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40-39-201. Short title --Legislative findings. 

 
(a) This part shall be known as and may be cited as the "Tennessee Sexual Offender and Violent Sexual Offender 

Registration, Verification and Tracking Act of 2004." 
 

(b) The general assembly finds and declares that: 
 

(1) Repeat sexual offenders, sexual offenders who use physical violence and sexual offenders who prey on children 
are violent sexual offenders who present an extreme threat to the public safety. Sexual offenders pose a high risk of 
engaging in further offenses after release from incarceration or commitment and protection of the public from these 
offenders is of paramount public interest; 

 
(2) It is a compelling and necessary public interest that the public have information concerning persons convicted of 

sexual offenses collected pursuant to this part, to allow members of the public to adequately protect themselves and 
their children from these persons; 

 
(3) Persons convicted of these sexual offenses have a reduced expectation of privacy because of the public's interest 

in public safety; 
 

(4) In balancing the sexual offender's and violent sexual offender's due process and other rights against the interests 
of public security, the general assembly finds that releasing information about offenders under the circumstances 
specified in this part will further the primary governmental interest of protecting vulnerable populations from potential 
harm; 

 
(5) The registration of offenders, utilizing complete and accurate information, along with the public release of specified 

information concerning offenders, will further the governmental interests of public safety and public scrutiny of the 
criminal and mental health systems that deal with these offenders; 

 
(6) To protect the safety and general welfare of the people of this state, it is necessary to provide for continued 

registration of offenders and for the public release of specified information regarding offenders. This policy of authorizing 
the release of necessary and relevant information about offenders to members of the general public is a means of 
assuring public protection and shall not be construed as punitive; 

 
(7) The offender is subject to specified terms and conditions that are implemented at sentencing or, at the time of 

release from incarceration, that require that those who are financially able must pay specified administrative costs to the 
appropriate registering agency, which shall retain one hundred dollars ($100) of these costs for the administration of this 
part and shall be reserved for the purposes authorized by this part at the end of each fiscal year, with the remaining fifty 
dollars ($50.00) of fees to be remitted to the Tennessee bureau of investigation's sex offender registry; provided, that a 
juvenile offender required to register under this part shall not be required to pay the administrative fee until the offender 
reaches eighteen (18) years of age; and 

 
(8) The general assembly also declares, however, that in making information about certain offenders available to the 



public, the general assembly does not intend that the information be used to inflict retribution or additional punishment 
on those offenders. 

 

 
40-39-202. Part definitions. 

 
As used in this part, unless the context otherwise requires: 

 
(1) “Conviction” means a judgment entered by a Tennessee court upon a plea of guilty, a plea of nolo contendere, a 
finding of guilt by a jury or the court notwithstanding any pending appeal or habeas corpus proceeding arising from the 
judgment. “Conviction” includes, but is not limited to, a conviction by a federal court or military tribunal, including a 
court-martial conducted by the armed forces of the United States, and a conviction, whether upon a plea of guilty, a plea 
of nolo contendere or a finding of guilt by a jury or the court in any other state of the United States, other jurisdiction or 
other country. A conviction, whether upon a plea of guilty, a plea of nolo contendere or a finding of guilt by a jury or the 
court for an offense committed in another jurisdiction that would be classified as a sexual offense or a violent sexual 
offense if committed in this state shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this part. An adjudication in another 
state for a delinquent act committed in another jurisdiction that would be classified as a violent juvenile sexual offense 
under this section, if committed in this state, shall be considered a violent juvenile sexual offense for the purposes of this 
part. “Convictions,” for the purposes of this part, also include a plea taken in conjunction with § 40-35-313 or its 
equivalent in any other jurisdiction. “Conviction” also includes a juvenile delinquency adjudication for a violent juvenile 
sexual offense if the offense occurs on or after July 1, 2011; 

 
(2) “Designated law enforcement agency” means any law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over the primary or 
secondary residence, place of physical presence, place of employment, school or institution of higher education where 
the student is enrolled or, for offenders on supervised probation or parole, the department of correction or court ordered 
probation officer; 

 
(3) “Employed or practices a vocation” means any full-time or part-time employment in the state, with or without 
compensation, or employment that involves counseling, coaching, teaching, supervising, volunteering or working with 
minors in any way, regardless of the period of employment, whether the employment is financially compensated, 
volunteered or performed for the purpose of any government or education benefit; 

 
(4) “Institution of higher education” means a public or private: 

 
(A) Community college; 

 
(B) College; 

 
(C) University; or 

 
(D) Independent postsecondary institution; 

 
(5) “Law enforcement agency of any institution of higher education” means any campus law enforcement arrangement 
authorized by § 49-7-118; 

 
(6) “Local law enforcement agency” means: 

 
(A) Within the territory of a municipality, the municipal police department; 

 
(B) Within the territory of a county having a metropolitan form of government, the metropolitan police department; or 

 
(C) Within the unincorporated territory of a county, the sheriff’s office; 

 
(7) “Minor” means any person under eighteen (18) years of age; 

 
(8) “Month” means a calendar month; 

 
(9) “Offender” means sexual offender, violent sexual offender and violent juvenile sexual offender, unless otherwise 
designated. An offender who qualifies both as a sexual offender and a violent sexual offender or as a violent juvenile 
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sexual offender and as a violent sexual offender shall be considered a violent sexual offender; 
 

(10) “Offender against children” means any sexual offender, violent sexual offender or violent juvenile sexual offender if 
the victim in one (1) or more of the offender’s crimes was a child of twelve (12) years of age or less; 

 
(11) “Parent” means any biological parent, adoptive parent or step-parent, and includes any legal or court-appointed 
guardian or custodian; however, “parent” shall not include step-parent if the offender’s victim was a minor less than 
thirteen (13) years of age; 

 
(12) “Primary residence” means a place where the person abides, lodges, resides or establishes any other living 
accommodations in this state for five (5) consecutive days; 

 
(13) “Register” means the initial registration of an offender, or the re-registration of an offender after deletion or 
termination from the SOR; 

 
(14) “Registering agency” means a sheriff’s office, municipal police department, metropolitan police department, 
campus law enforcement agency, the Tennessee department of correction, a private contractor with the Tennessee 
department of correction or the board; 

 
(15) “Relevant information deemed necessary to protect the public” means that information set forth in § 40-39-
206(d)(1)-(15); 

 
(16) “Report” means appearance before the proper designated law enforcement agency for any of the purposes set out 
in this part; 

 
(17) “Resident” means any person who abides, lodges, resides or establishes any other living accommodations in this 
state, including establishing a physical presence in this state; 

 
(18) “Secondary residence” means a place where the person abides, lodges, resides or establishes any other living 
accommodations in this state for a period of fourteen (14) or more days in the aggregate during any calendar year and 
that is not the person’s primary residence; for a person whose primary residence is not in this state, a place where the 
person is employed, practices a vocation or is enrolled as a student for a period of fourteen (14) or more days in the 
aggregate during any calendar year; or a place where the person routinely abides, lodges or resides for a period of four 
(4) or more consecutive or nonconsecutive days in any month and that is not the person’s primary residence, including 
any out-of-state address; 

 
(19) “Sexual offender” means a person who has been convicted in this state of committing a sexual offense or has 
another qualifying conviction; 

 
(20) “Sexual offense” means: 

 
(A) The commission of any act that, on or after November 1, 1989, constitutes the criminal offense of: 

 
(i) Sexual battery, under § 39-13-505; 

 
(ii) Statutory rape, under § 39-13-506, if the defendant has one (1) or more prior convictions for mitigated 

statutory rape under § 39-13-506(a), statutory rape under § 39-13-506(b) or aggravated statutory rape under § 
39-13-506(c), or if the judge orders the person to register as a sexual offender pursuant to § 39-13-506(d); 

 
(iii) Aggravated prostitution, under § 39-13-516, provided the offense occurred prior to July 1, 2010; 

 
(iv) Sexual exploitation of a minor, under § 39-17-1003; 

 
(v) False imprisonment where the victim is a minor, under § 39-13-302, except when committed by a parent of the 

minor; 
 

(vi) Kidnapping, where the victim is a minor, under § 39-13-303, except when committed by a parent of the minor; 
 

(vii) Indecent exposure, under § 39-13-511, upon a third or subsequent conviction; 
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(viii) Solicitation of a minor, under § 39-13-528 when the offense is classified as a Class D felony, Class E felony or a 
misdemeanor; 

 
(ix) Spousal sexual battery, for those committing the offense prior to June 18, 2005, under former § 39-13-507; 

 
(x) Attempt, under § 39-12-101, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (20)(A); 

 
 

(xi) Solicitation, under § 39-12-102, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (20)(A); 
 
 

(xii) Conspiracy, under § 39-12-103, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (20)(A); 
 
 

(xiii) Criminal responsibility, under § 39-11-402 (2), to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision 
(20)(A); 

 
 

(xiv) Facilitating the commission, under § 39-11-403, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision 
(20)(A); 

 
 

(xv) Being an accessory after the fact, under § 39-11-411, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this 
subdivision (20)(A); 

 
 

(xvi) Aggravated statutory rape, under § 39-13-506(c); 
 
 

(xvii) Soliciting sexual exploitation of a minor--exploitation of a minor by electronic means, under § 39-13-529; 
 
 

(xviii) Promotion of prostitution, under § 39-13-515; 
 
 

(xix) Patronizing prostitution where the victim is a minor, under § 39-13-514; 
 
 

(xx) Observation without consent, under § 39-13-607, upon a third or subsequent conviction; 
 
 

(xxi) Observation without consent, under § 39-13-607 when the offense is classified as a Class E felony; 
 
 

(xxii) Unlawful photographing under § 39-13-605 when the offense is classified as a Class E or Class D felony; or 
 
 

(xxiii) Sexual contact with inmates, under § 39-16-408. 
 
