TENNESSEE HIGHER EDUCATION COMMISSION

Minutes of the Special Called Commission Meeting

WebEx: Virtual Meeting

June 21, 2023

Link to recording: <u>THEC Special Called Commission Meeting June 21, 2023</u>

Chairwoman Scarlett called the meeting to order at 9:36 a.m.

Member	PRESENT	ABSENT
Chairwoman Tara Scarlett	X	
Commissioner Whitney Allmon	X	
Commissioner Evan Cope	Х	
Commissioner Andrew Kingsolver		X
Commissioner Pam Koban	X	
Commissioner Jimmy Matlock		X
Commissioner Jay Moser		X
Commissioner Vernon Stafford, Jr.		X
Commissioner AC Wharton	X	
Commissioner Dakasha Winton		X
Secretary Tre Hargett	X	
Treasurer David H. Lillard, Jr.	X	
Nathan James, Designee for Commissioner Sara Morrison	X	
Comptroller Jason Mumpower	X	

At the start of the meeting there were seven (7) voting members participating electronically, constituting a quorum. Commissioner A.C. Wharton entered the meeting at 9:58 a.m. At all times that voting occurred, there was a quorum present at the meeting.

STATEMENT OF NECESSITY

Board Secretary Shauna Jennings read the following statement of necessity:

All members are participating electronically today. As such, Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-44-108(b)(2) requires that the Commission make a determination that a necessity exists in order for a quorum of members to participate by electronic or other means of communication.

A "Necessity" means that the matters to be considered by a public body at a meeting require timely action by the body, that physical presence by a quorum of the members is not practical within the period of time requiring action, and that participation by a quorum of the members by electronic or other means of communication is necessary.

In this case, two facts support a determination of necessity:

• First, today's agenda item requires timely action by this commission to consider the committee's salary recommendation for the next Executive Director for purposes of the procurement process.

• Second, scheduling conflicts and other commitments prevented a quorum of members from being physically present today.

A motion to approve the statement of necessity was made by Commissioner Whitney Allmon. The motion was seconded by Comptroller Jason Mumpower. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with seven (7) ayes.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Comptroller Mumpower made a motion to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Pam Koban. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with seven (7) ayes.

AGENDA ITEMS

I. Consideration of Executive Director Salary Range Recommendation

Chairwoman Tara Scarlett stated that the Executive Director Search Committee did their due diligence researching possible additional compensations, incentives, and salaries for the new Executive Director. She then introduced Mr. Lou Hanemann, Chief of Staff, to provide more information on the Executive Director Search Committee's recommendations.

Mr. Hanemann provided information that alternative salary options and sign-on bonuses were not typical for state employment and that the Executive Search Committee recommended a salary range from \$265,000-\$280,000 annually for the new Executive Director. Mr. Hanemann provided information regarding conversations with the offices of Lieutenant Governor Randy McNally and Speaker of the House, Cameron Sexton, and their agreement that the salary range was appropriate.

Commission members asked questions and a discussion was held.

Commissioner Allmon made a motion to approve the recommended salary range of \$265,000-\$280,000 annually. Commissioner Koban seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed with seven (7) ayes and one (1) nay from Comptroller Mumpower.

II. Other Business

Chairwoman Scarlett discussed ways the Commission could navigate communication and any concerns the Governor or other state leaders have with leadership moving forward. Commission members held a discussion.

Chairwoman Scarlett adjourned the meeting at 10:13 a.m.

NEXT THEC COMMISSION MEETING:

Thursday, July 20, 2023, in Nashville

THEC Chairwoman Tara Scarlett THEC Secretary AC Wharton, Jr.