10)

Length of Time to Claim Resolution (p. 11)

Ombudsmen 
The 2013 Reform Act created a new program to aid injured 
workers, family members, people claiming death benefits, 
and employers who are not represented by an attorney. 
The program answers benefit questions, directs people to 
published educational materials (both online and hard copy), 
and provides dispute resolution assistance. The program 
also directs people to federal, state, and charitable sources 
of aid and information such as: Jobs4TN.gov, 211, SNAP, and 
legal aid for non-workers’ compensation related assistance. 
In 2016 the program was expanded through legislation 
(PC 1056) to allow ombudsmen to be attorneys. (See the 
following section for more information on Ombudsmen 
attorneys.)

2020 Update 
In 2020, the ombudsman program developed an interactive 
resource titled “Work Comp Dispute Essentials” to help 
ombudsmen explain how injured workers can solve 
their claim problems. The resource directs customers to 
educational videos and calculators to help them understand 
workers’ compensation benefits. It also contains information 
regarding common practices and legal standards.

In 2020 ombudsmen:

• Helped 499 injured workers receive benefits.

• Provided 7,887 with educational materials.

• Sent 1,648 forms to start alternative dispute resolution.

https://youtu.be/CuLqYbbPQSY

Workers’ Comp 101 in Tennessee

Ombudsman 
Assistance 

12,994 
Contacts via phone, email, chat, 

or in-person

9,768 
Claim issues addressed

https://youtu.be/CuLqYbbPQSYhttps://youtu.be/CuLqYbbPQSY
https://youtu.be/CuLqYbbPQSY
https://youtu.be/CuLqYbbPQSY
https://youtu.be/UOrbTmjqXOI
https://youtu.be/CuLqYbbPQSY
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• Helped 941 complete forms to start alternative dispute 
resolution.

• Helped resolve 1,164 claim disputes

• Provided workers’ compensation information to 765 
employers asking questions about how to report a claim, 
benefit eligibility, and benefit provision.

Impact
The ombudsman program has made the Tennessee 
workers’ compensation system more effective, reduced 
delays, and has clarified the benefits available under the law 
for all parties. Survey responses from people who received 
assistance have been consistently favorable each year.

Ombudsman Attorney 
Assistance for Self-Represented Litigants who are 
in Court 
The ombudsman attorneys were added to the workers’ 
compensation system by statute in 2016. The amendment 
allows the Bureau to provide limited legal advice and 
guidance to injured workers and employers who do not have 
an attorney. While ombudsman attorneys are prohibited 
from providing legal representation, they provide more legal 
assistance to self-represented litigants who are navigating 
the court system than ombudsmen who are not attorneys.

2020 Update 
In 2020, the ombudsmen attorneys worked with the 
Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services and LawDroid to 
create a new online resource. The ChatBot is an interactive 
computer program that helps injured workers and 
employers file a petition for benefit determination (PBD). 
The petition is required to initiate mediation. The ChatBot 
also helps employees and employers file a request for an 
expedited hearing. Those claims that do not settle through 
mediation go to court via this form.

The ombudsmen attorneys also collaborated with the 
Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services to increase workers’ 
compensation awareness. Vanderbilt University Law School, 
Lincoln Memorial University Law School, and the Workers’ 
Dignity Project are currently working with the Bureau to 
educate law students, injured workers, and community 

Ombudsman 
Survey Results 

93%
Positive overall experience 

reported by customers

94%
Customers report that the 

ombudsman understood and 
listened to their concerns

92%
Customers report the 

ombudsman provided helpful 
information regarding the Court 

of Workers’ Compensation 
Claims

I can help you fill out 
your petition for benefit 
determination form via 
chat or with your voice.
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activists about workers’ compensation and the services 
provided by the Bureau.

Impact
The ombudsman attorney program is a significant addition 
to the workers’ compensation system because of its positive 
impact on unrepresented parties. Injured workers assisted 
by ombudsmen attorneys are better prepared for court.

Mediation Program 
Alternative Dispute Resolution resolves disputes 
without going through a court hearing.
The 2013 Reform improved the mediation program first 
created in 1992. Mediators focus on dispute resolution 
through compromise. They educate, develop trust, and 
establish rapport to achieve resolution sooner and more 
effectively. The 2013 reform made all mediations mandatory 
and required that disputes be identified during mediation. 
Both of these changes led to a higher number of settlements 
and fewer court hearings.

2020 Update
The mediation program adapted to the pandemic with 
a wholesale conversion to telephonic mediation. Few 
mediations have been conducted in-person after social 
distancing protocols were implemented.

During the pandemic mediations took four days longer, but 
the delay did not reduce the settlement rate of mediation. 
Many wrongly expected the move away from in-person 
mediation would adversely impact the mediators’ ability to 
help parties resolve disputes, but it did not. As a result, the 
mediation program will continue to use virtual mediation in 
the future when it works best for the parties.

3,034
Mediations  

conducted in 2020

2,479 
Claim disputes  

resolved through mediation

555
Claims sent to the  
Court of Workers’ 

Compensation Claims

82%
Claim disputes  

resolved through mediation
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Impact 
Agreed resolutions have increased by nearly twenty percent 
since the 2013 Reform was enacted.

Mediators help injured workers, attorneys, employers, 
and insurance companies resolve workers’ compensation 
disputes through compromise, education, and information 
exchange.

Mediation benefits employees by saving them time, money, 
and reducing the risks associated with court, where they 
carry the legal burden to prove their claims. Employers 
benefit from lower litigation costs, a shortened claims 
process, and improved relationships with employees.

Mediation improves satisfaction with the workers’ 
compensation claim process for both employees and 
employers. Understanding other perspectives and priorities 
changes perceptions and allows parties to agree on terms. 
Parties’ ability to work together on settlement terms avoids 
the win-lose scenario in court and allows both sides to 
benefit from resolution.

Court of Workers’ 
Compensation Claims 
The Legislature created the Court of Workers’ Compensation 
Claims to be a specialty court dedicated solely to workers’ 
compensation. A desire for consistent outcomes and 
expedient claim resolution motived the Court’s creation. 
The Court achieved these anticipated results in 2020 as 
it has in every preceding year while being innovative, 
creative, and responsive. We innovated by introducing a 
different settlement process. We created by establishing 
safety guidelines for conducting hearings/trials during the 
pandemic. And, we responded to a crisis by anticipating the 
effect of the pandemic and preparing for it before it occurred.  
The Court received positive feedback from employees, 
employers, and attorneys expressing their appreciation for 
the modifications made to allow settlements and hearings 
to proceed rather than being placed on indefinite hold.

2020 Update 
Throughout 2020, the Court continued working as if no 
pandemic existed. The Court approved approximately 8,000 

Attorney 
Involvement and 
Settlement Rates

70%
of employees had an attorney 

during mediation

81% 
of those mediations settled  
(with employee attorney) 

30%
of employees did not have an 

attorney during mediation

82%
of those mediations settled 
(without employee attorney)

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims
Settlements

*This number reflects a drop in 
settlements over the last 9 months of 

2020 likely due to the COVID pandemic.

2015 3,455 
2016 7,864
2017 8,360
2018 8,752
2019 8,729
2020 7,862*
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settlements, conducted close to 3,000 status and related 
hearings, tried 142 cases – mostly in-person – and delivered 
decisions to the parties on an average of seven business 
days from trial for expedited cases and eleven business 
days from trial in compensation cases.

Experience shows that under pre-reform law it was rare 
that an unrepresented employee represented him/herself 
in a trial setting. This is not rare at all in the post reform 
world. And, when they do represent themselves, they are 
successful in part.

Of 298 expedited hearings since 2016, where the employee 
represented him/herself they have won 37% of those 
cases. Of 350 expedited hearings where the employee is 
represented by an attorney, the employee has won 64% of 
those cases. And, since 2016, in 33 compensation hearings, 
the self-represented employee has won 24%, while a 
represented employee won 75% of the time in 89 such 
hearings.