 
(xxiv)  Unlawful photographing, under § 39-13-605, when convicted as a misdemeanor if the judge orders the person 

to register as a sexual offender pursuant to § 39-13-605; 
  

 
(B) The commission of any act, that prior to November 1, 1989, constituted the criminal offense of: 

 
 

(i) Sexual battery, under § 39-2-607 [repealed]; 
 
 

(ii) Statutory rape, under § 39-2-605 [repealed], only if the facts of the conviction satisfy the definition of aggravated 
statutory rape; 
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Assault with intent to commit rape or attempt to commit sexual battery, under § 39-2-608 [repealed]; 
 
 

(iii) Incest, under § 39-4-306 [repealed]; 
 
 

(iv) Use of a minor for obscene purposes, under § 39-6-1137 [repealed]; 
 
 

(v) Promotion of performance including sexual conduct by a minor, under § 39-6-1138 [repealed]; 
 
 

(vi) Criminal sexual conduct in the first degree, under § 39-3703 [repealed]; 
 
 

(vii) Criminal sexual conduct in the second degree, under § 39-3704 [repealed]; 
 
 

(viii) Criminal sexual conduct in the third degree, under § 39-3705 [repealed]; 
 
 

(ix) Kidnapping where the victim is a minor, under § 39-2-303 [repealed], except when committed by a parent of the 
minor; 

 
 

(x) Solicitation, under § 39-1-401 [repealed] or § 39-118(b) [repealed], to commit any of the offenses enumerated in 
this subdivision (20)(B); 

 
 

(xi) Attempt, under § 39-1-501 [repealed], § 39-605 [repealed], or § 39-606 [repealed], to commit any of the 
offenses enumerated in this subdivision (20)(B); 

 
 

(xii) Conspiracy, under § 39-1-601 [repealed] or § 39-1104 [repealed], to commit any of the offenses enumerated in 
this subdivision (20)(B); or 

 
 

(xiii) Accessory before or after the fact, or aider and abettor, under title 39, chapter 1, part 3 [repealed], to any of the 
offenses enumerated in this subdivision (20)(B); 

 
 

(21) “SOR” means the TBI’s centralized record system of offender registration, verification and tracking information; 
 

(22) “Student” means a person who is enrolled on a full-time or part-time basis in any public or private educational 
institution, including any secondary school, trade or professional institution or institution of higher learning; 

 
 

(23) “TBI” means the Tennessee bureau of investigation; 
 
 

(24) “TBI registration form” means the Tennessee sexual offender registration, verification and tracking form; 
 
 

(25) “TDOC” means the Tennessee department of correction; 
 
 

(26) “TIES” means the Tennessee information enforcement system; 
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(27)(A) “Violent juvenile sexual offender” means a person who is adjudicated delinquent in this state for any act that 
constitutes a violent juvenile sexual offense; provided, that the person is at least fourteen (14) years of age but less than 
eighteen (18) years of age at the time the act is committed; 

 
 

(B) Upon an adjudication of delinquency in this state for an act that constitutes a violent juvenile sexual offense, the 
violent juvenile sexual offender shall also be considered a violent sexual offender under this part, unless otherwise set 
out in this part; 

 
 

(28)(A) “Violent juvenile sexual offense” means an adjudication of delinquency, for any act committed on or after July 1, 
2011, that, if committed by an adult, constitutes the criminal offense of: 

 
 

(i) Aggravated rape, under § 39-13-502; 
 
 

(ii) Rape, under § 39-13-503; 
 
 

(iii) Rape of a child, under § 39-13-522, provided the victim is at least four (4) years younger than the offender; 
 
 

(iv) Aggravated rape of a child, under § 39-13-531; or 
 
 

(v) Criminal attempt, under § 39-12-101, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (28)(A); 
 
 

(B) “Violent juvenile sexual offense” also means an adjudication of delinquency, for any act committed on or after July 
1, 2014, that, if committed by an adult, constitutes the criminal offense of: 

 
 

(i) Aggravated sexual battery, under § 39-13-504; 
 
 

(ii) Criminal attempt, under § 39-12-101, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (28)(B); 
 
 

(29) “Violent sexual offender” means a person who has been convicted in this state of committing a violent sexual 
offense or has another qualifying conviction; 

 
 

(30) “Violent sexual offense” means the commission of any act that constitutes the criminal offense of: 
 
 

(A) Aggravated rape, under § 39-2-603 [repealed] or § 39-13-502; 

(B) Rape, under § 39-2-604 [repealed] or § 39-13-503; 

(C) Aggravated sexual battery, under § 39-2-606 [repealed] or § 39-13-504; 
 
 
 

(D) Rape of a child, under § 39-13-522; 
 
 

(E) Attempt to commit rape, under § 39-2-608 [repealed]; 

http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-502&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-503&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-522&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-531&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-12-101&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-504&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-12-101&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-502&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-503&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-504&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-522&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)


 
(F) Aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor, under § 39-17-1004; 

 
 

(G) Especially aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor under § 39-17-1005; 
 
 

(H) Aggravated kidnapping where the victim is a minor, under § 39-13-304, except when committed by a parent of the 
minor; 

 
 

(I) Especially aggravated kidnapping where the victim is a minor, under § 39-13-305, except when committed by a 
parent of the minor; 

 
 

(J) Sexual battery by an authority figure, under § 39-13-527; 
 
 

(K) Solicitation of a minor, under § 39-13-528 when the offense is classified as a Class B or Class C felony; 
 
 

(L) Spousal rape, under § 39-13-507(b)(1) [repealed]; 
 
 

(M) Aggravated spousal rape, under § 39-13-507 (c)(1) [repealed]; 
 
 

(N) Criminal exposure to HIV, under § 39-13-109(a)(1); 
 
 

(O) Statutory rape by an authority figure, under § 39-13-532; 
 
 

(P) Criminal attempt, under § 39-12-101, § 39-12-501 [repealed], § 39-605 [repealed], or § 39-606 [repealed], to 
commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (30); 

 
 

(Q) Solicitation, under § 39-12-102, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (30); 
 
 

(R) Conspiracy, under § 39-12-103, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (30); 
 
 

(S) Criminal responsibility, under § 39-11-402 (2), to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (30); 
 
 

(T) Facilitating the commission, under § 39-11-403, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this subdivision (30); 
 
 

(U) Being an accessory after the fact, under § 39-11-411, to commit any of the offenses enumerated in this 
subdivision (30); 

 
 

(V) Incest, under § 39-15-302; 
 
 

(W) Aggravated rape of a child under § 39-13-531; 

http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-17-1004&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-17-1005&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-304&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-305&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-527&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-528&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-507&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-507&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-109&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=SP&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)%23co_pp_7b9b000044381
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-532&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-12-101&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-12-102&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-12-103&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-11-402&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=SP&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)%23co_pp_58730000872b1
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-11-403&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-11-411&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-15-302&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&amp;pubNum=1000039&amp;cite=TNSTS39-13-531&amp;originatingDoc=N3C866CC039B311E5BF6AF4E8818E6073&amp;refType=LQ&amp;originationContext=document&amp;vr=3.0&amp;rs=cblt1.0&amp;transitionType=DocumentItem&amp;contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)


(X) Aggravated prostitution, under § 39-13-516; provided, that the offense occurs on or after July 1, 2010; 
 
 

(Y) Trafficking for a commercial sex act, under § 39-13-309; or 
 
 

(Z) Promotion of prostitution, under § 39-13-515, where the person has a prior conviction for promotion of prostitution; 
 

(31) “Within forty-eight (48) hours” means a continuous forty-eight-hour period, not including Saturdays, Sundays or 
federal or state holidays; and 

 
(32) “Social Media” means web sites and other online means of communication that are usually used by large groups of 
people to share information, to develop social and professional contacts, and that customarily require an identifying 
password and user identification to participate. 

 
 
 

40-39-203. Registration forms; time for completion; contents; photographs 
 
 
 

(a)(1) Within forty-eight (48) hours of establishing or changing a primary or secondary residence, establishing a physical 
presence at a particular location, becoming employed or practicing a vocation or becoming a student in this state, the 
offender shall register or report in person, as required by this part. Likewise, within forty-eight (48) hours of release on 
probation or any alternative to incarceration, excluding parole, the offender shall register or report in person, as required 
by this part. 

 
(2) Regardless of an offender’s date of conviction, adjudication or discharge from supervision, an offender whose 
contact with this state is sufficient to satisfy the requirements of subdivision (a)(1) is required to register in person as 
required by this part, if the person was required to register as any form of sexual offender, juvenile offender or otherwise, 
in another jurisdiction prior to the offender’s presence in this state. 

 
(3) An offender who resides and is registered in this state and who intends to move out of this state shall, within 
forty-eight (48) hours after moving to another state or within forty-eight (48) hours of becoming reasonably certain of the 
intention to move to another state, register or report to the offender’s designated law enforcement agency the address at 
which the offender will reside in the new jurisdiction. 

 
(4) Within forty-eight (48) hours of a change in any other information given to the registering agency by the offender that 
is contained on the registration form, the offender must report the change to the registering agency. 

 
(5) Within forty-eight (48) hours of being released from probation or parole, an offender must report to the proper law 
enforcement agency, which shall then become the registering agency and take over registry duties from the department 
of correction. 

 
(6) Within forty-eight (48) hours of a material change in employment or vocation status, the offender shall report the 
change to the person’s registering agency. For purposes of this subdivision (a)(6), “a material change in employment or 
vocational status” includes being terminated involuntarily from the offender’s employment or vocation, voluntarily 
terminating the employment or vocation, taking different employment or the same employment at a different location, 
changing shifts or substantially changing the offender’s hours of work at the same employment or vocation, taking 
additional employment, reducing the offender’s employment or any other change in the offender’s employment or 
vocation that differs from that which the offender originally registered. For a change in employment or vocational status 
to be considered a material one, it must remain in effect for five (5) consecutive days or more. 

 
(7) Within three (3) days, excluding holidays, of an offender changing the offender’s electronic mail address information, 
any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or identity information that the person uses or intends 
to use, whether within or without this state, the offender shall report the change to the offender’s designated law 
enforcement agency. 

