## **TENNESSEE HIGHER EDUCATION COMMISSION**

Minutes of the Special Called Commission Meeting

WebEx: Virtual Meeting

July 11, 2023

Link to recording: THEC Special Called Commission Meeting July 11, 2023

Chairwoman Scarlett called the meeting to order at 11:07 a.m.

Member	PRESENT	ABSENT
Chairwoman Tara Scarlett	Х	
Commissioner Whitney Allmon		Х
Commissioner Evan Cope		Х
Commissioner Andrew Kingsolver	Х	
Commissioner Pam Koban	Х	
Commissioner Jimmy Matlock	Х	
Commissioner Jay Moser	X	
Commissioner Vernon Stafford, Jr.	X	
Commissioner AC Wharton	X	
Commissioner Dakasha Winton	Х	
Secretary Tre Hargett		Х
Treasurer David H. Lillard, Jr.	Х	
Nathan James, Designee for Commissioner Sara Morrison	Х	
Comptroller Jason Mumpower	Х	

At the start of the meeting there were ten (10) voting members participating electronically, constituting a quorum. Commissioner Jimmy Matlock left the meeting at 11:50 a.m. and Commissioner Vernon Stafford left the meeting at 12:03 p.m. At all times that voting occurred, there was a quorum present at the meeting.

## STATEMENT OF NECESSITY

Board Secretary Shauna Jennings read the following statement of necessity:

All members are participating electronically today. As such, Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-44-108(b)(2) requires that the Commission make a determination that a necessity exists in order for a quorum of members to participate by electronic or other means of communication.

A "necessity" means that the matters to be considered by a public body at a meeting require timely action by the body, that physical presence by a quorum of the members is not practical within the period of time requiring action, and that participation by a quorum of the members by electronic or other means of communication is necessary.

In this case, two facts support a determination of necessity:

- First, today's agenda item requires timely action by this commission to allow our institutions to deliver these new academic programs to their students this coming fall.
- Second, scheduling conflicts and other commitments prevented a quorum of members from being physically present today.

A motion to approve the statement of necessity was made by Comptroller Jason Mumpower. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Andrew Kingsolver. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with ten (10) ayes.

# **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

Chairwoman Tara Scarlett stated that Agenda item I.D. would not be presented to the Commission today and recommended removing it from the agenda. Commissioner Kingsolver made a motion to adopt the revised agenda. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Jay Moser. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with ten (10) ayes.

### **AGENDA ITEMS**

### I. **New Academic Programs**

Chairwoman Scarlett introduced Dr. Ryan Korstange, Director of Academic Affairs. Dr. Korstange introduced Dr. Flora Tydings, Chancellor of the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR). Dr. Tydings presented information on the new program approval process and the programs before the Commission today. Dr. Tydings then introduced Dr. Jothany Reed, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Valerie Greenwood, Senior Financial Analyst, to present on Chattanooga State Community College and Northeast State Community College programs.

### A. Chattanooga State Community College - Electric Vehicle Engineering Technology, Associate of Applied Science (AAS)

Dr. Reed presented information on the proposed Associate of Applied Science (AAS) degree in Electric Vehicle Engineering Technology at Chattanooga State Community College. This program will consist of 61-64 credit hours and will assist in the workforce demands of manufacturing, diagnostics, and service and repairs of electronic vehicles. Chattanooga State Community College, in partnership with Volkswagen, will offer this program through EVET apprenticeship academy with expansion to the main campus and future partnerships with the mechatronics programs at the local high schools. Commission members asked questions and a discussion was held.

Commissioner Vernon Stafford made a motion to approve the academic program. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Koban. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with ten (10) ayes.

# В. Northeast State Community College - Automotive Technology, Associate of Applied Science

Dr. Reed presented information on the proposed Associate of Applied Science (AAS) degree in Automotive Technology at Northeast State Community College. This program will consist of 60 credit hours and restructures three (3) current programs: Automotive Services, Automotive Body/Collision Repair, and Motorsports with a concentration in Automotive Specialist. This will allow for ease of recognition in the industry nationally. Commission members asked questions and a discussion was held.

Commissioner Jimmy Matlock left the meeting during this time.

Comptroller Mumpower made a motion to approve the program. Commissioner Koban seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with nine (9) ayes.

#### C. Tennessee Technological University - Higher Education, Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Chairwoman Scarlett recognized Dr. Korstange. Dr. Korstange introduced Dr. Lori Bruce, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, to present on the Tennessee Technological University Higher Education Doctor of Philosophy Program.

Dr. Bruce presented information on the proposed Doctor of Philosophy in Higher Education with an emphasis on data science and instructional technology. This program consists of 67 credit hours and will be fully online. Commission members asked questions and a discussion was held.

Commissioner Stafford left the meeting during this time.

Commissioner Kingsolver made a motion to approve the program. Commissioner Koban seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with eight (8) ayes.

- D. University of Tennessee, Health Science Center, and University of Tennessee, Southern -Joint Nursing, Bachelor of Science (BSN) - (Removed from Agenda)
- E. University of Tennessee, Martin - Music Education, Master of Music (MM)

Chairwoman Scarlett recognized Dr. Korstange. Dr. Korstange introduced Dr. Stephanie Kolitsch, Acting Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor, to present on the University of Tennessee, Martin Music Education Master of Music program.

Dr. Kolitsch presented information on the proposed Music Education Master of Music program with an emphasis on four (4) areas: general music, choral conducting, instrumental conducting, and leadership. This program will be fully online with a possibility of hybrid courses and will consist of 33 hours with a final research and teaching project. Commission members asked questions and a discussion was held.

Commissioner Kingsolver made a motion to approve the program. Treasurer David Lillard seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with seven (7) ayes, and one (1) abstention from Chairwoman Scarlett.

#### II. Other Business

Chairwoman Scarlett discussed the timeline of the program approval process.

Chairwoman Scarlett adjourned the meeting at 12:17 p.m.

NEXT THEC COMMISSION MEETING:	
Thursday, August 17, 2023, in Nashville	
THEC Chairwoman Tara Scarlett	THEC Secretary AC Wharton Ir