
CONTRACTORS?

INDEPENDENTEMPLOYEES?
Bureau of Workers’ Compensation Compliance Program

Committing 
employee  
misclassification can 
be costly for 
Tennessee businesses.



Tennessee employers can level 
the playing field and encourage 
fair competition by complying with 
workers’ compensation laws.

Misclassifying Construction Workers
Employee misclassification can prove to be very 
costly.

Employers unlawfully avoid paying taxes and 
workers’ compensation insurance premiums when 
employees are misclassified as “independent 
contractors.” Employers can be penalized for these 
illegal activities.

Avoiding Required Coverage
Employers in the construction industry are required 
to obtain coverage, even for just a single employee.

Employers are investigated to verify proof of 
compliance with workers’ compensation law.

Requiring employees to pay for their own 
workers’ compensation coverage is illegal.

Penalties
The Bureau of Workers’ Compensation’s primary 
goal is compliance with the law, not penalties. Unfair 
business practices hurt everyone.

Send a Tip
Do you know or suspect an employer of  

misclassifying employees? Contact: 

1 (888) 243-7283  wc.info@tn.gov

Employers in the construction industry 
commit employee misclassification 

when:
• Workers are incorrectly classified as 

“independent contractors” instead of 
employees

• The true type of work performed is 
misrepresented (classification code)

• Payroll amounts are under-reported to 
the insurance carrier

• The true number of employees is under-
reported to the insurance carrier

Tennessee law helps define the 
differences between a true independent 

contractor and an employee.
Independent Contractors:

• Decide how and when the work is done
• Set their own working hours
• Hire and pay their own helpers
• Use their own tools and equipment
• Can work for many customers

Employees:
• Can quit before a job is done
• Are paid hourly, not by the job

$4,000 $750 $4,875
Correct Annual 

Premium

Avoided Premium

-
Incorrect Annual 

Premium
Statutory 
Multiplier

Penalty
or $1000

whichever is greater

( ) x =1.5

Sample Penalty Calculation

Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development; 
Authorization #337278; 600 copies; October 2018. This public 
document was promulgated at a cost of $0.14 per copy.