 
(b)(1) An offender who is incarcerated in this state in a local, state or federal jail or a private penal institution shall, within 
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forty-eight (48) hours prior to the offender’s release, register or report in person, completing and signing a TBI 
registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3), as follows: 

 
(A) If incarcerated in a state, federal or private penal facility, with the warden or the warden’s designee; or 
(B) If incarcerated in a local jail, with the sheriff or the sheriff’s designee. 

 
(2) After registering or reporting with the incarcerating facility as provided in subdivision (b)(1), an offender who is 

incarcerated in this state in a local, state or federal jail or a private penal institution shall, within forty-eight (48) hours 
after the offender’s release from the incarcerating institution, report in person to the offender’s registering agency, 
unless the place of incarceration is also the person’s registering agency. 

 
(3) Notwithstanding subdivisions (b)(1) and (2), an offender who is incarcerated in this state in a local, state or 

federal jail or a private penal institution and who has not registered pursuant to § 40-39-212(a) or any other law shall, by 
August 1, 2011, be required to report in person, register, complete and sign a TBI registration form, under penalty of 
perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3), as follows: 

 
(A) If incarcerated in a state, federal or private penal facility, with the warden or the warden’s designee; or 

 
(B) If incarcerated in a local jail, with the sheriff or the sheriff’s designee. 

 
(c) An offender from another state, jurisdiction or country who has established a primary or secondary residence within 
this state or has established a physical presence at a particular location shall, within forty-eight (48) hours of 
establishing residency or a physical presence, register or report in person with the designated law enforcement agency, 
completing and signing a TBI registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3). 

 
 

(d)(1) An offender from another state, jurisdiction or country who is not a resident of this state shall, within forty-eight 
(48) hours of employment, commencing practice of a vocation or becoming a student in this state, register or report in 
person, completing and signing a TBI registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3), with: 

 
(A) The sheriff in the county or the chief of police in the municipality within this state where the offender is employed or 
practices a vocation; or 

 
(B) The law enforcement agency or any institution of higher education, or if not applicable, the designated law 

enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the campus, if the offender is employed or practices a vocation or is a student. 
 
 

(2) Within forty-eight (48) hours of an offender from another state, jurisdiction or country who is not a resident of this 
state making a material change in the offender’s vocational or employment or vocational status within this state, the 
offender shall report the change to the person’s registering agency. For purposes of this subdivision (d)(2), “a material 
change in employment or vocational status” includes being terminated involuntarily from the offender’s employment or 
vocation, voluntarily terminating the employment or vocation, taking different employment or the same employment at a 
different location, changing shifts or substantially changing the offender’s hours of work at the same employment or 
vocation, taking additional employment, reducing the offender’s employment or any other change in the offender’s 
employment or vocation that differs from that which the offender originally registered. For a change in employment or 
vocational status to be considered a material one, it must remain in effect for five (5) consecutive days or more. 

 
 

(e) An offender from another state, jurisdiction or country who becomes a resident of this state, pursuant to the Interstate 
Compact for Supervision of Adult Offenders, compiled in title 40, chapter 28, part 4, shall, within forty-eight (48) hours of 
entering the state, register or report in person with the board, completing and signing a TBI registration form, under 
penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3), in addition to the requirements of title 40, chapter 28, part 4 and the 
specialized conditions for sex offenders from the board. 

 
 

(f) Offenders who do not maintain either a primary or secondary residence, as defined in this part, shall be considered 
homeless and are subject to the registration requirements of this part. Offenders who do not maintain either a primary or 
secondary residence shall be required to report to their registering agency monthly for so long as they do not maintain 
either a primary or secondary residence. 
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(g) Offenders who were previously required to register or report under former title 40, chapter 39, part 1 [repealed], shall 
register or report in person with the designated law enforcement agency by August 31, 2005. Offenders who reside in 
nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health institutions or continuously 
confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from this requirement, as 
otherwise provided by this part. 

 
(h) An offender who indicates to a designated law enforcement agency on the TBI registration form the offender’s intent 
to reside in another state, jurisdiction or country and who then decides to remain in this state shall, within forty-eight (48) 
hours of the decision to remain in the state, report in person to the designated law enforcement agency and update all 
information pursuant to subsection (i). 

 
 

(i) TBI registration forms shall require the registrant’s signature and disclosure of the following information, under 
penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3): 

 
 

(1) Complete name and all aliases, including, but not limited to, any names that the offender may have had or currently 
has by reason of marriage or otherwise, including pseudonyms and ethnic or tribal names; 

 
 

(2) Date and place of birth; 
 
 

(3) Social security number; 
 
 

(4) A photocopy of a valid driver license, or if no valid driver license has been issued to the offender, a photocopy of any 
state or federal government issued identification card; 

 
 

(5) For an offender on supervised release, the name, address and telephone number of the registrant’s probation or 
parole officer or other person responsible for the registrant’s supervision; 

 
 

(6) Sexual offenses or violent sexual offenses for which the registrant has been convicted, the date of the offenses and 
the county and state of each conviction; or the violent juvenile sexual offense for which the registrant has been 
adjudicated delinquent, the date of the act for which the adjudication was made and the county and state of each 
adjudication; 

 
 

(7) Name of any current employers and length of employment, including physical addresses and phone numbers; 
 
 

(8) Current physical address and length of residence at that address, which shall include any primary or secondary 
residences. For the purpose of this section, a post office box number shall not be considered an address; 

 
 

(9) Mailing address, if different from physical address; 
 
 

(10) Any vehicle, mobile home, trailer or manufactured home used or owned by an offender, including descriptions, 
vehicle information numbers and license tag numbers; 

 
 

(11) Any vessel, live-aboard vessel or houseboat used by an offender, including the name of the vessel, description and 
all identifying numbers; 
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(12) Name and address of each institution of higher education in this state where the offender is employed or practices 
a vocation or is a student; 

 
 

(13) Race and gender; 
 
 

(14) Name, address and phone number of offender’s closest living relative; 
 
 

(15) Whether victims of the offender’s convictions are minors or adults, the number of victims and the correct age of the 
victim or victims and of the offender at the time of the offense or offenses, if the ages are known; 

 
 

(16) Verification by the TBI or the offender that the TBI has received the offender’s DNA sample; 
 
 

(17) A complete listing of the offender’s electronic mail address information, including usernames, any social media 
accounts the offender uses or intends to use, instant message, other Internet communication platforms or devices, and 
the offender’s username, screen name, or other method by which the offender accesses these accounts or web sites. 

 
 

(18) Whether any minors reside in the primary or secondary residence; 
 
 

(19)(A) Any other registration, verification and tracking information, including fingerprints and a current photograph of 
the offender, vehicles and vessels, as referred to in subdivisions (i)(10) and (i)(11), as may be required by rules 
promulgated by the TBI, in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5; 

 
 

(B) By January 1, 2007, the TBI shall promulgate and disseminate to all applicable law enforcement agencies, 
correctional institutions and any other agency that may be called upon to register an offender, rules establishing 
standardized specifications for the photograph of the offender required by subdivision (i)(19)(A). The rules shall 
specify that the photograph or digital image submitted for each offender must conform to the following compositional 
specifications or the entry will not be accepted for use on the registry and the agency will be required to resubmit the 
photograph: 

 
(i) Head Position: 

 
 

(a) The person being photographed must directly face the camera; 
 
 

(b) The head of the person should not be tilted up, down or to the side; and 
 
 

(c) The head of the person should cover about fifty percent (50%) of the area of the photo; 
 
 

(ii) Background: 
 
 

(a) The person being photographed should be in front of a neutral, light-colored background; and 
 
 

(b) Dark or patterned backgrounds are not acceptable; 
 
 

(iii) The photograph must be in focus; 



(iv) Photos in which the person being photographed is wearing sunglasses or other items that detract from the face 
are not permitted; and 

 
(v) Head Coverings and Hats: 

 
 

(a) Photographs of applicants wearing head coverings or hats are only acceptable due to religious beliefs, and even 
then, may not obscure any portion of the face of the applicant; and 

 
 

(b) Photos of applicants with tribal or other headgear not specifically religious in nature are not permitted; 
 
 

(20) Copies of all passports and immigration documents; and 
 
 

(21) Professional licensing information that authorizes an offender to engage in an occupation or carry out a trade or 
business. 

 
(j)(1) Notwithstanding the registration deadlines otherwise established by this section, any person convicted of a sexual 
offense or violent sexual offense in this state or who has another qualifying conviction as defined in § 40-39-202, but 
who is not required to register for the reasons set out in subdivision (j)(2), shall have until August 1, 2007, to register as 
a sexual offender or violent sexual offender in this state. 

 
 

(2) Subdivision (j)(1) shall apply to offenders: 
 

(A) Whose convictions for a sexual offense or violent sexual offense occurred prior to January 1, 1995; 
 

(B) Who were not on probation, parole or any other alternative to incarceration for a sexual offense or prior sexual 
offense on or after January 1, 1995; 

 
(C) Who were discharged from probation, parole or any other alternative to incarceration for a sexual offense or 

violent sexual offense prior to January 1, 1995; or 
 

(D) Who were discharged from incarceration without supervision for a sexual offense or violent sexual offense prior 
to January 1, 1995. 

 
(k) No later than the third day after an offender’s initial registration, the registration agency shall send by the United 
States postal service or by electronic means the original signed TBI registration form containing information required by 
subsection (i) to TBI headquarters in Nashville. 

 
(l) The offender’s signature on the TBI registration form creates the presumption that the offender has knowledge of the 
registration, verification and tracking requirements of this part. 

 
(m) Registry information regarding all registered offender’s electronic mail address information, any instant message, 
chat or other Internet communication name or identity information may be electronically transmitted by the TBI to a 
business or organization that offers electronic communication or remote computing services for the purpose of 
prescreening users or for comparison with information held by the requesting business or organization. In order to 
obtain the information from the TBI, the requesting business or organization that offers electronic communication or 
remote computing services shall agree to notify the TBI forthwith when a comparison indicates that any such registered 
sex offender’s electronic mail address information, any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or 
identity information is being used on their system. The requesting business or organization shall also agree that the 
information will not be further disseminated. 

