Volunteer Tennessee Quarterly Commission Meeting Minutes

Virtual Meeting October 15, 2021

Members in Attendance: Chairing: Vice Chair Amy Walter* (proxy for Kriesky, Robertson), George Bove*, Suzanne Carr (TDHS), Andrea Hill*, Michael Hogan (TDSHS), Jessica Ivey (TDMHSAS), Buddy Lea (TDFA), Greg Lyles*, Kane Reeves*, Jason Scott*, Leon Shields*, Terry Silver*, Tracy Van de Vate*, Eileen Wollam*

Members not in Attendance: Tobi Amosun (TDH), Stephanie Davis*, Brittany Debity-Barker* (TDOE), Sonda Finley*, Bobby Graves (TDM), Marjahna Hart (TDCS), Holly Jones*, Rick Kriesky* (proxy), Heidi Leming (TBR), Lee Moten*, Wanda Perry*, Donovan Robertson* (proxy), Nancy Schelin (TDEC), Patti Smith (AmeriCorps), Betty White*, VACANT (TDLWD, UT)

Staff: Shannon Duke, Neelam Gupta, Jim Snell, Daniel Sparkman, Don Sowers, Candace Taylor

Quorum Count: 12 (with proxies) of 19 appointed (10 is quorum). (*) indicates voting member.

Amy Walter called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Jim thanked everyone for joining and framed Committee work for the morning to continue work on the 2022 Action Plan, discussion on the 2023-25 State Service Plan key outcomes, and work on other committee business. Committees were sent to breakouts rooms and were told to take their lunch break at 11:00 a.m. Board and staff will meet back in main virtual meeting room at 11:30 a.m.

At 11:30 a.m. Amy reconvened the meeting. Committees reported out.

Amy called for a motion to approve minutes from August 13, 2021. Greg Lyles made a motion and Eileen Wollam seconded. Amy asked Secretary Terry Silver to do a roll call vote. Terry called the roll, and the motion passed unanimously.

Jim Snell was called upon the explain the 2019-21 State Service Plan extension. Amy called for a motion to approve the extension of the 2019-21 State Service Plan for one year. Eileen made a motion, and Greg seconded. Amy called on the Secretary Terry Silver to do a roll call vote. Terry called the roll, and the motion passed unanimously.

Next, the board discussed the 2023-25 State Service Plan Development Timeline. Amy called for a motion to approve the timeline. Michael Hogan made a motion, and Tracy Van de Vate seconded the motion. Amy called on the Secretary Terry Silver to do a roll call vote. Terry called the roll, and the motion passed unanimously.

Amy called on Michael to explain the 2022 Commission Support Grant Budget. Amy called for a motion to approve the budget as presented. Terry made a motion, and Andrea Hill seconded. Amy called on the Secretary Terry Silver to do a roll call vote. Terry called the roll, and the motion passed unanimously.

Michael explained the 2022 Commission Investment Fund Budget, and Amy called for a motion to approve the budget as presented. Buddy made a motion, and Amy seconded the motion. Amy called

on the Secretary Terry Silver to do a roll call vote. Terry called the roll, and the motion passed unanimously.

Amy called on Michael to explain the revisions to the 2022 AmeriCorps Funding Timeline. Amy called for a motion to approve the revised timeline. Terry made a motion, and Eileen seconded the motion. Amy called on the Secretary Terry Silver to do a roll call vote. Terry called the roll, and the motion passed unanimously.

Amy called on Jason Scott to share the slate for the 2022 Officers: Donovan Robertson, Chair; Amy Walter, Vice Chair; Terry Silver, Secretary; and Buddy Lea, Treasurer. Amy called for a motion to approve the slate of officers. Greg made a motion, and Michael seconded. Amy called on the Secretary Terry Silver to do a roll call vote. Terry called the roll, and the motion passed unanimously.

Jason recognized the 2021 Officers for their service: Chair, Donovan Robertson; Vice Chair, Amy Walter; Treasurer, Kane Reeves; and Secretary, Terry Silver.

The following board members were recognized for years of service: Buddy Lea (ex officio for 21 years), Michael Hogan (ex officio for 15 years), Andrea Hill (2nd term), Rick Kriesky (3rd term), Greg Lyles (3rd term), Lee Moten (3rd term), Kane Reeves (3rd term), Donovan Robertson (2nd term), Jason Scott (2nd term), and Betty White (2nd term).

Jim concluded with reminding board to watch for an email about site visits, Day on the Hill and continued work on the state plan.

Amy asked if there were any final questions. A	amy then called for a motion to adjourn the meeting
Jason so moved; Greg seconded. Amy adjourn	ed the meeting at 1:30 p.m.

Approved:		Date:	
	Secretary		

Meeting minutes prepared by Terry Silver, Secretary.