Attorney involvement looks different when all workers’ 
compensation claims are analyzed. The 2021 NCCI study 
of the Reform Act compared the percent of attorney 
involvement in all cases for Fiscal Years 2012 through 2017 
at a common maturity of 42 months. (See NCCI Chart 7) This 
study showed a decrease, but not as great as what 
CWCC observed in the cases that came before the 
court.

Impact 
The Court of Workers’ Compensation provides 
an efficient, consistent, and reliable system for 
adjudicating claims. Time from injury to a “day in 
court” has dramatically shortened. The Court’s 
focused and experienced judiciary apply consistent 
legal principles creating a more reliable system. 
Due to the consistent application of legal principles, 
more than 98% of claims with compensable injuries 
in 2020 resulted in a voluntary settlement, while less than 
2% proceeded to a final hearing. The increased number of 
voluntary settlements results in a savings of two valuable 
resources to parties: time and money. The statutory 
change in 2015 that required all settlements to be 
approved by a CWCC judge has protected both employees 
and employers from additional litigation. 

*This number reflects a drop in  
trials over the last 9 months of  

2020 likely due to the COVID pandemic.

The slow decline in actual trials 
reflects a stabilization of the 

effects of the reform in two areas:

Predictability of Outcome  
and  

Consistent Application of the  
Legal Principles

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims
Trials

2015 25
2016 270
2017 210
2018 193
2019 186
2020 142*
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POST-REFORM STUDY OF TENNESSEE SENATE BILL 200 (2021 UPDATE) 

 

ANALYSIS OF ATTORNEY INVOLVEMENT 
SB 200 made several changes to the dispute resolution process which included the creation of a formal 
mediation process and an ombudsman program. Although not deemed quantifiable by NCCI, these 
changes were expected to impact the level of attorney involvement and the length of the dispute 
resolution process.  
 
To determine whether the level of attorney involvement changed after the enactment of SB 200, NCCI 
DCI data was used to analyze the change in the percent of cases with claimant attorney involvement. 
Chart 7 measures the share of cases with claimant attorney involvement for Fiscal Years 2012 through 
2017 at a common maturity of 42 months. 
 
Chart 7: Percent of Cases with Attorney Involvement by Fiscal Year  
 

 
 
 

 
 
In the chart above, the percentage of cases with attorney involvement has varied over the timeframe 
shown. Some variability is expected given that DCI data represents a random sample of all WC indemnity 
claims in Tennessee8. 
 
At the 42-month valuation, the share of cases with claimant attorney involvement is, on average, three 
percentage points lower in the post-reform period. Although later valuations are available for older 
Fiscal Years, capping all of the data at the 42-month maturity level allows for a consistent basis of 
comparison across accident periods. However, it is important to note that DCI data at 42 months is still 
relatively immature and the percentage of attorney involvement may change significantly as the data 
matures. 
 
 

 
8  Please refer to Section III. Data Detail and Methods 

16%

18%
19%

16%
15%

14%

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017

Pre-Reform Post-Reform

Source: NCCI's Detailed Claim Information data.

NCCI Chart 7
POST-REFORM STUDY OF 

TENNESSEE  
SENATE BILL 200  

(2021 UPDATE)
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Post-Reform Opinions

80

42

7

604020

4
11

49

0

2014

2015

2016

2017

2018

2019

2020

Workers’ Compensation 
Appeals Board 
The Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board, created by the 
2013 Reform Act, hears appeals of interlocutory and final 
orders from the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims. 
Between July 1, 2014 and December 31, 2020, the Board 
received 486 appeals and issued 363 opinions (which does 
not include dismissals). As a direct result of the 2013 reforms, 
the number of workers’ compensation cases appealed to 
the Tennessee Supreme Court has decreased significantly. 

In the six years before the Reform Act 
became effective (2009-2014), 384 workers’ 
compensation appeals were filed with the 
Supreme Court. In the six years since,  
52 “new law” cases were appealed to the 
Supreme Court.

2020 Update
In calendar year 2020, despite the reduction of trial court 
hearings caused by COVID-19 restrictions, the Board 
received 49 appeals and issued 42 opinions. This was a 
24% decrease from the number of Board opinions issued 
in 2019. The Board instituted virtual oral argument hearings 
and conducted two sessions of oral arguments virtually in 
2020. Only 5 WCAB opinions issued in 2020 were appealed 
to the Tennessee Supreme Court. In three of those cases, 
the Supreme Court’s Special Workers’ Compensation Panel 
affirmed the decision of the Appeals Board and adopted 
its opinion as their own.  The other two appeals remain 
pending.

Impact 
Appeals are resolved much more quickly 
as compared to pre-reform appeals, with 
interlocutory appeals being resolved in an 
average of 16 days after receipt of the record, 
and final compensation order appeals being 
resolved in an average of 28 days after the 
briefing period ended (or after oral argument, 
whichever is later).

Of the 363 Board opinions issued since July 1, 2014, the 
injured worker has received some or all the relief sought 

“Pre-Reform” refers to workers’ 
compensation opinions based on 

pre-7/1/14 law.

“Post-Reform” refers to workers’ 
compensation opinions based on 

post-7/1/14 law.

Supreme Court
Opinions Issued

Appeals Board 
Opinions Issued



Timeliness
MMI to Conclusion

Maximum Medical Improvement is 
the point in which the physician states 

the injury has plateaued.

MMI

MMI

conclusion

conclusion

26 weeks

35 weeks

Pre-Reform 
(Calendar Years 2008–2014)

Ending on June 30, 2014

Post-Reform 
(Calendar Years 2014–2020)
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in approximately 53% of the cases. In calendar year 2020, 
this percentage was somewhat lower at 45%. Although 
the Appeals Board does not have statistics showing the 
percentage of employees who were self-represented on 
appeal prior to the implementation of the Reform Act, they 
noted that, since July 2014, approximately 42% of all appeals 
have involved self-represented employees. In 2020, the 
Board made several changes intended to provide quicker 
and easier access to information about the appeals process, 
including the addition of an FAQ page on the Bureau’s 
website and the revision of our published Guide for Injured 
Workers (available in both English and Spanish and in both 
digital format and hard copy).

Length of time to claim 
resolution
Timeliness data helps us measure recovery.
The average length of time to conclude a claim is an indication 
of the efficiency of a workers’ compensation system. This 
time-period was shorter after the 2013 Reform Act went 
into effect. There are two ways to analyze the change in the 
length of time. One measures from the time the employee 
reaches maximum medical improvement (MMI) and the 
other is to measure the time from the date of accident.

2020 Update
The chart on the right illustrates the result of 
measuring the time to claim conclusion from the 
date an employee reaches MMI based on the Date 
of Injury records and Statistical Data Forms (SD-
2) submitted to the Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ 
Compensation through December 31, 2020. 

The 2021 NCCI study of the Reform Act measured 
the length of time between accident date and claim 
conclusion. NCCI Chart 9 displays an increase in the 
percentage of cases concluded within one year of the 
accident date. When considering these results, note 
that other factors such as the severity of injuries may 
affect the length of the dispute resolution process 
when it is measured from the date of accident.  This 
suggests that the measurement from MMI to conclusion is 
a better indicator of the effectiveness of the adjudication 
process after the Reform Act.  This chart only shows data 
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POST-REFORM STUDY OF TENNESSEE SENATE BILL 200 (2021 UPDATE) 

 

 
Note that claims closed at 18 months are included in the average duration to MMI calculation for the 
54-month valuation, and some claims from the latest fiscal year may have not yet reached the 54-month 
valuation date as of the date of this update. 