 
(n) If the offender’s DNA sample has not already been collected pursuant to § 40-35-321 or any other law and received 
by the TBI, the offender’s DNA sample shall be taken by the registering agency at the time the offender registers or at 
the offender’s next scheduled registration or reporting and sent to the TBI. 
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(o) An offender who registers or reports as required by this section prior to July 1, 2008, shall provide the additional 
information on the registration form required by this section at the offender’s next scheduled registration or reporting 
date. 

 
(p) An offender who is housed in a halfway house or any other facility as an alternative to incarceration where 
unsupervised contact is permitted outside of the facility is required to register or report with the registering agency as set 
out in § 40-39-204 in the city or county of the facility in which the offender is housed. The registering agency shall be 
responsible for the duties set out in § 40-39-205(b) during the time that the offender is housed in the facility. 

 
(q) Any court exercising juvenile jurisdiction that adjudicates a juvenile as delinquent for conduct that qualifies such 
juvenile as a violent juvenile sexual offender shall transmit the information set out in subsection (i) pertaining to such 
violent juvenile sexual offender to the TBI for inclusion on the SOR within forty-eight (48) hours of the offender’s 
adjudication for the qualifying offenses set out in § 40-39-202(28). 

 
 

 
40-39-204. Data repository; reporting and exemptions; re-incarceration; travel out of the country 

 
 

(a) The TBI shall maintain and make available a connection to the SOR for all criminal justice agencies with TIES 
internet capabilities, by which registering agencies shall enter original, current and accurate data required by this part. 
The TBI shall provide viewing and limited write access directly to the SOR through the TIES internet to registering 
agencies for the entry of record verification data, changes of residence, employment or other pertinent data required by 
this part and to assist in offender identification. Registering agencies should immediately, but in no case to exceed 
twelve (12) hours from registration, enter all data received from the offender as required by the TBI and § 40-39-203(i), 
into the TIES internet for the enforcement of this part by TBI, designated law enforcement agencies, TDOC, and private 
contractors with TDOC. 

 
(b)(1) Violent sexual offenders shall report in person during the months of March, June, September, and December of 
each calendar year, to the designated law enforcement agency, on a date established by such agency, to update the 
offender’s fingerprints, palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, and to verify the continued 
accuracy of the information in the TBI registration form. Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living 
facilities and offenders committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities 
due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from the in-person reporting and fingerprinting, as otherwise provided 
by this part. At the time of the violent offender’s initial registration or initial reporting date for the calendar year, the violent 
sexual offender shall pay the specified administrative costs, not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150), one hundred 
dollars ($100) of which shall be retained by the designated law enforcement agency to be used for the purchase of 
equipment, to defray personnel and maintenance costs and any other expenses incurred as a result of the 
implementation of this part. The remaining fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be submitted by the registering agency to the TBI 
for maintenance, upkeep and employment costs, as well as any other expenses incurred as a result of the 
implementation of this part. Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders 
committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or 
physical disabilities are exempt from paying the administrative cost as otherwise provided by this part. 

 
(2) At least once during the months of March, June, September, and December of each calendar year, all violent 
juvenile sexual offenders shall report in person to the offender’s registering agency to update the offender’s fingerprints, 
palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, and to verify the continued accuracy of the 
information transmitted to the TBI by the registering agency as defined in § 40-39-202. Offenders in custody shall 
register as set out in § 40-39-203(b)(1). 

 
(c) Once a year, all sexual offenders shall report in person, no earlier than seven (7) calendar days before and no later 
than seven (7) calendar days after the offender’s date of birth, to the designated law enforcement agency to update the 
offender’s fingerprints, palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, to verify the continued 
accuracy of the information in the TBI registration form and to pay the specified administrative costs,not to exceed one 
hundred fifty dollars ($150), one hundred dollars ($100) of which shall be retained by the designated law enforcement 
agency to be used for the purchase of equipment, to defray personnel and maintenance costs and any other expenses 
incurred as a result of the implementation of this part. The remaining fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be submitted by the 
registering agency to the TBI for maintenance, upkeep and employment costs, as well as any other expenses incurred 
as a result of the implementation of this part. Offenders whose initial registration occurs after the annual reporting period 
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shall be required to pay the administrative costs at the time of the initial registration. Offenders who reside in nursing 
homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to 
home or health care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from the in-person reporting and 
fingerprinting and administrative cost as otherwise provided by this part. However, if an offender is released or 
discharged from a nursing home, assisted living facility or mental health institution or is no longer continuously confined 
to home or a health care facility due to mental or physical disabilities, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, 
register in person with the designated law enforcement agency, completing and signing a TBI registration form, under 
penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3). If the offender has previously registered prior to the release or 
discharge, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, report in person to the designated law enforcement agency 
and update all information pursuant to this section. 

 
(d) Within three (3) days after the offender’s verification, the designated law enforcement agency with whom the 
offender verified shall send by United States postal service or by electronic means the original signed TBI registration 
form containing information required by § 40-39-203(i) to TBI headquarters in Nashville. The TBI shall be the state 
central repository for all original TBI registration forms and any other forms required by § 40-39-207 that are deemed 
necessary for the enforcement of this part. The designated law enforcement agency shall retain a duplicate copy of the 
TBI registration form as a part of the business records for that agency. 

 
(e) If a person required to register under this part is reincarcerated for another offense or as the result of having violated 
the terms of probation, parole, conditional discharge or any other form of alternative sentencing, the offender shall 
immediately report the offender’s status as a sexual offender or violent sexual offender to the facility where the offender 
is incarcerated or detained and notify the offender’s appropriate registering agency, if different, that the offender is 
currently being detained or incarcerated. Registration, verification and tracking requirements for such persons are tolled 
during the subsequent incarceration. Within forty-eight (48) hours of the release from any subsequent reincarcerations, 
the offender shall register with the appropriate designated law enforcement agency. Likewise, if a person who is 
required to register under this part is deported from this country, the registration, verification and tracking requirements 
for such persons are tolled during the period of deportation. Within forty-eight (48) hours of the return to this state after 
deportation, the offender shall register with the appropriate designated law enforcement agency. 

 
(f) Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health 
institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities shall be 
exempted from the in-person reporting, fingerprinting and administrative cost requirements; however, it shall be the 
responsibility of the offender, the offender’s guardian, the person holding the offender’s power of attorney or, in the 
absence thereof, the administrator of the facility, to report any changes in the residential status to TBI headquarters in 
Nashville by United States postal service. Further, if an offender is released or discharged from a nursing home, 
assisted living facility, mental health institution or is no longer continuously confined to home or a health care facility due 
to mental or physical disabilities, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, register in person with the designated 
law enforcement agency, completing and signing a TBI registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 
39-16-702(b)(3). If the offender has previously registered prior to the release or discharge, the offender shall, within 
forty-eight (48) hours, report in person to the designated law enforcement agency and update all information pursuant to 
this section. 

 
(g) Offenders who do not maintain either a primary or secondary residence, as defined in this part, shall be considered 
homeless, and are subject to the reporting requirements of this part. The offenders who are considered homeless shall 
be required to report to their registering agency monthly. By the authority established in § 40-39-206(f), the TBI shall 
develop tracking procedures for the continued verification and tracking of these offenders in the interest of public safety. 

 
 
 

(h) Each offender shall report to the designated law enforcement agency at least twenty-one (21) days before traveling 
out of the country; provided, that offenders who travel out of the country frequently for work or other legitimate purpose, 
with the written approval of the designated law enforcement agency, and offenders who travel out of the country for 
emergency situations shall report to the designated law enforcement agency at least twenty-four (24) hours before 
traveling out of the country. 
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40-39-205. Printing and distribution of forms; explanation of requirements and sanctions to offenders 
 
 

(a) TBI registration forms shall be designed, printed and distributed by and at the expense of the TBI. These forms shall 
include instructions for compliance with this part and a statement of understanding and acknowledgment of those 
instructions to be signed by the offender. TBI registration forms shall be available from registering agencies, parole 
officers, probation officers and other public officers and employees assigned responsibility for the supervised release of 
convicted felons into the community. 

 
(b) It shall be the duty of the offender’s designated registering agency, its representatives and designees, including any 
district attorney general’s criminal investigator, to verify the accuracy and completeness of all information contained in 
the offender’s SOR. 

 
(c) The officer or employee responsible for supervising an offender who has been released on probation, parole or any 
other alternative to incarceration shall: 

 
(1) Promptly obtain the offender’s signed statement acknowledging that the named officer or employee has: 

 
(A) Fully explained, and the offender understands, the registration, verification and tracking requirements and 
sanctions of this part and the current sex offender directives established by the department of correction; 

 
(B) Provided the offender with a blank TBI registration form and assisted the offender in completing the form; and 

 
(C) Obtained fingerprints, palm prints and photographs of the offender, and vehicles and vessels, as determined 

necessary by the agency; 
 

(2) Immediately, but in no case to exceed twelve (12) hours from registration, enter all data received from the offender, 
as required by the TBI and § 40-39-203(i), into the TIES internet. The officer or employee shall, within three (3) days, 
send by United States postal service or by electronic means the signed and completed TBI registration form to TBI 
headquarters in Nashville. The photographs of the offender, vehicles and vessels, and the fingerprints should also be 
sent by United States postal service within three (3) days, if not electronically submitted to TBI headquarters in 
Nashville. The registering agency shall retain a duplicate copy of the TBI registration form as a part of the business 
records for that agency. 

 
(d) Not more than forty-eight (48) hours prior to the release of an offender from incarceration, with or without 
supervision, the warden of the correctional facility or the warden’s designee, or sheriff of the jail or the sheriff’s designee, 
shall obtain the offender’s signed statement acknowledging that the official has fully explained, and the offender 
understands, the registration, verification and tracking requirements and sanctions of this part. If the offender is to be 
released with or without any type of supervision, the warden of the correctional facility or the warden’s designee, or 
sheriff of the jail or the sheriff’s designee, shall assist the offender in completing a TBI registration form. The warden or 
the warden’s  designee, or the sheriff or the sheriff’s  designee, shall  also obtain fingerprints, palm prints  and 
photographs of the offender, vehicles and vessels, as determined necessary by the agency. The official shall send by 
United States postal service the signed and completed TBI registration form to TBI headquarters in Nashville within 
three (3) days of the release of the offender. The photographs of the offender, vehicles and vessels, and the fingerprints 
should also be sent by United States postal service within three (3) days, if not electronically submitted to TBI 
headquarters in Nashville. 

