Tennessee Only

APPEAL OF DENIAL OF ATTEMPTED FIREARM TRANSFER

Your Name: Sex: Race:

(PRINT your complete first, middle and last name in correct order)
Date of Birth: Social Security #:

(Month, day, year)
Requester’s Mailing Address:

Requester’s Physical Address:

TICS Transaction #: Requester’s Phone #:
(Obtain from your gun dealer) (Inc. Area Code)
Date Transaction Run: Date Transaction Denied:

| have been denied by TICS the right to purchase a hand gun or long gun in the State of Tennessee

based on a check by my gun dealer through the Tennessee Instant Check System (TICS) and the FBI

National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS). | hereby appeal that denial and request a

review of the record(s) used by TICS in determining that | should be denied the purchase. | understand

that | may be required to provide TICS a full set of inked fingerprints of myself for the purpose of

comparing them with fingerprints associated with the record(s) used in the denial. | also understand

that | only have 30 days to appeal the denial after it is issued and that TICS is not required to assist me

until such time as | formally appeal the denial. | further understand that the transaction could be

denied by my gun dealer (FFL) and that under such circumstances, TICS neither denied nor approved

my firearm transfer and therefore | have no appeal to TICS. | further understand that failure to
complete this form or to complete it legibly could result in rejection of the form.

(Signature of Requester) (Date)

See instructions on reverse side. Return by fax to: (615) 744-4660 or Email thi.tics@tbi.tn.gov.
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Instructions for completing the APPEAL OF DENIAL form
The following procedure should be carefully followed to challenge a denied firearms

transfer background check:

1. If your transaction was denied by TICS (not your gun dealer) obtain your unique Transaction
Number from your FFL (dealer). Legibly print the Transaction Number in the appropriate place

on the reverse side of this form. Legibly print the other required information on the form. Include
your complete phone number and current mailing address. Make a copy of the form and retain it
for your file or future use. You may mail the form to:

TICS Unit

Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

901 R. S. Gass Blvd.

Nashville, TN 37216-2639

2. You may also send the form by facsimile (FAX) to (615) 744-4660 or Email as a PDF attachment to
thi.tics@tbi.tn.gov . It should be sent promptly so as to allow TICS ample time to contact the necessary

law enforcement agencies and/or clerk’s offices and review any documentation they may provide.
Do not attempt to hand carry your appeal to the above address in order to obtain same day service.

Do not submit any documentation with this appeal form—all documentation MUST come to TICS
from the original source agency. By law TICS has 15 calendar days to research and review your
attempted firearm transfer after the appeal is received. However, if more than 30 days elapse after
the initial denial of transfer and you have not appealed, your appeal will not be handled and you
will need to begin again with a new attempt to purchase, denial and appeal.

3. Upon receipt of your appeal form, TICS reviews the documentation used to make the denial.
TICS contacts the arresting agency and requests a final disposition of any “open” charges showing
on your criminal history record. TICS may also contact the clerk of court and the state bureau of investigation’s
state records keeping unit for final disposition information if it is unavailable from

the arresting agency. If TICS is able to obtain a final disposition or other required information,

your FFL will be notified of any change of status for the transaction. You will need to keep in
contact with your gun dealer to see if your appeal has been overturned. If TICS is unable to

obtain the final disposition or other necessary information. TICS will place your transaction into
“CONDITIONAL PROCEED” status and advise your dealer by the most expedient means

available (e-mail, fax or postal mail). Your dealer has the option of transferring the firearm to you
or not transferring the firearm, but is not obligated to transfer any firearm to you.

4. If your dealer refuses to transfer a firearm to you based on a “CONDITIONAL PROCEED” status
received from TICS, you were not denied by TICS and have no avenue of appeal to TICS.

However, TICS will assist you further by providing you with a form letter to appeal the FFL’s

denial by seeking assistance of the FBI NICS Appeals Services Unit in correcting your criminal
history record. Do NOT return such a letter to TICS — it is to be sent to the FBI NICS. Criminal

history records maintained by other states or by the FBI cannot be corrected or modified by TICS.
That is the responsibility of each individual state and of the original arresting agency. It is your
responsibility to see that TICS is notified by any out-of-state or federal agency upon
correction/modification of your criminal history record that would effect the original denial
decision made by TICS.

5. To check the status of the appeal please go to https://tbibackgrounds.tbi.tn.gov/Appeals/ . You will need the

state transaction number and date of birth to check the appeal status. This is available to access 24/7.
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