 
 

ANALYSIS OF CLAIMS CONCLUDED BY TRIAL OR SETTLEMENT 
SB 200 created a Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims (WC Court) which was expected to impact the 
consistency of decisions and WC awards and result in quicker resolution of claims. To measure the 
impact from any changes in the length of the claim resolution process, NCCI utilized the Tennessee 
Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s Statistical Data (SD) to analyze the length of time 
between accident date and settlement/conclusion date.  
 
The following chart displays the percentage of claims that have concluded within a year of their accident 
date, as well as the total number of reported claims underlying the percentages. 
 
Chart 9: Claims Concluded by Trial or Settlement by Fiscal Year  
 

 
 
 
 
 
Please note that the figures in Chart 9 are influenced by changes in the dispute resolution process 
resulting from SB 200 but can also be influenced by several other factors, such as the overall number of 
claims reported in SD data, the type of claims and reasons for disputes, as well as the complexity of such 
contention. Additionally, the post-reform claim experience is relatively immature and thus subject to 
fluctuation. However, all things considered, Chart 9 may indicate a speed-up in the claim resolution 
processes as the percentage of claims settled within a year of their accident date in the post-reform 

2,161
31%

2,356
33%

3,095
39%

2,884
44%

2,621
49%

1,385
30%

7077 7220
7877

6606

5345
4617

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017

Pre-Reform Post-Reform

Claims Concluded in < 1 Year (Count and as % of Total) Total Reported Claims

Source:  Tennessee SSDD data 

NCCI Chart 9
POST-REFORM STUDY OF 

TENNESSEE  
SENATE BILL 200  

(2021 UPDATE)
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3,228
2,951

47%
55%

FY 2018

FY 2019

Year

Number 
of 
Disputed 
Claims

% 
Resolved 
within a 
Year of the 
Accident 
Date

from three years post-reform, but the report also includes 
statistics from the FY 2018 and FY 2019 which are below. 

Impact
Shorter periods to resolve disputed claims mean that 
employees and employers get resolution on disputed 
claims more rapidly, which is better for all and a sign of a 
well-functioning workers’ compensation system. Employees 
benefit from receiving disability benefits sooner. Employers 
benefit financially and from improved operations and 
reduced costs when claims are resolved more efficiently.
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2. Impact on Benefits
Definition of injury (Causation) (p. 13)

Construction of Workers’ Compensation Law (p. 14)

Temporary Total Disability Benefits (p. 15)

Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) Benefits (p. 16)

Permanent Total Disability Benefits and Social Security 
(p. 17)

Death Benefits (p. 18)

Definition of Injury 
(Causation) 
The reform clarified what qualifies as a 
compensable injury.
One of the most noteworthy changes to the workers’ 
compensation law in the Reform Act of 2013 was the 
definition of “injury.”

For dates of injury on or after July 1, 2014, the worker must 
prove that the injury arose “primarily” out of and in the 
course and scope of employment when all other possible 
causes are considered. “Primarily” means that work must 
have contributed greater than 50 percent in causing the 
overall injury. The opinion of the treating physician shall 
be presumed correct on the issue of causation but may be 
rebutted by a preponderance of evidence.

2020 Update
There have been no changes to this section of the Reform 
Act since it went into effect. 

Impact
“Primarily” is a greater burden of proof for employees to 
meet to prove the injury/illness was work related than in 
pre-reform injuries. Under pre-reform case law, state courts 
consistently held that an award for workers’ compensation 
benefits was proper if based upon medical testimony that a 
given incident “could be” the cause of the employee’s injury, 
when there was also lay testimony that the incident was the 
cause of the injury. The change means employers may have 
fewer compensable workers’ compensation claims and 
lower costs.
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Construction of Workers’ 
Compensation Law 
No longer liberally construed, favoring neither 
party. 
Before the 2013 reforms, the workers’ compensation 
statute was “remedial” in nature, to be equitably or liberally 
construed by the courts in favor of the injured worker. For 
injuries occurring on or after July 1, 2014, the law is applied 
fairly and impartially, favoring neither the employee nor 
employer. See T.C.A. § 50-6-116. 

Stated in another way, before the 2013 reforms, the law 
was interpreted to benefit the injured worker, and any 
“close calls” were to favor the injured worker. Since the 
2013 reform, however, the law has been interpreted “fairly 
and impartially,” favoring neither the employer nor the 
employee. This method of interpretation results in a more 
consistent application of the law to facts.

2020 Update
No change in the construction of the Workers’ Compensation 
Law has occurred since the 2013 Reform Act. 

Impact
The impact on employees of this construction of the statutes 
is most apparent in the application of the causation analysis 
for workers’ compensation injuries in contested cases. The 
law now requires a medical opinion stating that the injury 
contributed more than fifty percent in causing the “death, 
disablement or need for medical treatment.” Most injuries 
are accepted as work-related and necessitating medical 
treatment. For example, the impact affects employees where 
evidence exists of similar problems before the alleged work-
related injury. Those cases depend on the doctor’s opinion. 
The matter then becomes a dispute for the judges of the 
Court of Workers’ Compensation to decide.

The impact on employers of this change is that they can 
expect less ambiguity about whether a claim is compensable 
and a consistent application of the law in court.
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Impact of the Combination of Changes 
in Construction of the Statute and 
Definition of Injury
NCCI hypothesized that the impact on costs related 
to these two changes might be inferred by changes 
in claim frequency (per million dollars of premium) 
for lost time claims. Chart 5 from the NCCI report 
illustrates the decrease in lost time claim frequency 
in the period of accident year 2013 to accident year 
2018. It should be noted that claims frequency in 
workers’ compensation claims has been decreasing 
across the country during the period in this chart 
although Tennessee’s decrease is higher than many 
other states.

Temporary Total 
Disability Benefits
Temporary Total Disability (TTD) benefits stop when an 
employee reaches Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) 
and the treating physician has stopped all active medical 
care except for pain management treatment, even if the 
impairment rating has not been issued by the treating 
physician. Before the 2013 Reform Act an employee could 
receive TTD benefits after reaching MMI if an impairment 
rating had not been assigned by the treating physician, 
which could result in weeks of additional TTD even when 
the worker could return to work. The provision to provide 
TTD benefits for 104 weeks after reaching MMI if the 
employee suffered a mental injury with a physical injury was 
eliminated. TTD payments made after the date of MMI are 
now offset against permanent benefit payments, which was 
not always the case before the 2013 Reform.

2020 Update
There have been no changes in this part of the 2013 statute.

Impact
The cost of temporary total disability payments has been 
lowered for employers. There is no longer a financial 
incentive to the employee to delay returning to work after 
reaching maximum medical improvement when all active 
medical treatment has stopped other than pain management 
treatment. TTD payments are no longer made after MMI.
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Chart 5: Lost-Time Claim Frequency Per Million of Premium by Calendar-Accident Year   

 
 

 
 
As seen above, lost-time claim frequency has decreased by an average of 7.5% per year between 
Accident Year (AY) 2015 and AY 2018 after a period of relative stability from AY 2013 to AY 2015. In 
comparison, countrywide frequency decreased by an average of 3.9% between AY 2013 and AY 2015 
and by an average of 4.0% per year between AY 2015 and AY 2018. Given the timing of the recent 
decreases in claim frequency in relation to the effective date of SB 200, it is likely that the tightened 
compensability standard and stricter interpretation standards resulting from SB 200 were a contributor 
to the frequency decline in AYs 2016 through 2018 for Tennessee relative to countrywide frequency, but 
it is unclear to what extent other WC system factors played a part.  
 
 
ANALYSIS OF PROVISIONS IMPACTING MEDICAL LOSSES 
 
The following unquantifiable provisions of the reform were expected to have an impact on medical 
losses in Tennessee: 
 

• Mandated adoption of rules pertaining to payments and disputes of medical bills 
• Development of medical treatment guidelines 

 
In Chart 6, medical paid plus case losses (adjusted for medical inflation and benefit changes excluding SB 
200) are divided by lost-time claim counts to derive average medical severity. It should be noted that the 
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Source: NCCI's Financial Call data. Based on premium and claim counts developed to ultimate.
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Permanent Partial 
Disability (PPD) Benefits 
The reform simplified the PPD benefit calculations 
Employees whose injuries result in a permanent disability 
that is “partial in character” are eligible for a PPD benefit at 
the time they reach maximum medical improvement (MMI). 
The 2013 Reform Act changed some aspects of PPD but not 
others. 