 
(e) If the offender is placed on unsupervised probation, the court shall fully explain to the offender, on the court record, 
the registration, verification and tracking requirements and sanctions of this part. The court shall then order the offender 
to report within forty-eight (48) hours, in person, to the appropriate registering agency to register as required by this part. 

 
(f) Through press releases, public service announcements or through other appropriate public information activities, the 
TBI shall attempt to ensure that all offenders, including those who move into this state, are informed and periodically 
reminded of the registration, verification and tracking requirements and sanctions of this part. 
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40-39-206. Centralized record system --Reporting --Violations --Confidentiality of certain registration 

information --Immunity from liability --Public information regarding offenders. 

 
(a) Using information received or collected pursuant to this part, the TBI shall establish, maintain and update a 
centralized record system of offender registration, verification and tracking information. The TBI may receive information 
from any credible source and may forward the information to the appropriate law enforcement agency for investigation 
and verification. The TBI shall promptly report current sexual offender registration, verification and tracking information 
to the identification division of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

 
(b) Whenever there is a factual basis to believe that an offender has not complied with the provisions of this part, 
pursuant to the powers enumerated in subsection (e), the TBI shall make the information available through the SOR to 
the district attorney general, designated law enforcement agencies and the probation officer, parole officer or other 
public officer or employee assigned responsibility for the offender's supervised release. 

 
(c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, officers and employees of the TBI, local law enforcement, law enforcement 
agencies of institutions of higher education, courts, probation and parole, the district attorneys general and their 
employees and other public officers and employees assigned responsibility for offenders' supervised release into the 
community shall be immune from liability relative to their good faith actions, omissions and conduct pursuant to this part. 

 
(d) For any offender convicted in this state of a sexual offense or violent sexual offense, as defined by this part, that 

requires the offender to register pursuant to this part, the information concerning the registered offender set out in 

subdivisions (d)(1)-(16) shall be considered public information. If an offender from another state establishes a residence 

in this state and is required to register in this state pursuant to § 40-39-203, the information concerning the registered 

offender set out in subdivisions (d)(1)-(16) shall be considered public information regardless of the date of conviction of 

the offender in the other state. In addition to making the information available in the same manner as public records, the 

TBI shall prepare and place the information on the state's Internet home page. This information shall become a part of 

the Tennessee Internet Criminal Information Center when that center is created within the TBI. The TBI shall also 

establish and operate a toll-free telephone number, to be known as the "Tennessee Internet Criminal Information Center 

Hotline," to permit members of the public to call and inquire as to whether a named individual is listed among those who 

have registered as offenders as required by this part. The following information concerning a registered offender is 

public: 

 
(1) The offender's complete name, as well as any aliases, including, but not limited to, any names that the offender 

may have had or currently has by reason of marriage or otherwise, including pseudonyms and ethnic or tribal names; 
 

(2) The offender's date of birth; 

 
(3) The sexual offense or offenses or violent sexual offense or offenses of which the offender has been convicted; 

 
(4) The primary and secondary addresses, including the house number, county, city and zip code in which the 

offender resides; 
 

(5) The offender's race and gender; 

 
(6) The date of last verification of information by the offender; 

 
(7) The most recent photograph of the offender that has been submitted to the TBI SOR; 

 
(8) The offender's driver license number and issuing state or any state or federal issued identification number; 

 
(9) The offender's parole or probation officer; 

 
(10) The name and address of any institution of higher education in the state at which the offender is employed, 

carries on a vocation or is a student; 

 
(11) The text of the provision of law or laws defining the criminal offense or offenses for which the offender is 

registered; 



(12) A physical description of the offender, including height, weight, color of eyes and hair, tattoos, scars and 

marks; 

 
(13) The criminal history of the offender, including the date of all arrests and convictions, the status of parole, 

probation or supervised release, registration status and the existence of any outstanding arrest warrants for the sex 

offender; 

 
(14) The address of the offender's employer or employers; 

 
(15) The license plate number and a description of all of the offender’s vehicles; and 

 
(16) Whether the offender is an offender against children, as defined by § 40-39-202. 

 
(e) For any violent juvenile sexual offender who is adjudicated for a violent juvenile sexual offense, the information 
concerning the violent juvenile sexual offender set out in (d) shall be confidential, except as otherwise provided under § 
40-39-207(j) and any other provision of law. 

 
(f) The TBI has the authority to promulgate any necessary rules to implement and administer the provisions of this 
section. These rules shall be promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Procedures 
Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5. 

 
 
 

 
40-39-207. Petition to terminate offender participation in registration program; record expungement; 
registration for life for juvenile offenders 

 
(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (a)(3), no sooner than ten (10) years after termination of active 
supervision on probation, parole or any other alternative to incarceration, or no sooner than ten (10) years after 
discharge from incarceration without supervision, an offender required to register under this part may file a request for 
termination of registration requirements with TBI headquarters in Nashville. 

 
(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (a)(1), if a court of competent jurisdiction orders that an offender’s records be expunged 
pursuant to § 40-32-101, and the offense being expunged is an offense eligible for expunction under § 40-32-101, the 
TBI shall immediately remove the offender from the SOR and the offender’s records shall be removed as provided in § 
40-39-209. 

 
(3) Notwithstanding subdivision (a)(1), no sooner than three (3) years after termination of active supervision on 
probation, parole, or any other alternative to incarceration, or no sooner than three (3) years after discharge from 
incarceration without supervision, an offender required to register under this part due to conviction under § 39-16-408 
may file a request for termination of registration requirements with TBI headquarters in Nashville. 

 
(4) Notwithstanding subdivision (a)(1), if a court of competent jurisdiction grants an offender’s petition, filed pursuant to 
§ 40-39-218, for termination of the requirements imposed by this chapter based on the offender’s status as a victim of a 
human trafficking offense, as defined by § 39-13-314, sexual offense, under title 39, chapter 13, part 5, or domestic 
abuse, as defined by § 36-3-601, the Tennessee bureau of investigation shall, immediately upon receiving a copy of the 
order, remove the offender from the SOR. 

 
(b) Upon receipt of the request for termination, the TBI shall review documentation provided by the offender and 
contained in the offender’s file and the SOR, to determine whether the offender has complied with this part. In addition, 
the TBI shall conduct fingerprint-based state and federal criminal history checks, to determine whether the offender has 
been convicted of any additional sexual offenses, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offenses, as defined in § 
40-39-202. 

 
(c) If it is determined that the offender has not been convicted of any additional sexual offenses or violent sexual 
offenses during the ten-year period and that the offender has substantially complied with this part and former part 1 of 
this chapter, the TBI shall remove the offender’s name from the SOR and notify the offender that the offender is no 
longer required to comply with this part. 
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(d) If it is determined that the offender has been convicted of any additional sexual offenses or violent sexual offenses 
during the ten-year period or has not substantially complied with this part and former part 1 of this chapter, the TBI shall 
not remove the offender’s name from the SOR and shall notify the offender that the offender has not been relieved of the 
provisions of this part. 

 
(e) If an offender is denied a termination request based on substantial noncompliance, the offender may petition again 
for termination no sooner than five (5) years after the previous denial. 

 
(f) Immediately upon the failure of a sexual offender to register or otherwise substantially comply with the requirements 
established by this part, the running of the offender’s ten-year reporting period shall be tolled, notwithstanding the 
absence or presence of any warrant or indictment alleging a violation of this part. 

 
(g) An offender whose request for termination of registration requirements is denied by a TBI official may petition the 
chancery court of Davidson County or the chancery court of the county where the offender resides, if the county is in 
Tennessee, for review of the decision. The review shall be on the record used by the TBI official to deny the request. The 
TBI official who denied the request for termination of registration requirements may submit an affidavit to the court 
detailing the reasons the request was denied. 

 
(1) An offender required to register under this part shall continue to comply with the registration, verification and tracking 
requirements for the life of that offender, if that offender: 

 
 

(A) Has one (1) or more prior convictions for a sexual offense, as defined in § 40-39-202, regardless of when the 
conviction or convictions occurred; 

 
(B) Has been convicted of a violent sexual offense, as defined in § 40-39-202; or 

 
(C) Has been convicted of an offense in which the victim was a child of twelve (12) years of age or less. 

 
 

(2) For purposes of subdivision (g)(1)(A): 
 

(A) “Prior conviction” means that the person serves and is released or discharged from, or is serving, a separate 
period of incarceration or supervision for the commission of a sexual offense prior to or at the time of committing another 
sexual offense; 

 
(B) “Prior conviction” includes convictions under the laws of any other state, government or country that, if committed 

in this state, would constitute a sexual offense. If an offense in a jurisdiction other than this state is not identified as a 
sexual offense in this state, it shall be considered a prior conviction if the elements of the offense are the same as the 
elements for a sexual offense; and 

 
(C) “Separate period of incarceration or supervision” includes a sentence to any of the sentencing alternatives set 

out in § 40-35-104(c)(3)-(9). A sexual offense shall be considered as having been committed after a separate period of 
incarceration or supervision if the sexual offense is committed while the person was: 

 
(i) On probation, parole or community correction supervision for a sexual offense; 

 
 

(ii) Incarcerated for a sexual offense; 
 
 

(iii) Assigned to a program whereby the person enjoys the privilege of supervised release into the community, 
including, but not limited to, work release, educational release, restitution release or medical furlough for a sexual 
offense; or 

 
 

(iv) On escape status from any correctional institution when incarcerated for a sexual offense. 
 

