KeyCite Yellow Flag - Negative Treatment
Proposed Legislation

West's Tennessee Code Annotated
Title 40. Criminal Procedure
Chapter 39. Offender Registration and Monitoring
Part 2. Tennessee Sexual Offender and Violent Sexual Offender Registration, Verification and Tracking
Act of 2004 (Refs & Annos)

T. C. A. § 40-39-204

§ 40-39-204. Data repository; reporting and exemptions; re-incarceration; travel out of the country

Effective: April 2, 2020 Currentness

- (a) The TBI shall maintain and make available a connection to the SOR for all criminal justice agencies with TIES internet capabilities, by which registering agencies shall enter original, current and accurate data required by this part. The TBI shall provide viewing and limited write access directly to the SOR through the TIES internet to registering agencies for the entry of record verification data, changes of residence, employment or other pertinent data required by this part and to assist in offender identification. Registering agencies should immediately, but in no case to exceed twelve (12) hours from registration, enter all data received from the offender as required by the TBI and § 40-39-203(i), into the TIES internet for the enforcement of this part by TBI, designated law enforcement agencies, TDOC, and private contractors with TDOC.
- (b)(1) Violent sexual offenders shall report in person during the months of March, June, September, and December of each calendar year, to the designated law enforcement agency, on a date established by such agency, to update the offender's fingerprints, palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, and to verify the continued accuracy of the information in the TBI registration form. Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from the in-person reporting and fingerprinting, as otherwise provided by this part. At the time of the violent offender's initial registration or initial reporting date for the calendar year, the violent sexual offender shall pay the specified administrative costs, not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars (\$150), one hundred dollars (\$100) of which shall be retained by the designated law enforcement agency to be used for the purchase of equipment, to defray personnel and maintenance costs and any other expenses incurred as a result of the implementation of this part. The remaining fifty dollars (\$50.00) shall be remitted by the registering agency to the state treasury to be deposited into the general fund of the state. Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from paying the administrative cost as otherwise provided by this part.
- (2) At least once during the months of March, June, September, and December of each calendar year, all violent juvenile sexual offenders shall report in person to the offender's registering agency to update the offender's fingerprints, palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, and to verify the continued accuracy of the information transmitted to the TBI by the registering agency as defined in § 40-39-202. Offenders in custody shall register as set out in § 40-39-203(b)(1).

- (c) Once a year, all sexual offenders shall report in person, no earlier than seven (7) calendar days before and no later than seven (7) calendar days after the offender's date of birth, to the designated law enforcement agency to update the offender's fingerprints, palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, to verify the continued accuracy of the information in the TBI registration form and to pay the specified administrative costs, not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars (\$150), one hundred dollars (\$100) of which shall be retained by the designated law enforcement agency to be used for the purchase of equipment, to defray personnel and maintenance costs and any other expenses incurred as a result of the implementation of this part. The remaining fifty dollars (\$50.00) shall be submitted by the registering agency to the state treasury to be deposited in the general fund of the state. Offenders whose initial registration occurs after the annual reporting period shall be required to pay the administrative costs at the time of the initial registration. Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from the in-person reporting and fingerprinting and administrative cost as otherwise provided by this part. However, if an offender is released or discharged from a nursing home, assisted living facility or mental health institution or is no longer continuously confined to home or a health care facility due to mental or physical disabilities, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, register in person with the designated law enforcement agency, completing and signing a TBI registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3). If the offender has previously registered prior to the release or discharge, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, report in person to the designated law enforcement agency and update all information pursuant to this section.
- (d) Within three (3) days after the offender's verification, the designated law enforcement agency with whom the offender verified shall send by United States postal service or by electronic means the original signed TBI registration form containing information required by § 40-39-203(i) to TBI headquarters in Nashville. The TBI shall be the state central repository for all original TBI registration forms and any other forms required by § 40-39-207 that are deemed necessary for the enforcement of this part. The designated law enforcement agency shall retain a duplicate copy of the TBI registration form as a part of the business records for that agency.
- (e) If a person required to register under this part is reincarcerated for another offense or as the result of having violated the terms of probation, parole, conditional discharge or any other form of alternative sentencing, the offender shall immediately report the offender's status as a sexual offender or violent sexual offender to the facility where the offender is incarcerated or detained and notify the offender's appropriate registering agency, if different, that the offender is currently being detained or incarcerated. Registration, verification and tracking requirements for such persons are tolled during the subsequent incarceration. Within forty-eight (48) hours of the release from any subsequent reincarcerations, the offender shall register with the appropriate designated law enforcement agency. Likewise, if a person who is required to register under this part is deported from this country, the registration, verification and tracking requirements for such persons are tolled during the period of deportation. Within forty-eight (48) hours of the return to this state after deportation, the offender shall register with the appropriate designated law enforcement agency.
- (f) Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities shall be exempted from the inperson reporting, fingerprinting and administrative cost requirements; however, it shall be the responsibility of the offender, the offender's guardian, the person holding the offender's power of attorney or, in the absence thereof, the administrator of the facility, to report any changes in the residential status to TBI headquarters in Nashville by United States postal service. Further, if an offender is released or discharged from a nursing home, assisted living facility, mental health institution or is no longer continuously confined to home or a health care facility due to mental or physical disabilities, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, register in person with the designated law enforcement agency, completing and signing a TBI registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3). If the offender has previously registered prior to the release

or discharge, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, report in person to the designated law enforcement agency and update all information pursuant to this section.

- (g) Offenders who do not maintain either a primary or secondary residence, as defined in this part, shall be considered homeless, and are subject to the reporting requirements of this part. The offenders who are considered homeless shall be required to report to their registering agency monthly. By the authority established in § 40-39-206(f), the TBI shall develop tracking procedures for the continued verification and tracking of these offenders in the interest of public safety.
- (h) Each offender shall report to the designated law enforcement agency at least twenty-one (21) days before traveling out of the country; provided, that offenders who travel out of the country frequently for work or other legitimate purpose, with the written approval of the designated law enforcement agency, and offenders who travel out of the country for emergency situations shall report to the designated law enforcement agency at least twenty-four (24) hours before traveling out of the country.

## **Credits**

2004 Pub.Acts, c. 921, § 1; 2005 Pub.Acts, c. 316, § 1; 2006 Pub.Acts, c. 890, §§ 15, 16, eff. July 1, 2006; 2008 Pub.Acts, c. 1164, §§ 4, 16, eff. July 1, 2008; 2010 Pub.Acts, c. 1138, §§ 16 to 18, eff. July 1, 2010; 2011 Pub.Acts, c. 266, § 1, eff. July 1, 2011; 2011 Pub.Acts, c. 483, § 13, eff. July 1, 2011; 2012 Pub.Acts, c. 727, § 61, eff. July 1, 2012; 2015 Pub.Acts, c. 516, § 5, eff. July 1, 2015; 2020 Pub.Acts, c. 668, §§ 4, 5, eff. April 2, 2020.

## T. C. A. § 40-39-204, TN ST § 40-39-204

Current with laws from the 2021 First Extraordinary Sess. of the 112th Tennessee General Assembly, eff. through February 3, 2021. Pursuant to §§ 1-1-110, 1-1-111, and 1-2-114, the Tennessee Code Commission certifies the final, official version of the Tennessee Code and, until then, may make editorial changes to the statutes. References to the updates made by the most recent legislative session should be to the Public Chapter and not to the T.C.A. until final revisions have been made to the text, numbering, and hierarchical headings on Westlaw to conform to the official text.

**End of Document** 

© 2021 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works.