Under the pre-reform law, if an employee returned to work  
at a wage equal to or greater than the employee’s wage at 
the time of the injury, he/she could receive a PPD award  
equal to:

The impairment rating assigned by the physician multiplied 
by the number of weeks set by law (400)

multiplied by the compensation rate (66 2/3% of the 
employee’s average weekly wage

multiplied by the state multiplier (up to 1.5)  

The 2013 Reform made a change in this benefit. Now an 
employee can receive PPD benefits at the time he/she 
reaches MMI whether the employee has returned to work 
or not. The PPD is now called the “original award” and is 
equal to:

The impairment rating assigned by the physician multiplied 
by the number of weeks set by law (450, an increase of 50 
weeks)

multiplied by the compensation rate (66 2/3% of the 
employee’s average weekly wage

multiplied by the state multiplier (1)

If an injured employee is not able to return to work for any 
employer after the period of time covered by the “original 
award” or after 180 days from reaching MMI, whichever is 
later, or makes less than the pre-injury wage, the employee 
is eligible for an additional PPD benefit calculated in the 
same way as the original award but with multipliers that can 
total up to 3.05. Now there are specific multipliers for the 
following: not being able to return to work, age, education, 
and/or the unemployment rate in the worker’s county.

For injuries that occurred before July 1, 2014, if the employer 
did not return the employee to work at a wage equal to or 
greater than his/her wage at the time of injury, the employee 

https://youtu.be/SQSO6q-yd1o

How are PPD Benefits Calculated?

https://youtu.be/SQSO6q-yd1o
https://youtu.be/SQSO6q-yd1o
https://youtu.be/SQSO6q-yd1o
https://youtu.be/SQSO6q-yd1o
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could receive an award based on a variable multiplier of up  
to 6. The multiplier was based on settlement negotiations or 
the decision of the judge. 

Prior to the Reform Act impairment ratings were 
based on either the body as a whole or a schedule 
member. The Reform Act required all impairment 
ratings to be based on the body as a whole.

In the 2021 NCCI study of Tennessee’s 2013 Reform 
Act, they determined that the average PPD indemnity 
cost per claim decreased by approximately 28% as 
illustrated in Chart 1 of the NCCI report.

2020 Update
There has been no change in this part of the statute 
since the 2013 Reform Act. 

Impact
Employees can now receive an award when they reach MMI 
even if they have not returned to work, which helps them 
financially if they are not able to return to work yet. Claims 
can be concluded more rapidly since there is no need for 
negotiation or a court determination about the amount of 
the PPD award. The litigation process before the reform 
could take many years and caused animosity between the 
employer and employee when there was a dispute about 
a claim. Awards are consistent across the state, which 
gives the workers’ compensation system more stability and 
predictability.

However, the current formula tends to result in lower 
awards for PPD than under the pre-reform law even though 
they are based on an extra 50 weeks.

Permanent Total Disability 
Benefits and Social Security
Adjusting the Cap on Benefits for Retirement-Aged 
Injured Workers
A little-known change in benefits was to the provision that 
provided for up to five years of benefits for injured employees 
60 years old with a permanent total impairment. The basic 
benefit for employees with permanent total injuries was to 
receive periodic indemnity benefits (66 2/3% of their wages 
at the time of the injury) until they were entitled to full Social 
Security benefits. However, if employees were older than 
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Chart 1: Average Permanent Partial Indemnity Cost Per Case ($000s) by Fiscal Year 

 
 

 
 
As shown in Chart 1 above, the average PPD indemnity cost per case has decreased by approximately 
28% (i.e., post-reform average / pre-reform average – 1.0) between the pre- and post-reform periods. 
Although the averages above are based on emerged data as of a 4th report, data as of a 3rd report (in 
which claims are less mature) and data as of a 5th report (in which claims are more mature) show similar 
decreases.  
 
The change in the average PPD indemnity cost per case will continue to materialize as the data matures; 
however, based upon the analysis of post-reform data that has emerged to-date, the average PPD 
indemnity cost per case is significantly lower for accidents occurring after the effective date of the 
reform as compared to those occurring before the reform.  
 
To further investigate the effect of SB 200 on the average PPD indemnity cost per case, the most recent 
extract of SD data was analyzed. The number of weeks payable for PPD indemnity benefits is a function 
of the PPD multiplier, the impairment rating, and the statutory maximum number of weeks. Therefore, 
the average number of weeks awarded for PPD indemnity benefits is analyzed, since that measure best 
captures all three of the PPD benefit changes being reviewed. Two important points to note when 
drawing conclusions from relatively immature PPD data are as follows: 
 
 Accident period data at an early maturity only includes a portion of all PPD claims that will 

ultimately emerge for that accident period. 
 

 As PPD claims with later maturities emerge for a given accident period, the average number of 
weeks awarded for that accident period is expected to increase. This is because, as indicated by 
historical data, the average impairment rating, and thus average number of weeks awarded, 

34
32

30

23 23 23

FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017

Pre-Reform Post-Reform

Source:  NCCI’s Workers Compensation Statistical Plan data as of 4th report, adjusted to FY 2017 wage and benefit level

NCCI Chart 1
POST-REFORM STUDY OF 

TENNESSEE  
SENATE BILL 200  

(2021 UPDATE)
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sixty when they suffered an injury, they received 260 weeks 
(five years) of indemnity benefits (66 2/3% of their wages at 
the time of the injury) as compensation for their impairment 
since there was a shortened period for permanent total 
disability compensation. At the time this provision was 
enacted the normal retirement age was sixty-five, and five 
years of benefits would pay an employee benefits until they 
were eligible for Social Security benefits. But by 2013 the 
eligibility age had been moved to sixty-seven, which left a 
two-year gap between receiving permanent total benefits 
and eligibility for Social Security benefits. The 2013 Reform 
changed this to provide 260 weeks of benefits to employees 
who had less than five years before they were eligible for 
Social Security. This simple change in wording prevented 
the gap from occurring for employees who would not be 
eligible for Social Security until they were 66 or 67.

2020 Update
This section of the statute has not been changed since the 
2013 was enacted.

Impact
The cap on permanent and total disability became aligned 
with the change in Social Security retirement age, which 
protected injured employees from a gap between permanent 
total disability benefits and Social Security benefits. 

Death Benefits
The 2013 Reform Act did not make any changes to Death 
Benefits.
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3. Impact on  
Medical Programs
Physician Communication and Medical Records (p. 19)

Physician Panels (p. 19)

Treatment Guidelines/Drug Formulary (p. 20)

e-Billing (p. 22)

Physician Communication 
and Medical Records 
This change allowed the employer or employer’s 
representative to freely communicate with the treating 
physician. It removed the requirement that the employee 
had to sign a waiver before the employer could review 
the medical records related to the workers’ compensation 
injury.

2020 Update
There have been no changes to this section of the statute 
since it went into effect. 

Impact
The employer or their representative gets timely access to 
the information needed to investigate the claim. This allows 
them to provide the necessary medical treatment faster and 
enables more effective resolution of claims.

Physician Panels 
Referrals and subspecialty panels 
The requirement to provide a panel of medical providers 
was simplified in the 2013 Reform Act by requiring the 
employer to provide the injured worker one panel of at least 
three appropriate physicians or chiropractors from which 
to make a choice of an authorized treating physician (ATP). 
Once chosen, this panel physician may make direct referrals 
to a specialist unless the employer provides a panel of 
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specialists to the employee within three business days of the 
ATP’s referral. The law also gave the ATP’s impairment rating 
and course of treatment the presumption of correctness.