(h)(1) Any offender required to register pursuant to this chapter because the offender was convicted of the offense of 
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statutory rape under § 39-13-506 and the offense was committed prior to July 1, 2006, may file a request for termination 
of registration requirements with TBI headquarters in Nashville, if the offender would not be required to register if the 
offense was committed on or after July 1, 2006. 

 
 

(2) Upon receipt of the request for termination, the TBI shall review documentation provided by the offender and 
contained in the offender’s file and the SOR, to determine whether the offender would not be required to register if the 
offender committed the same offense on or after July 1, 2006. In addition, the TBI shall conduct fingerprint-based state 
and federal criminal history checks, to determine whether the offender has been convicted of any additional sexual 
offenses, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offenses, as defined in § 40-39-202. 

 
 

(3) If it is determined that the offender would not be required to register if the offense was committed on or after July 1, 
2006, that the offender has not been convicted of any additional sexual offenses or violent sexual offenses and that the 
offender has substantially complied with this part and any previous versions of this part, the TBI shall remove the 
offender’s name from the SOR and notify the offender that the offender is no longer required to comply with this part. 

 
 

(4) If it is determined that the offender would still be required to register even if the statutory rape had been committed on 
or after July 1, 2006, or that the offender has been convicted of any additional sexual offenses or violent sexual offenses 
during the period of registration or has not substantially complied with this part and the previous versions of this part, the 
TBI shall not remove the offender’s name from the SOR and shall notify the offender that the offender has not been 
relieved of this part. 

 
 

(5) An offender whose request for termination of registration requirements is denied by a TBI official may petition the 
chancery court of Davidson County or the chancery court of the county where the offender resides, if the county is in this 
state, for review of the decision. The review shall be on the record used by the TBI official to deny the request. The TBI 
official who denied the request for termination of registration requirements may submit an affidavit to the court detailing 
the reasons the request was denied. 

 
(i)(1)(A) If a person convicted of an offense was not required to register as an offender prior to August 1, 2007, because 
the person was convicted, discharged from parole or probation supervision or discharged from incarceration without 
supervision prior to January 1, 1995, for an offense now classified as a sexual offense, the person may file a request for 
termination of registration requirements with TBI headquarters in Nashville, no sooner than five (5) years from August 1, 
2007, or the date the person first registered with the SOR, whichever date is later. 

 
 

(B) The procedure, criteria for removal and other requirements of this section shall otherwise apply to an offender 
subject to removal after five (5) years as specified in subdivision (i)(1)(A). 

 
 

(2) If a person convicted of an offense was not required to register as an offender prior to August 1, 2007, because the 
person was convicted, discharged from parole or probation supervision or discharged from incarceration without 
supervision prior to January 1, 1995, for an offense now classified as a violent sexual offense, the person shall continue 
to comply with the registration, verification and tracking requirements for the life of that offender. 

 
(3)(A) If a person convicted of an offense was not required to register as an offender prior to July 1, 2010, for an offense 
now classified as a sexual offense, the person may file a request for termination of registration requirements with TBI 
headquarters in Nashville, no sooner than five (5) years from July 1, 2010, or the date the person first registered with the 
SOR, whichever date is later. 

 
 

(B) The procedure, criteria for removal and other requirements of this section shall otherwise apply to an offender 
subject to removal after five (5) years as specified in subdivision (i)(3)(A). 

 
 

(C) If a person convicted of an offense was not required to register as an offender prior to July 1, 2010, for an offense 
now classified as a violent sexual offense, the person shall continue to comply with the registration, verification and 
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tracking requirements for the life of that offender. 
 
 

(4) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person required to register as any form of a sexual offender in this state due to 
a qualifying offense from another jurisdiction which is classified as a sexual offense in this state may apply for removal 
from the registry pursuant to subdivision (a)(1) following the later of: 

 
 

(A) Ten (10) years from the date of termination of active supervision or probation, parole or any other alternative to 
incarceration, or after discharge from incarceration without supervision; or 

 
 

(B) Five (5) years after being added to the Tennessee sexual offender registry. 
 
 

(j)(1) Violent juvenile sexual offenders who are currently registered as such and who receive a subsequent adjudication 
in juvenile court or a court having juvenile court jurisdiction for one of the offenses listed in § 40-39-202 (28) or a crime 
that if committed in this state would require registration shall be required to register for life. Information concerning the 
violent juvenile sexual offender who commits a subsequent offense listed in § 40-39-202(28), which was formerly 
considered confidential under § 40-39-206(e), shall be deemed public information once the offender reaches the 
offender’s eighteenth birthday. 

 
 

(2) Violent juvenile sexual offenders who are currently registered as such and who, upon reaching the age of eighteen 
(18), are convicted of a sexual offense as set out in § 40-39-202(20) or a violent sexual offense as set out in § 
40-39-202(30) shall be required to register for life. Information concerning the violent juvenile sexual offender who 
commits a subsequent offense listed in § 40-39-202 (20) or § 40-39-202 (30), which was formerly considered 
confidential under § 40-39-206(e), shall be deemed public information. 

 
 

(3) Violent juvenile sexual offenders who reach the age of twenty-five (25), and who have not been adjudicated or 
convicted of a subsequent qualifying offense as set out in subdivisions (j)(1) and (2) or any offense set out in subdivision 
(g)(1)(C), shall be eligible for termination from the SOR. Upon reaching the age of twenty-five (25), the violent juvenile 
sexual offender may apply for removal from the SOR by use of a form created by the TBI. The form will contain a 
statement, sworn to by the offender under the penalty of perjury, that the offender has not been convicted of or 
adjudicated delinquent of any of the offenses set out in subdivisions (j)(1) and (2) or any offense set out in subdivision 
(g)(1)(C). 

 
 

(4) TBI shall also conduct fingerprint-based state and federal criminal history checks to determine whether the violent 
juvenile sexual offender has been convicted of or adjudicated on any prohibited crimes as set out in subdivisions (j)(1) 
and (2) or any offense set out in subdivision (g)(1)(C), including crimes committed in other jurisdictions. 

 
 

(5) If the violent juvenile sexual offender has not been convicted or adjudicated delinquent in any of the prohibited 
crimes, the offender shall be removed from the sex offender registry. 

 
 

 
40-39-208. Violations --Penalty --Venue --Providing records for prosecution. 

 
(a) It is an offense for an offender to knowingly violate any provision of this part. Violations shall include, but not be 

limited to: 
 

(1) Failure of an offender to timely register or report; 
 

(2) Falsification of a TBI registration form; 
 

(3) Failure to timely disclose required information to the designated law enforcement agency; 
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(4) Failure to sign a TBI registration form; 
 

(5) Failure to pay the annual administrative costs, if financially able; 
 

(6) Failure to timely disclose status as a sexual offender or violent sexual offender to the designated law enforcement 
agency upon re-incarceration; 

 
(7) Failure to timely report to the designated law enforcement agency upon release after re-incarceration; 

 
(8) Failure to timely report to the designated law enforcement agency following reentry in this state after deportation; 

and 
 

(9) Failure to timely report to the offender's designated law enforcement agency when the offender moves to another 

state. 
 

(b) A violation of this part is a Class E felony. No person violating this part shall be eligible for suspension of sentence, 
diversion or probation until the minimum sentence is served in its entirety. 

 
(c) The first violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than three hundred fifty dollars ($350) and 
imprisonment for not less than ninety (90) days. 

 
(d) A second violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than six hundred dollars ($600) and imprisonment for 
not less than one hundred eighty (180) days. 

 
(e) A third or subsequent violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than one thousand one hundred dollars 
($1,100) and imprisonment for not less than one (1) year. 

 
(f) A violation of this part is a continuing offense. If an offender is required to register pursuant to this part, venue lies in 
any county in which the offender may be found or in any county where the violation occurred. 

 
(g) In a prosecution for a violation of this section, upon the request of a district attorney general, law enforcement 
agency, the department of correction or its officers or a court of competent jurisdiction and for any lawful purpose 
permitted by this part, the records custodian of SOR shall provide the requesting agency with certified copies of 
specified records being maintained in the registry. 

 
(h) The records custodian providing copies of records to a requesting agency, pursuant to subsection (g), shall attach 
the following certification: 

 
I, , HAVING BEEN APPOINTED BY THE DIRECTOR OF THE TENNESSEE BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION AS 

CUSTODIAN OF THE BUREAU'S CENTRALIZED RECORDS SYSTEM OF SEXUAL AND VIOLENT SEXUAL 

OFFENDERS, REGISTRATION, VERIFICATION AND TRACKING INFORMATION (SOR), HEREBY CERTIFY 

THAT THIS IS A TRUE AND CORRECT COPY OF THE RECORDS MAINTAINED WITHIN SAID REGISTRY. 

 
SIGNATURE _ _ _TITLE     DATE    

 

AFFIX THE BUREAU SEAL HERE 
 
 

 
(i) Sexual offender, violent sexual offender and violent juvenile sexual offender registry files and records maintained by 
the TBI may be digitized. A digitized copy of any original file or record in the TBI's possession shall be deemed to be an 
original for all purposes, including introduction into evidence in all courts or administrative agencies. 

 
(j) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a violent juvenile sexual offender who knowingly violates this part commits a 
delinquent act as defined by the juvenile code. 



40-39-209. Removing records from SOR. 

 
Except as otherwise provided in § 40-39-207(a)-(d), no record shall be removed from the SOR, unless ordered by a 

court of competent jurisdiction as part of an expunction order pursuant to § 40-32-101, so long as the offense is eligible 
for expunction under § 40-32-101. 

 

 
 

40-39-210. Death of offender. 

 
Upon receipt of notice of the death of a registered offender, verified through the registering agency or TBI officials by 

obtaining a copy of the offender's certificate of death, by checking the social security death index or by obtaining a 

copy of an accident report, the TBI shall remove all data pertaining to the deceased offender from the SOR. 
 
 

40-39-211. Establishment of residence or acceptance of employment; violations 
 

(a)(1) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, no sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, 
or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was a minor, shall knowingly establish a primary or 
secondary residence or any other living accommodation, knowingly obtain sexual offender treatment or attend a sexual 
offender treatment program or knowingly accept employment within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of 
any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care center, other child care facility, public park, 
playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public. 

