
APPLICANT’S SOCIAL SECURITY #:  ________-______-____________

Date: __________________	 Amount Enclosed: $__________________

Mail signed application, proof of residency and special
requirements along with your check, money order, or credit card 

information to the above address. DO NOT SEND CASH.

CREDIT CARD INFORMATION: To charge your purchase to VISA, Mas-
terCard or Discover card you must complete the information below.

VISA                                                         Expires (mm/yyyy)
Mastercard
Discover

Cardholder’s Signature (required)

__________________________________________________________

Credit Card Account #

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
ATTN: SALES OFFICE

P.O. Box 41729
Nashville, TN 37204-1729

1-800-648-8798

PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH!

Mail application, with check, money order, or credit card 
information (see below) to

If paying by credit card, you may FAX your application to 
615-837-4262.

MAILING INSTRUCTIONS

(continued on the back)

ALL PERMITS EXPIRE ON JUNE 30
  New application	   Renewal

CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOX
Type 172	   Personal Possession Permit, Class II Animals Only....................... $31

Type 173	   Personal Possession Facility Permit, Class II Animals Only........ $305

If any of the following Class I species are involved—gorillas, orangutans, chimpanzees, gibbons, siamangs, drills, mandrills, 
baboons, gelada baboons, leopards, jaguars, tigers, lions, bears, poisonous reptiles or amphibians, cougars, cheetahs, wolves, 
elephants, rhinoceros, hippopotamus, African buffalo, crocodiles or alligators—contact the TWRA Nashville Law Enforcement 
office at 615/781-6647. A completed inspection report must accompany the application. No new Class I animals will be permit-
ted under a Class I personal possession permit after July 1, 1991.

Name of Applicant	 ___________________________________________________________________________________________

TWRA ID# ____________________________	 Date Of Birth _____/_____/________    Phone No.  (            ) _____________________

Facility/Business Name (if applicable)	_____________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address	 _____________________________________________________________________________________________

County	_________________________________	 City	 _____________________________	 State	________	 ZIP	 ______________

Facility Location (if different than mailing address)	__________________________________________________________________

WR-0548 (Rev. 4/18)

OFFICE USE ONLY
Type _______	 County_______
Batch ______	 Appl._________
Expires	 ___________________

______  ______  ______

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

WILDLIFE POSSESSION PERMIT
APPLICATION – CLASS II ANIMALS

Boating & Law Enforcement Division



1.	 Anyone wishing to possess wildlife listed in Class I or II 
(whether native to Tennessee or not) must obtain the appro-
priate permit prior to taking possession of such wildlife. No 
permit is required by the TWRA to possess species identified 
as Class Ill animals. (See supplemental sheet listing species 
found in the various classes of wildlife.) After June 25,1991, 
no new animals shall be brought into possession under the 
authority of a Class I wildlife personal possession permit.

2.	 All information requested on the application must be com-
pleted accurately.

3.	 You may choose to purchase either a possession permit for 
one animal or for an entire facility.

4.	 Any nonresident who enters Tennessee to sell Class I or II 
wildlife must obtain a Propagation Permit and an Importa-
tion Permit.

5.	 All bills of lading and shipping papers that relate to wildlife 
listed on this permit must be available for inspection at all 
times.

6.	 All individuals possessing wildlife must be able to prove 
legal ownership. Legal documentation may include an 
importation permit, purchase receipts from licensed propa-
gation facility, or possession and/or evidence of disposition 
of parent animals. No wildlife may be taken from the wild 
except where specifically authorized.

7.	 The possession of any state or federally threatened or en-
dangered species is permitted only when such species have 
been legally obtained in the state or country of origin.

8.	 Individuals must comply with regulations governing pos-
session and sale of wildlife. Some species may be regulated 
by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Department of 
Interior, U.S. Department of Public Health and the Tennessee 
Department of Agriculture.

		  _________________________________________________________________________________________________

(	 )	 _________________________________________________________________________________________________

(	 )	 _________________________________________________________________________________________________

(	 )	 _________________________________________________________________________________________________

(	 )	 _________________________________________________________________________________________________

(	 )	 _________________________________________________________________________________________________

(If additional space is needed, attach a supplemental sheet.)

Applicant’s Signature	 ____________________________________________________________	 Date	 ____________________

Species and number (List all species by common name)

	 Office			   Name and Address of Source
	 Use	 Species	 Number	 (If the source is out-of-state, an Importation Permit is required)

INSTRUCTIONS
9.	 No Possession Permit is required for the following Class II 

wildlife: native game birds/waterfowl, nonpoisonous rep-
tiles and nonpoisonous amphibians. However, a Propaga-
tion Permit is required if an individual wishes to buy, barter, 
sell or trade these Class II species.

10.	 If you are seeking a permit for Class I wildlife listed on the 
reverse side, your request must be reviewed prior to submit-
ting an application by the Central Office of the TWRA. Please 
contact the Central Law Enforcement Office at 615/781-6647 
for such requests. Wildlife in Class I CANNOT be possessed 
in Tennessee until a Class I Permit is issued.

11.	 Under no conditions can live native wildlife be taken from 
the wild and held under a Personal Possession Permit.

12.	 The following will not require TWRA permits to possess or 
propagate:

(a)	 Non-native waterfowl (those that do not migrate 
through Tennessee)

(b)	 Non-native game birds
(c)	 Wolf hybrids
(d)	 Non-native deer (does NOT include whitetail deer 

or any hybrids involving whitetail deer)

13.	 Wild Turkeys (including their eggs), white-tailed deer, and 
American black bear are illegal to possess, propagate, or 
release in Tennessee; except under the authority of a zoo 
or wildlife rehabilitation permit.

14.	 All applications must be submitted with the proper fee in 
order to be processed.