The new law also clarified that if an employee is given a 
physician selection form and does not sign and return it to 
the employer, and subsequently accepts treatment from a 
physician on the panel, that action constitutes acceptance 
of the panel. Prior to the reform employers were required 
to provide a panel with various numbers of physicians 
depending upon the nature of the injury. The employer also 
had to provide an additional panel of three specialists when 
the ATP referred the patient to a specialist.

Finally, the 2013 Reform Act included provisions that all 
physicians on a panel must be willing to treat workers’ 
compensation patients in what was dubbed as the “no 
dead doctor” rule. Employers also faced penalties for not 
providing an employee an appropriate panel promptly. 

2020 Update
There have been no changes to this section of the statute 
since the 2013 Reform Act went into effect.

 Impact 
Doctor shopping by claimants is now more difficult. It is 
also more difficult for employers to avoid providing panels 
timely. Employees can no longer accept treatment from a 
panel physician and then contend they didn’t get a proper 
panel because they didn’t sign the physician selection form.

Treatment Guidelines/Drug 
Formulary
Comprehensive treatment guidelines (ODG by MCGTM) 
were adopted in 2016 and included a drug formulary. Well 
accepted by the carriers and third-party administrators 
(TPAs), the guidelines and formulary provide one source as 
the reference to evaluate the medical necessity of requested 
treatments for injured workers. Updates to the guidelines 
are reviewed for acceptability in Tennessee quarterly by 
the Bureau’s Medical Advisory Committee, comprised of 
stakeholders in workers’ compensation: labor, medical 
providers, employers, and insurers.

https://youtu.be/UOrbTmjqXOI

What is an “Authorized Treating Physician”?

https://youtu.be/UOrbTmjqXOI
https://youtu.be/UOrbTmjqXOI
https://youtu.be/UOrbTmjqXOI
https://youtu.be/UOrbTmjqXOI
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2020 Update
There has been no change in this section of the Reform Act 
since the legislation went into effect. 

Impact 
Most medical providers remain unaware of or choose 
to ignore the guidelines despite an extensive statewide 
educational initiative. The best doctors already practice to 
the standards set by the guidelines, but the “best” doctors 
are not always chosen to be on panels. Some unnecessary 
or repetitive procedures have been eliminated, which has 
benefitted injured workers. 

The expenses for some drugs and unnecessary 
procedures have been reduced after the 
implementation of the drug formulary. Almost 
all topical compounds not approved by the US 
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) are no longer 
covered, which results in savings up to $1,000 per 
prescription. A 2019 NCCI Research Brief reported 
that prescription drug utilization decreased in a study 
of the eighteen-month period after implementation 
of the drug formulary.ii The percentage of claims 
receiving any drugs and the number of prescriptions 
per claim decreased. The number of drugs that required 
prior authorization decreased 20% as illustrated in Exhibit 3 
of the Research Brief.

The impact of the 2013 Reform on medical costs 
is difficult to quantify because they are affected by 
the severity of claims in a year, the demographics 
of injured workers, and other factors not related to 
the 2013 Reform, such as Tennessee initiatives to 
reduce opioid usage. The 2021 NCCI study of the 
Reform Act noted that the “average medical paid-
plus-case severity” decreased by 4.3% in accident 
year (AY) 2018 after increasing by an average of 8.2% 
between AY 2015 and AY 2017. Chart 6 in the NCCI 
Post Reform Study shows the medical average paid 
+ case severity by accident year.

ii Insights-Research-Brief-Formulary-Post-Reform-june2019.
pdf (ncci.com)

 

 
8 
 

DATA ANALYSIS—TENNESSEE 
The analysis of Tennessee experience begins with a summary of several prescription drug price and utilization metrics in 
Tennessee in Exhibit 3. There are several noteworthy observations from Exhibit 3: 
 All prescription drug utilization metrics decreased between the pre‐reform and post‐reform periods. Both the share of 

claims receiving any drugs and the number of scripts per claim with a script decreased. 
 The share of claims with any N‐drug20 script decreased by 20% after formulary implementation. 
 Although average prices for both Y‐drugs and N‐drugs increased slightly, the average price per script for all drugs 

combined decreased due to a change in mix of drugs toward less‐costly Y‐drugs. As noted in the Appendix, correcting 
for such “substitution effects” is a primary benefit of measuring price and utilization trends with Fisher indices. 

 
 

  Pre‐Reform  Post‐Reform  % Change 
Share of Claims With at Least One Prescription Drug  41%  38%  –6% 
Share of Claims With at Least One N‐Drug Script  12%  10%  –20% 
Share of Claims With at Least One Y‐Drug Script  39%  37%  –5% 
Scripts per Claim With at Least One Prescription Drug  6.3  6.1  –4% 
N‐Drug Scripts per Claim With at Least One N‐Drug Script  4.1  4.0  –3% 
Y‐Drug Scripts per Claim With at Least One Y‐Drug Script  5.3  5.2  –1% 
Price per Script  $162  $160  –2% 
Price per N‐Drug Script  $282  $284  +1% 
Price per Y‐Drug Script  $135  $136  +1% 
Drug Cost per Claim With at Least One Prescription Drug  $1,030  $975  –5% 

Based on MDC data for prescriptions paid between 3/1/16 and 8/31/17 

Exhibit 3 
 

During the pre‐reform period, N‐drugs constituted 19% of all prescription drug scripts and 34% of prescription drug 
payments in the Tennessee WC system. Exhibit 4 shows the percentage change in overall utilization between time periods, 
as measured by a utilization index for N‐drugs. This chart shows that N‐drug utilization has decreased across all time periods 
and states included in the report. The decrease in N‐drug utilization in Tennessee represented a slightly lower rate of 
decrease than in similar states from the baseline period to the pre‐reform period. However, the rate of decrease for N‐drug 
utilization accelerated from the pre‐reform to post‐reform period, with N‐drug utilization in Tennessee changing by an 
additional –14% [= (1 – .23) / (1 – .10) – 1] compared to the decrease observed in similar nonformulary states. 

 
   

                                                                 
20 Throughout the Tennessee portion of this report, all drugs requiring topical application and all drugs identifiable as compounds are 
treated as N‐drugs regardless of the status on the ODG Formulary, consistent with Tennessee rules. This treatment is also applied to data 
for nonformulary states whenever they are compared to Tennessee. 

NCCI Exhibit 3
2019 NCCI  

RESEARCH BRIEF
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medical severity includes losses on medical-only claims (cases in which no lost wage benefits are 
expected to be paid). 
 
Chart 6: Medical Average Paid + Case Severity (in $) by Accident Year  

 
 
 
 
 
The average medical paid-plus-case severity in Tennessee decreased by 4.3% in AY 2018 after 
increasing by an average of 8.2% between AY 2015 and AY 2017. While this chart provides a snapshot of 
average medical costs in the state, it is difficult to quantify the impact on average medical severity from 
provisions of SB 200 due to the impact on medical costs from large losses, settlements, mix of injuries, 
variations in injured worker demographics, and many other factors.  
 
In accordance with SB 200, the BWC adopted Tennessee Rule 0800-02-25 which established medical 
treatment guidelines (effective 1/1/2016) and the use of a closed drug formulary (effective 8/28/2016 
for new prescriptions and 2/28/2017 for refill prescriptions on injuries occurring prior to 2/28/2016). 
NCCI has conducted a separate post-reform study on the implementation of the drug formulary. The 
results of that study can be found on ncci.com7. 
 
 

 
7 https://www.ncci.com/Articles/Documents/Insights-Research-Brief-Formulary-Post-Reform-june2019.pdf 

32,087
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Source: NCCI's Financial Call data. 
Based on losses and claim counts developed to ultimate.
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e-Billing 
Moving billing from paper to electronic transfer improves 
response time (payment cycle) by as much as two weeks. 
This improvement has been well-accepted by all larger 
payers and medical groups. Once the combining of records 
with bills was automated, the requests for exemptions has 
fallen by 57% from 2019 to 2020. 