 
(2) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, no sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or 
violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was an adult, shall knowingly establish a primary or 
secondary residence or any other living accommodation or knowingly accept employment within one thousand feet 
(1,000′) of the property line of any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care center, other child care 
facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public. 

 
(b) No sexual offender, violent sexual offender, or violent juvenile sexual offender, as those terms are defined in § 
40-39-202, shall knowingly: 

 
 

(1) Reside within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line on which the offender’s former victims or the victims’ 
immediate family members reside; 

 
 

(2) Come within one hundred feet (100′) of any of the offender’s former victims, except as otherwise authorized by law; 
or 

 
 

(3) Contact any of the offender’s former victims or the victims’ immediate family members without the consent of the 
victim or consent of the victim’s parent or guardian if the victim is a minor being contacted by telephone, in writing, by 
electronic mail, Internet services or any other form of electronic communication, unless otherwise authorized by law. 

 
(c) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this part, no sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent 
sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was a minor, shall knowingly reside with a minor. 
Notwithstanding this subsection (c), the offender may reside or be alone with a minor if the offender is the parent of the 
minor, unless one (1) of the following conditions applies: 

 
 

(1) The offender’s parental rights have been or are in the process of being terminated as provided by law; or 
 
 

(2) Any minor or adult child of the offender was a victim of a sexual offense or violent sexual offense committed by the 
offender. 
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(d)(1) No sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, shall 
knowingly: 

 
(A) Be upon or remain on the premises of any building or grounds of any public school, private or parochial school, 

licensed day care center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field 
available for use by the general public in this state when the offender has reason to believe children under eighteen (18) 
years of age are present; 

 
 

(B) Stand, sit idly, whether or not the offender is in a vehicle, or remain within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the 
property line of any building owned or operated by any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care 
center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by 
the general public in this state when children under eighteen (18) years of age are present, while not having a reason 
or relationship involving custody of or responsibility for a child or any other specific or legitimate reason for being 
there; or 

 
 

(C) Be in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school, licensed day care center, other child care facility 
or recreation center to transport students to or from school, day care, child care, or a recreation center or any related 
activity thereof when children under eighteen (18) years of age are present in the conveyance. 

 
 

(2) Subdivision (d)(1) shall not apply when the offender: 
 
 

(A) Is a student in attendance at the school; 
 
 

(B) Is attending a conference with school, day care, child care, park, playground or recreation center officials as a 
parent or legal guardian of a child who is enrolled in the school, day care center, other child care center or of a child 
who is a participant at the park, playground or recreation center and has received written permission or a request from 
the school’s principal or the facility’s administrator; 

 
 

(C) Resides at a state licensed or certified facility for incarceration, health or convalescent care; or 
 
 

(D) Is dropping off or picking up a child or children and the person is the child or children’s parent or legal guardian 
who has provided written notice of the parent’s offender status to the school’s principal or a school administrator upon 
enrollment. 

 
 

(3) The exemption provided in subdivision (d)(2)(B) shall not apply if the victim of the offender’s sexual offense or violent 
sexual offense was a minor at the time of the offense and the victim is enrolled in the school, day care center, recreation 
center or other child care center that is participating in the conference or other scheduled event. 

 
 

(e) Changes in the ownership or use of property within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of an offender’s 
primary or secondary residence or place of employment that occur after an offender establishes residence or accepts 
employment shall not form the basis for finding that an offender is in violation of the residence restrictions of this section. 

 
 

(f) A violation of this part is a Class E felony. No person violating this part shall be eligible for suspension of sentence, 
diversion or probation until the minimum sentence is served in its entirety. 

 
(g)(1) The first violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than three hundred fifty dollars ($350) and 
imprisonment for not less than ninety (90) days. 

 
(2) A second violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than six hundred dollars ($600) and imprisonment for 
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not less than one hundred eighty (180) days. 
 

(3) A third or subsequent violation of this part is punishable by a fine of not less than one thousand one hundred dollars 
($1,100) and imprisonment for not less than one (1) year. 

 
(4) A violation of this part due solely to a lack of the written permission required pursuant to subdivision (d)(2) shall be 
punishable by fine only. 

 
(h)(1)(A) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this part, it is an offense for three (3) or more sexual 
offenders, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offenders, as defined in § 40-39-202, or a combination thereof, to 
establish a primary or secondary residence together or inhabit the same primary or secondary residence at the same 
time. 

 
(B) Each sexual offender or violent sexual offender who establishes or inhabits a primary or secondary residence in 
violation of subdivision (h)(1)(A) commits a violation of this section. 

 
(C) Subdivision (h)(1)(A) shall not apply if the residence is located on property that is, according to the relevant local, 
county, or municipal zoning law, zoned for a use other than residential or mixed-use. 

 
 

(2)(A) No person, corporation, or other entity shall knowingly permit three (3) or more sexual offenders, as defined in § 
40-39-202, violent sexual offenders, as defined in § 40-39-202, or a combination thereof, while such offenders are 
mandated to comply with the requirements of this part, to establish a primary or secondary residence in any house, 
apartment or other habitation, as defined by § 39-14-401(1)(A), owned or under the control of such person, corporation, 
or entity. 

 
(B) Subdivision (h)(2)(A) shall not apply if the residence is located on property that is, according to the relevant local, 
county, or municipal zoning law, zoned for a use other than residential or mixed-use. 

 
(3) This subsection (h) shall not apply to any residential treatment facility in which more than three (3) sexual offenders, 
as defined in § 40-39-202, violent sexual offenders, as defined in § 40-39-202, or combination thereof, reside following 
sentencing to such facility by a court or placement in such facility by the board of parole for the purpose of in-house 
sexual offender treatment; provided, the treatment facility complies with the guidelines and standards for the treatment 
of sexual offenders established by the sex offender treatment board pursuant to § 39-13-704. 

 
(i) The restrictions set out in subsections (a)-(d) and (k) shall not apply to a violent juvenile sexual offender required to 
register under this part unless otherwise ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

 
(j) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a violent juvenile sexual offender who knowingly violates this section 
commits a delinquent act as defined by the juvenile code. 

 
(k)(1) As used in this subsection, unless the context otherwise requires: 

 
(A) “Alone with” means one (1) or more offenders covered by this subsection is in the presence of a minor or minors in 
a private area; and 

 
(i) There is no other adult present in the area; 

 
(ii) There is another adult present in the area but the adult is asleep, unconscious, or otherwise unable to observe 
the offender and the minor or minors; 

 
 

(iii) There is another adult present in the area but the adult present is unable or unwilling to come to the aid of the 
minor or minors or contact the proper authorities, if necessary; or 

 
(iv) There is another adult present in the area but the adult is also a sexual offender or violent sexual offender 

mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter. 
 

If the offender is in a private area where the offender has the right to be, the offender is not “alone with” a minor or 
minors if the offender is engaged in an otherwise lawful activity and the presence of the minor or minors is incidental, 
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accidental, or otherwise unrelated to the offender’s lawful activity; and 
 

(B) “Private area” means in or on any real or personal property, regardless of ownership, where the conduct of the 
offender is not readily observable by anyone but the minor or minors alone with the offender. 

 
If the private area contains multiple rooms, such as a hotel, motel, or other place of temporary lodging, any room, 
rooms, or other area that the offender occupies with a minor or minors and that otherwise meets the requirements of 
this definition shall be considered a private area. 

 
(2) Unless otherwise permitted by subsection (c) of this section, while mandated to comply with the requirements of this 
chapter, no sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, shall be 
alone with a minor or minors in a private area. 

 
 

 
40-39-212. Registration requirement. 

 
(a) Upon the court's acceptance of a defendant's entry of a plea of guilty or a finding of guilt by a jury or judge after trial, 
and, notwithstanding the absence of a final sentencing and entry of a judgment of conviction, any defendant who is 
employed or practices a vocation, establishes a primary or secondary residence or becomes a student in this state and 
who enters a plea of guilty to a sexual offense as defined by § 40-39-202 or a violent sexual offense as defined by § 
40-39-202, shall be required to register with a registering agency. 

 
(b) Notwithstanding the absence of a final sentencing and entry of a judgment of conviction, any defendant who is 
employed or practices a vocation, establishes a primary or secondary residence or becomes a student in this state and 
who enters a plea of guilty to an offense in another state, county or jurisdiction that may result in a conviction of a sexual 
offense as defined by § 40-39-202 or a violent sexual offense as defined by § 40-39-202, shall be required to register 
with a registering agency. 

 
(c) Upon the court's acceptance of a defendant's entry of a plea of guilty, and notwithstanding the absence of a final 
sentencing and entry of a judgment of conviction, any defendant from another state who enters a plea of guilty to an 
offense in this state that may result in a conviction of a sexual offense as defined by § 40-39-202 or a violent sexual 
offense as defined by § 40-39-202, shall be required to register with a registering agency. 

 
(d) This part shall apply to offenders who received diversion under § 40-35-313 or its equivalent in any other jurisdiction. 

 
 

 
40-39-213. Possession of offender identification required. 

 
(a) Every offender required to register pursuant to this part who is a resident of this state, and who is eligible, shall be 
responsible for obtaining a valid driver license or photo identification card that has been properly designated by the 
department of safety pursuant to § 55-50-353. Every offender eligible to receive the license or identification card shall 
always have the license or identification card in the offender's possession. If the offender is ineligible to be issued a 
driver license or photo identification card, the department shall provide the offender some other form of identification 
card or documentation that, if it is kept in the offender's possession, will satisfy the requirements of this section and § 
55-50-353; such identification must be kept in the offender's possession at all times. If any offender is determined to be 
indigent, an identification card or other documentation in lieu of an identification card shall be issued to the offender at 
no cost. 

 
(b) A violation of this section is a Class E felony punishable by fine only of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250). 

 
(c) Every offender required to register pursuant to this part shall have obtained the documentation required by this 
section and presented it to the offender's registering agency no later than sixty (60) days from the date in which such 
person is required to register pursuant to this part. 

