
Employee or Independent Contractor?
Employers often utilize independent contractors as a way to save money and avoid the payment of employment taxes. 
As an employer, it is critical to correctly determine whether individuals rendering services are employees or independent 
contractors. Failing to properly classify workers may result in additional premiums, penalty and interest charges.

The ABC Test:

To be considered an independent contractor for Tennessee 
unemployment insurance purposes, an individual must 

meet all three of the following conditions:

1.	 The individual has been and will continue to be free 
from control and direction in connection with the 
performance of the service, both under any contract 
for the performance of service and in fact.

2.	 The service is performed either outside the usual 
course of business for which the service is performed, 
or is performed outside of all the places of business of 
the enterprise for which the service is performed.

3.	 The individual is customarily engaged in an 
independently established trade, occupation, 
profession, or business of the same nature as that 
involved in the service performed.

If you have questions about the classification of workers, 
the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce 
Development has information available on its website 
www.tn.gov/workforce or you may contact the department 
to speak with a tax auditor.  

Employers Who are Liable to Pay 
Unemployment Taxes Include the Following:

•	 An employing unit that is liable under the Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) and has at least one 
employee in Tennessee regardless of the number of 
weeks employed or amount of payroll.

•	 An employing unit that pays $1,500 or more in total 
gross wages in a calendar quarter, or has at least one 
employee during twenty different weeks in the current 
or preceding calendar year regardless of the wages. 
The employee does not have to be the same person 
for twenty weeks. It is not relevant if the employee is 
full-time or part-time.

•	 An employer who has acquired all or part of the 
business of another employer who was already liable. 

•	 An employing unit that is a non-profit organization as 
described under section 501(c) (3) of the IRS code and 
has four or more employees during each of 20 weeks 
in the current or preceding calendar year.

•	 All state and local government units and  
political subdivisions.

•	 An employing unit that paid cash wages of $1,000 
or more in any calendar quarter of the current or 
preceding calendar year for domestic services.

An Employing Unit Engaged in Agricultural Labor is Liable if:
•	 It employs 10 or more employees for 20 weeks or more in the current or preceding calendar year.
•	 It pays $20,000 or more in gross wages in a calendar quarter.

Report Suspected Unemployment Insurance Tax Fraud:
•	 Call 615-741-2346.
•	 Visit tn.gov/workforce and search “UI Tax Fraud”.
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