The system provides payers and providers with improved 
accounts receivables, reducing the use of paper and mail. 

Impact on Employees
With more rapid reimbursement and reduced staff time, 
providers are more likely to accept injured workers.

Impact on Employers
Lower costs may result in more choices for panel physicians.  

of payers now use e-Billing
90%
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4. Changes in TN Workers’ 
Compensation Law since 
2013
The following changes have occurred since the 
Reform Act was implemented July 1, 2014:

2014
PC 765: Authorized the Bureau to provide temporary 
disability and medical benefits from the Uninsured 
Employers Fund to any eligible employee who suffered 
an injury arising primarily within the course and scope of 
employment with an employer who failed to have workers’ 
compensation insurance at the time the employee suffered 
the injury (Uninsured Employer Fund Benefits).  

Impact: Employees of employers who did not provide 
workers’ compensation insurance coverage as required 
by law have been able to receive temporary disability 
and medical benefits. Bureau mediators have helped 
employers and employees settle workers’ compensation 
claims where an uninsured employer agrees to pay for 
these benefits out of pocket.

2015
PC 341: The Reform Act of 2013 included a provision that 
workers’ compensation would be an autonomous unit 
of the department of labor and workforce development 
for administrative purposes under the direction of an 
administrator who was appointed by the Governor 
for a maximum of two terms of six (6) years each. This 
change was made to ensure its independence and to 
recognize “Tennessee’s endeavor to reform the workers’ 
compensation law in a manner designed to ensure the 
health and safety of Tennessee workers and to promote 
Tennessee as an attractive destination for business.” PC 
341 changed the name of the workers’ compensation 
agency from Division of Workers’ Compensation to 
Bureau of Workers’ Compensation to clarify the change 
in structure in the Reform Act of 2013.
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PC 341 (2): Settlement agreements must be approved 
by a workers’ compensation judge. Any settlement not 
approved is void.

Impact: By having a workers’ compensation judge review 
and approve a settlement agreement, injured workers and 
their employers are protected from unfair settlements.

PC 341 (3): Extended the statute of limitations for filing a 
claim for workers’ compensation benefits to two years from 
the date of the last payment of permanent partial disability 
benefits where an employer has paid those benefits to settle 
a claim but without a court-approved settlement agreement.   

Impact: Protects injured workers from insurance carriers 
using a statute of limitations defense to avoid paying the 
employee’s entire permanent partial disability benefits 
because of a deliberate delay in benefit payments.   

PC 342: Required that utilization reviews be conducted 
by providers accredited by either the utilization review 
accreditation commission (URAC) or the national committee 
for quality assurance (NCQA).  

Impact: Employees and employers benefit from having 
utilization review organizations being audited and 
accredited by URAC or NCQA to ensure certain standards 
are met. Utilization review organizations must offer timely 
and efficient service for workers’ compensation medical 
treatment.

2016   
PC 816: When enforcing open medical provisions, the Court 
of Workers’ Compensation Claims may award attorney 
fees and reasonable costs incurred in the enforcement of 
medical benefits provisions in all orders.  

Impact: This provision benefits the injured worker who 
must retain counsel to enforce an open medical benefit 
provision in their settlement agreement or order.   

PC 816 (2): Removed the sunset/expiration date from T.C.A. 
§ 50-6-242(a). This section allows a workers’ compensation 
judge to award additional benefits in extraordinary cases.  

Impact: This provision has rarely been used by the Court, 
but it offers protection for an injured worker who has 
suffered a serious injury. The Court can award additional 
benefits if limiting the employee’s recovery to the standard 

BWC Annual Report | Law Changes Since 2013
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benefits would be “inequitable in light of the totality of the 
circumstances” and certain conditions are met.  

PC 1056: Provided for reasonable attorney fees and costs to 
be awarded by the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims 
(subject to a two-year sunset provision) when the employer:   

• Fails to furnish appropriate medical, surgical, and dental 
treatment or care, or

• Wrongfully denies a claim by failure to timely initiate any 
of the benefits to which the employee is entitled. Note: 
The two-year sunset provision was extended in PC 757 
(2018) to June 30, 2020, and was not extended in 2020 
due to the pandemic-shortened legislative session but 
was revived in PC 152 in 2021 and extended until June 
30, 2023.

Impact: This provision has made it easier for injured 
workers to retain counsel when their claim has been 
wrongfully denied by their employer and/or insurance 
carrier.  

PC 1056: Allowed for ombudsmen who are licensed 
attorneys to assist self-represented litigants by providing 
limited legal advice and reduced the period of reporting 
of a work injury from 30 days to 15 days. 

Impact: The Bureau’s ombudsman attorney program 
has helped hundreds of injured workers who needed 
help with their claims and did not have an attorney. The 
ombudsmen attorneys may not represent any party, but 
they can provide limited legal assistance. As to the impact 
of reducing the period for reporting a work injury from 30 
to 15 days, there has been no known direct impact on the 
reduction of claims attributable to the shorter reporting 
period.

PC 803: Required all case managers and case manager 
assistants be certified by the Bureau before offering case 
manager services and established a penalty for any violation 
of these requirements and standards. Authorized a civil 
penalty against any entity employing individuals who adjust 
workers’ compensation claims that are out of compliance 
with the standards set forth by the Bureau. 

Impact: Injured workers have benefited from better case 
management services and better claims handling because 
of the passage of this statute.

Requiring certified  
case managers  

improves  
claim handling  

quality.
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2017
PC 380: Raised burial expense benefit in workers’ 
compensation cases to $10,000 (from $7,500).

Impact: Families of deceased workers who were killed in 
the course and scope of employment benefited from this 
increase in burial expenses.

PC 344: Provided an education benefit for injured employees 
who are not able to make a meaningful return to their pre-
injury job (Vocational Recovery Program a/k/a the “Next 
Step Program”).

Impact: This important initiative offers educational and 
vocational assistance to injured workers who are unable 
to return to work after a work injury. This program will 
pay up to $5,000 per year for up to 4 years for educational 
assistance.

2018
PC 629: Allowed farm and agricultural employers to 
accept the workers’ compensation laws by purchasing a 
workers’ compensation insurance policy.

Impact: This legislation was permissive in nature and will 
allow farmer and agricultural employers to offer workers’ 
compensation insurance to their workers.

PC 648: Provided that a marketplace contractor is an 
independent contractor and not an employee of the 
marketplace platform if 10 conditions in a written agreement 
between the marketplace platform and the marketplace 
contractor are met.

Impact: This legislation changed the 6-factor test to a 
10-factor test for marketplace contractors. This new law 
does not apply to construction service providers.

PC 757: Extended the termination date to June 30, 2020, 
on the recovery of attorney fees and other costs against 
an employer in a workers’ compensation action who 
wrongfully denies a claim, and the workers’ compensation 
judge subsequently makes a finding that these benefits 
were owed at an expedited hearing or compensation 
hearing; defined “wrongfully” as “erroneous, incorrect, or 
otherwise inconsistent with the law or facts.” Note: Due to 
the pandemic-shortened legislative session in 2020, this 
legislation expired in 2020 but was revived in 2021 for an 
additional two years in PC 152.

Next Step Scholarship 
program approved its first 
award-recipient in 2020. 

Douglas isn’t letting his past 
work injury stop him now.
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Impact: This law has allowed a workers’ compensation 
judge additional latitude in awarding attorney fees to an 
employee’s attorney in cases where the employee was 
wrongfully denied benefits.

PC 563: Extended the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation for 
six years to June 30, 2024.

PC 513: Extended the Medical Advisory Committee for six 
years to June 30, 2024.