 

(d) Notwithstanding any provision of this section to the contrary, no violent juvenile sexual offender shall be required to 
obtain a photo identification card or a valid driver license that has been properly designated by the department of safety 
pursuant to § 55-50-353, until such violent juvenile sexual offender attains eighteen (18) years of age. 
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40-39-214. Providing information in registry. 

 
(a) Except as provided in subsection (c), immediately after an offender registers or updates a registration, TBI shall 
provide all information in the registry about the offender that is made public pursuant to § 40-39-206(d) to the following: 

 
(1) The United States Attorney General, who shall include that information in the national sex offender registry or 

other appropriate databases; 
 

(2) Appropriate law enforcement agencies, including probation and parole offices, and each school and public 
housing agency, in each area in which the individual resides, is an employee, establishes a physical presence or is a 
student; 

 
(3) Each jurisdiction where the sex offender resides, is an employee, establishes a physical presence or is a student 

and each jurisdiction from or to which a change of residence, employment or student status occurs; 
 

(4) Any agency responsible for conducting employment-related background checks; 
 

(5) Social service entities responsible for protecting minors in the child welfare system; 
 

(6) Volunteer organizations in which contact with minors or other vulnerable individuals might occur; and 
 

(7) Any organization, company or individual who requests such notifications pursuant to procedures established by 
TBI. 

 
(b) In addition to the information provided pursuant to subsection (a), TBI shall provide all information in the registry 
about the offender, regardless of whether the information is made public pursuant to § 40-39-206(d), to the organization 
described in subdivision (a)(l) and appropriate law enforcement agencies. 

 
(c) Notwithstanding subsection (a), TBI is not required to provide information to an organization or individual described 
in subdivision (a)(6) or (a)(7) more frequently than once every five (5) business days and an organization in subdivision 
(a)(6) or (a)(7) may elect to receive notification less frequently than five (5) business days. 

 
 

 
40-39-215. Offenses -- Sexual offenders, violent sexual offenders, or violent juvenile sexual offenders 

--Defense. 

 
(a) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, it is an offense for a sexual offender, violent sexual 
offender or a violent juvenile sexual offender, as those terms are defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was a minor, to 
knowingly: 

 
(1) Pretend to be, dress as, impersonate or otherwise assume the identity of a real or fictional person or character or 

a member of a profession, vocation or occupation while in the presence of a minor or with the intent to attract or entice a 
minor to be in the presence of the offender; 

 
(2) Engage in employment, a profession, occupation or vocation, regardless of whether compensation is received, 

that the offender knows or should know will cause the offender to be in direct and unsupervised contact with a minor; or 
 

(3) Operate, whether authorized to do so or not, any vehicle or specific type of vehicle, including, but not limited to, an 
ice cream truck or emergency vehicle, for the purpose of attracting or enticing a minor to be in the presence of the 
offender. 

 
(b) It is a defense to a violation of this section that the offender was the parent of the minor in the offender's presence. 

 
(c) A violation of this section is a Class A misdemeanor. 



 

 

40-39-216. Restricting access to public library. 

 
(a) Public library directors shall have the authority to reasonably restrict the access of any person listed on the sexual 
offender registry. 

 
(b) In determining the reasonableness of the restrictions, the director shall consider the following criteria: 

 
(1) The likelihood of children being present in the library at the times and places to be restricted; 

 
(2) The age of the victim of the offender; and 

 
(3) The chilling effect of the use of the library by other patrons if the offender is not restricted. 

 
(c) Nothing in this section shall prevent a total ban of the offender's access to a public library so long as the criteria in 
subsection (b) are considered. 

 
(d) The restrictions of this part shall be effective upon the mailing of notice to the address of the offender as listed on the 
sex offender registry. The notice shall state with specificity, the time and space restrictions. The director shall state in the 
notice that the criteria in subsection (b) have been considered. 

 
(e) A registered sex offender who enters upon the premises of a public library in contravention of the restrictions five (5) 
days after mailing of the notice may, at the discretion of the director, be prosecuted for criminal trespass pursuant to § 
39-14-405. 

 
 

 
40-39-217. Community notification system. 

 
(a) (1) Any county, metropolitan form of government or municipality may, by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the legislative 
body, choose to establish a community notification system whereby certain residences, schools and child-care facilities 
within the county, metropolitan form of government or municipality are notified when a person required to register 
pursuant to this part as a sexual offender or violent sexual offender resides, intends to reside, or, upon registration, 
declares to reside within a certain distance of such residences, schools and child-care facilities. 

 
(2) The legislative body of any county, metropolitan form of government or municipality that enacts a community 

notification system pursuant to this subsection (a) may, at the same time as the system is established, enact a 
notification fee of not more than fifty dollars ($50.00) per year from each offender in the county, metropolitan form of 
government or municipality for the purpose of defraying the costs of the community notification. The notification fee shall 
be collected at the same time as the one-hundred-fifty-dollar administrative fee collected pursuant to § 40-39-204(b). 

 
(b) Forms of notification a county, metropolitan form of government or municipality may elect to establish include: 

 
(1) Notification by the sheriff's office or police department to residents, schools and childcare facilities located within 

a specified number of feet from the offender's residence; 
 

(2) A community notification flyer, whether made by regular mail or hand delivered, to all legal residences within the 
specified area; 

 
(3) Posting a copy of the notice in a prominent place at the office of the sheriff and at the police station closest to the 

declared residence of the offender; 
 

(4) Publicizing the notice in a local newspaper, or posting electronically, including the Internet; 
 

(5) Notifying homeowners associations within the immediate area of the declared residence of the offender; or 
 

(6) Any other method reasonably expected to provide notification. 



(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed as prohibiting the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, a sheriff, or a chief of 
police from providing community notification under this section electronically or by publication or periodically to persons 
whose legal residence is more than the applicable distance from the residence of an offender. 

 
 
 

40-39-218. Termination of the registration requirements based on the person’s status as a victim 
 
 

(a) A person who is mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, based solely upon a conviction for 
aggravated prostitution, under § 39-13-516, may petition the sentencing court for termination of the registration 
requirements based on the person’s status as a victim of a human trafficking offense, as defined by § 39-13-314, a 
sexual offense, under title 39, chapter 13, part 5, or domestic abuse, as defined by § 36-3-601. 

 
(b)(1) Upon receiving a petition, the court shall, at least thirty (30) days prior to a hearing on the petition, cause the office 
of the district attorney general responsible for prosecuting the person to be notified of the person’s petition for release 
from the registration requirements. Upon being notified, the district attorney general shall conduct a criminal history 
check on the person to determine if the person has been convicted of a sexual offense or violent sexual offense during 
the period the person was required to comply with the requirements of this chapter. The district attorney general shall 
report the results of the criminal history check to the court, together with any other comments the district attorney 
general may have concerning the person’s petition for release. The district attorney general may also appear and testify 
at the hearing in lieu of, or in addition to, submitting written comments. 

 
(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (b)(1), a petition for termination of the registration requirements mandated by this 
chapter may be filed at any time following a verdict or finding of guilty. If the petition is filed prior to the sentencing 
hearing required by § 40-35-209, the court shall combine the hearing on the petition with the sentencing hearing. When 
the petition is filed prior to the sentencing hearing, the thirty-day notice requirement imposed pursuant to subdivision 
(b)(1) shall not apply; provided, however, that the district attorney general’s office shall be given notice of the petition 
and reasonable time to comply with the requirements of subdivision (b)(1). 

 
(c)(1) If the report of the district attorney general indicates that the petitioner has been convicted of a sexual offense or 
violent sexual offense while mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, the court shall deny the petition 
without conducting a hearing. 

 
(2) If the report of the district attorney general indicates that the petitioner has not been convicted of a sexual offense or 
violent sexual offense while mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, the court shall conduct a hearing 
on the petition. At the hearing, the court shall call such witnesses, including, if applicable, an examining psychiatrist or 
licensed psychologist with health service designation or the prosecuting district attorney general, as the court deems 
necessary to reach an informed and just decision on whether the petitioner should be released from the requirements of 
this chapter. The petitioner may offer such witnesses and other proof at the hearing as is relevant to the petition. 

 
(3) If a petition for release from the requirements of this chapter is denied by the court, the person may not file another 
such petition for a period of three (3) years. 

 
(4) If the court determines that the petitioner has been a victim of a human trafficking offense, as defined by § 39-13-314, 
sexual offense, under title 39, chapter 13, part 5, or domestic abuse, as defined by § 36-3-601, and that the person 
should not be required to comply with the requirements of this chapter, the court shall grant the petition. 

 
(d) Upon the court’s order granting the petition, the petitioner shall file a request for termination of registration 
requirements with the Tennessee bureau of investigation headquarters in Nashville, pursuant to § 40-39-207. 
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PUBLIC CHAPTER NO. 767 
 

SENATE BILL NO. 2043 
 

By Harris 
 

Substituted for: House Bill No. 1429 
 
By Hardaway, DeBerry, Love, McCormick, Casada, Fitzhugh, Carter, Goins, Turner, Akbari, Camper, Miller, Van 
Huss, McManus, Mark White, Keisling, Jernigan, Kane, Eldridge, Coley, Matlock, Spivey, Littleton, Dunlap, Powell, 
Rogers, Parkinson 
 
AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 39; Title 40, Chapter 39, Part 2 and Title 49, Chapter 7, Part 1, 
relative to prohibiting sex offenders from residing in on-campus student residence facilities. 
 
BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: 
 
SECTION 1. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 49, Chapter 7, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new 
section: 
 
No person who is registered, or required to register, as a violent sexual offender or offender against children pursuant 
to the Tennessee Sexual Offender and Violent Sexual Offender Registration, Verification and Tracking Act of 2004, 
compiled in title 40, chapter 39, part 2, shall knowingly establish a primary or secondary residence or any other living 
accommodation in any public institution of higher education's on-campus student residence facilities, including 
dormitories and apartments. 
 
A person who violates this section shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in § 
40-39-208. 
 
SECTION 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2016, the public welfare requiring it. 
 