PC 514: Extended the Medical Payment Committee for six 
years to June 30, 2024.

Impact: These three sunset extensions were a vote of 
confidence by the legislature in the Bureau’s administrative 
processes and medical committees.

2019
PC 490: Created a presumption that certain conditions or 
impairments of full-time firefighters caused by certain 
cancers occurred in the course of employment unless the 
contrary is shown by competent medical evidence.

Impact: There have been few firefighter cancer cases heard 
by the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims since this 
law passed. This may be due to a lack of disputes about 
these claims. Also, claims for these benefits from a public 
entity that has not accepted the workers’ compensation 
statute are not reported to the Bureau. Firefighters 
with these cancers should benefit from this law, since 
they will not have the burden of proving their claim by 
a preponderance of the evidence, as in other workers’ 
compensation claims.

PC 373: Prohibited a medical review officer from considering 
prescriptions issued more than six months prior to a 
positive confirmed drug result for purposes of determining 
a valid prescription.

Impact: This law prevents an injured worker who tests 
positive for drugs from being able to assert having a 
prescription as a defense unless that worker has a valid 
prescription issued in the six-month period prior to the 
positive test. This statute makes it more difficult to use 
drugs inappropriately.

2020
PC 682: Required all construction services providers 

Cancer- 
causing
injuries 

now 
covered 
for fire 

fighters.



28

BWC Annual Report | Law Changes Since 2013

(including out-of-state providers) to maintain primary 
Tennessee workers’ compensation insurance coverage while 
working in Tennessee and imposes liability on a successor in 
interest of a penalized construction services provider.

Impact: The requirement for out-of-state employers to 
maintain primary workers’ compensation insurance on 
employees in Tennessee protects workers in the event of 
an injury. Liability of successors in interest will prevent 
companies from closing their businesses and re-opening 
under a different name to avoid paying a workers’ 
compensation coverage penalty.

PC 731: Extended the minimum deadline to 180 days 
for an injured employee to qualify for and to file a claim 
for increased benefits with the Bureau of Workers’ 
Compensation; lengthens the period of time from 60 days 
to 180 days following an injury that an employee has to 
provide notice to the Bureau of the failure of an employer 
to have workers’ compensation insurance coverage to 
qualify for benefits from the Uninsured Employers Fund; 
removes the 60-day requirement for a full and final hearing 
on entitlement to benefits from the Uninsured Employers 
Fund.

Impact: Provides additional protection to injured workers.
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5. New Developments 
& Issues in the Workers’ 
Compensation System
Telehealth Rules (p. 29)

COVID-19 (p. 31)

Opioids (p. 32)

Access to Care (p. 32)

Compliance (p. 33)

REWARD Program (p. 34)

New Telehealth Rules 
Rules offering guidance on telehealth’s role in 
workers’ compensation 
These rules will establish a framework and guidance for the 
voluntary provision of medical services by telehealth.

These rules simply create a voluntary option to receive 
medical treatment by telehealth if the employee, medical 
provider, employer, and insurance carrier all voluntarily 
agree.

For well over a year, a working group of medical providers, 
employers, attorneys, insurers, and health care experts met, 
reviewed, provided input, and made recommendations in 
drafting rules on telehealth. By making the use of telehealth 
completely voluntary under TN workers’ compensation, if 
one party does not agree to telehealth, medical care and 
treatment for work-related injuries shall be provided through 
in-person medical office visits. The rules also promote access 
to care by employees injured at work, especially in rural or 
more remote areas.

A public rulemaking hearing was held on February 19, 2021. 
After hearing public comments and making suggested 
edits, upon approval of the Attorney General, the rule will 
be filed with the Secretary of State and will go into effect 
subject to the approval of the Joint Government Operations 
Committee.

Here are highlights of the new rules:

The provision of medical services via telehealth does not 
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change or in any way affect the requirements for causation, 
date of maximum medical improvement, or permanent 
impairment ratings required of an authorized treating 
physician pursuant to the workers’ compensation law. In 
all workers’ compensation claims, statements of causation, 
date of maximum medical improvement, permanent 
restrictions, and permanent impairment rating(s) must 
be provided by a medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, 
or doctor of chiropractic, in accordance with the workers’ 
compensation law.

Telehealth providers may be considered as additional 
options to the three (3) provider panel. A medical provider 
who provides in-person office visits may also offer telehealth 
to injured workers, but the employee, provider, employer 
and insurance carrier must all voluntarily agree to the 
telehealth option.

Before receiving medical benefits in the form of telehealth, 
an injured worker must be given an opportunity to request 
and receive in-person medical assessment and treatment.

An injured worker may refuse a telehealth encounter at 
the time of the panel choice, without affecting future care 
or treatment to which the injured worker is entitled. If at 
the time of the panel choice, the injured worker refuses 
a telehealth choice, the panel offered shall include three 
(3) or more independent reputable physicians, surgeons, 
chiropractors or specialty practice groups who are qualified, 
willing and able to timely see and treat the injured worker 
in person.

The injured worker has the option to refuse telehealth 
during the initial visit or follow-up visits and to request that 
visits occur in person.

The Tennessee medical fee schedule, including but not 
limited to Tennessee-specific conversion percentages, 
shall apply to the providers of telehealth services rendered 
pursuant to the workers’ compensation law.

The list of health conditions not appropriate for telehealth 
that is provided in the rules is not exhaustive or proscriptive. 
There may be extraordinary or extenuating circumstances 
where some of the conditions listed might be appropriate 
for telehealth.

Expected Impact
The injured worker who chooses telehealth would not have 
to travel to the office of the medical provider, which should 
be helpful to those in remote areas and to those who have 

Panels
including Telehealth
Three in-person physicians are still 

required on a panel.
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transportation issues, other health considerations, or busy 
schedules. It may lead to greater access to medical care 
and more rapid access.

COVID-19 Effects on 
Workers’ Compensation 
The COVID-19 pandemic affected Tennessee’s workers’ 
compensation as it did all other areas of life in the state. The 
first report of injury that listed COVID-19 as the cause of the 
injury came in the first week of March 2020. The number of 
COVID related claims climbed steadily, and by the end of 
May 2021, the Bureau had received notice of almost 8,000 
claims for benefits. The figure below illustrates the number 
of COVID claims that were accepted as a claim since the 
first report was received. While these notices of claims were 
received, many would ultimately be denied for a number of 
reasons, such as lack of evidence that COVID-19 had been 
contracted at work or a claim filed when a COVID test was 
taken when a COVID test was taken but yielded a negative 
result.

While some states found a large decrease in the number 
of all workers’ compensation claims, Tennessee’s reduction 
was not large and averaged 18% for the heaviest months.  
The difference was only 4% in May 2021.

Expected Impact
The effects of COVID-19 on Tennessee’s workers’ 
compensation were not as severe as expected in the 
early months of the pandemic. The cost of these claims in 
Tennessee and across the country have been relatively low, 
but it is too early to know their ultimate cost.

The pandemic is not behind us yet, and there are still 
unknowns. We don’t know whether the changes in work 
patterns due to the pandemic, such as work from home, 
will continue when the pandemic is over and whether these 
changes will decrease or increase the frequency of workers’ 
compensation injuries. We also do not know how many 
workers who had COVID will have residual symptoms or 
physical conditions (Post-Acute COVID Syndrome (PACS) or 
“long Haulers”) which may require subspecialty assessment 
and treatment. Some of these individuals may not be able to 
return to their previous employment. More time will have to 
pass before the total impact of COVID-19 is known.
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Total Number of Claims reported 
to the Tennessee Bureau of 

Workers’ Compensation

Jan.

Feb.

Mar.

Apr.

May

June

July

Aug.

Sept.

Oct.

Nov.
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8,434

7,819
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6,584
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7,036
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4,769
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7,833

7,493
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with COVID Injury Code:
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706

998

1,533
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203
210
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Opioids
In combination with legislation, the Department of Health 
Chronic Pain Management Guidelines, and the Bureau’s 
adopted guidelines, the share of claims with opioid 
prescriptions and the amount of opioids per claim have 
dropped over the last 5 years by 14% and 30% respectively 
(NCCI, September 2020). Higher doses have been reduced. 
However, for Tennessee workers’ compensation claims, 
the number of claims getting opioids and those claims 
that involve opioids in combination with other addictive 
drugs remain above the national average. Unfortunately, 
progress in the workers’ compensation population has 
not been better than the state’s overall experience. There 
have been savings from reduced opioid use, but they have 
been modest, $100 per opioid claim over 5 years (14%). The 
Bureau’s appeal process for the utilization review denials of 
treatment by carriers continues to use the Department of 
Health Chronic Pain Management Guidelines to accurately 
assess the continued use of opioids.

Expected Impact
The use of opioids continues to be a problem in the medical 
care for employees with workers’ compensation claims. 

Access to Care
Access to care remains a challenge in an increasing number 
of areas across the state for specialties like neurology, 
dermatology, pulmonology, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and 
cardiology. In the past few years there has been an increase 
in physicians who decline to take workers’ compensation 
patients or who demand an “access fee” to accept an injured 
worker as a patient. These access fees can be several 
thousand dollars. 

Multiple factors contribute to physicians’ reluctance to 
accept workers’ compensation patients and include: the 
administrative burden of workers’ compensation patients, 
objections to giving a deposition and dealing with attorneys 
who they perceive as being overly aggressive, problems with 
case managers, lack of patient compliance, delays or denial 
of authorizations for requested treatment, and unexpected 
discounts taken on fees from “silent PPOs.” The most recent 
problem may be the most serious. The Bureau has been 
receiving complaints from physicians who are not paid at all 
for the services they have provided.
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Expected Impact
The reluctance of some specialists to provide medical care for 
employees with workers’ compensation claims is a growing 
concern for employers, insurance companies, third party 
administrators, and the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation.  
If solutions are not developed, there will be injured workers 
who will not have access to the care that they need.

Compliance
It is critical that employers provide the workers’ compensation 
coverage the law requires for their employees. Unless 
employers pay workers’ compensation benefits voluntarily, 
injured workers do not have wage replacement benefits or 
a way to pay for medical care. They are left to rely on their 
savings, family assistance, or public relief programs. 

Compounding these problems is the unfair advantage 
noncompliant employers gain when they bid on jobs.  
Because they save on workers’ compensation costs and 
other employer benefits they don’t pay, they can submit 
lower bids than employers who follow the law. Employers 
who follow the law lose jobs and can lose their businesses. 

Over the past few years there has been increasing evidence 
that noncompliant employers have become bolder in their 
refusal to follow the law. They have learned that they can 
ignore penalties without consequences and continue to 
make large profits at others’ expense. 

There have been some hopeful developments in this 
troubling situation. Legislation passed in 2021 may help 
the Bureau’s efforts to reduce employer noncompliance 
with the workers’ compensation law. This new legislation 
will primarily affect 3 areas: subpoenas, penalties, and 
collections. (1) Subpoenas can be issued by the Bureau with 
an extended response time of twenty-one (21) days and 
may be served on an employer or any other party believed 
to have information relevant to our investigations. After the 
twenty-one days, if a response is not received, a penalty 
can be issued in the amount of $50 per day up to a total 
penalty of $5,000 per subpoena. Additionally, Chancery 
Court can find an employer in contempt of court for failure 
to comply with a subpoena. (2) Penalties will be issued 
for both an employer understating or misrepresenting its 
number of employees, payroll, or job duties, as well as an 
employer’s failure to secure and maintain the payment of 
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workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Penalties for 
misclassifying employees will now apply to construction and 
non-construction businesses in the state. (3) Effective July 1, 
2021, if the Bureau has made a good faith effort to collect 
penalties owed without success, the Bureau will have the 
authority to issue a distress warrant for collection of past-
due penalties.

R.E.W.A.R.D. Program
In February of this year the Bureau unveiled the REWARD 
program, which stands for “Return Employees to Work and 
Reduce Disabilities.” This initiative began with a collaboration 
of Bureau staff, employers with successful return to work 
programs, medical professionals, and insurance companies 
with advice from other states that have successful return-
to-work programs. REWARD is intended to bring all the 
parties involved in a workers’ compensation claim together 
to achieve the best outcomes for all concerned, which is 
employees’ return to the workplace doing meaningful work 
as soon as possible. 

The centerpiece of the REWARD program is a toolkit with 
information and sample documents to help employers 
implement a program for their company. Included in the 
toolkit are:

• Advice on actions to take before and after an injury 
occurs, for identifying transitional work assignments, 
and for assisting employees who are unable to return to 
work due to their work-related injury.

• Sample return-to-work and transitional job offer policies.

• Information to share with authorized treating physicians 
concerning the successful return-to-work program.

• A return-on-investment calculator to help employers 
predict their savings from implementing a REWARD 
program.

• Information about the Certified Physician Program that 
will train, test, and certify physicians beginning in 2022.

• Information about the Bureau’s new Honor Roll, which 
will annually recognize employers who have outstanding 
return-to-work programs.

Currently, Bureau staff, with the assistance of members 
of the group that helped develop the REWARD program, 

introducing the
REWARD Toolkit

 Download at bit.ly/reward-toolkit

http://bit.ly/reward-toolkit
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/workforce/documents/injuries/reward/BWC_REWARD_Toolkit.pdf
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are making presentations around the state to acquaint 
employers with the new program and its advantages. The 
first training for return-to-work coordinators, an important 
element of REWARD, will begin July 15th. 

Helping injured employees find their way back to meaningful 
work is REWARD’s goal and will benefit employees, 
employers, and the state. When someone works, they 
have a purpose, and they can provide for their family. 
Employers can save money and gain productivity by bringing 
experienced employees back on the job. It is the Bureau’s 
hope that the REWARD program can help make this a reality 
for employees and employers across Tennessee.



36

BWC Annual Report

6. Final Thoughts
In 1919 the first workers’ compensation law went into 
effect in Tennessee. It took years of negotiations among 
many interests to arrive at a bill that could gain enough 
support for passage. The law was described as The Grand 
Compromise because employees gave up the chance for a 
large award in civil court in return for salary replacement 
and medical treatment without regard to fault or the need 
for a long, expensive legal process. Employers had to give 
up the defense that they weren’t negligent for the accident 
and provide benefits for all injuries that occurred as part of 
employees’ jobs. The first law wasn’t perfect but provided a 
foundation for a social insurance program that has evolved 
over the past 102 years and has helped maintain the social 
fabric in the state.

Workers’ compensation touches the lives of hundreds of 
thousands of people each year if injured workers, families, 
coworkers, employers, and the taxpayers of Tennessee 
are included in the count. Today a better description 
of workers’ compensation than Grand Compromise is 
Fragile Balance. Once the Grand Compromise became 
institutionalized, maintaining the balance of many 
different interests has been difficult. In the last fifty years 
complaints raised by employers about unfair costs led to 
reforms that have since led to complaints that states are 
in a “race to the bottom.” It is the role of each state to find 
the right balance between competing demands, and it is a 
Fragile Balance. Fortunately, even with differences among 
interests, the promise of workers’ compensation has not 
changed, and that is to provide “security to injured workers 
while furthering the economic interests of their employer 
and, hopefully, returning injured workers to the status of 
productive members of society.”iii In Tennessee there is a 
commitment to maintain that Fragile Balance and that 
commitment is reflected in the implementation of the 2013 
Workers’ Compensation Reform and the continuing work 
to improve the system through the joint efforts of all the 
special interests.

iii A Century of Progress and Perspective, Workers’ 
Compensation in Tennessee, 2019, Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ 
Compensation.


