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Timeline for Local Governments to Process Complete Applications for Small Wireless Facilities Under State Law
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@ Under Kansas law, timeline applies only to applications containing no more than 25 small wireless facilities.

$ Under certain circumstances, 60-day timeline can be extended at request of local government to 70 days in Utah, 75 days in Tennessee, and 90 days in Virginia.

# Under Arizona law, timeline varies depending on whether project is subject to zoning review (90 days) or not (75 days).

Additional notes:
-- In 11 states, the timeline for processing applications doesn't begin until an application is deemed complete; in the rest, the timeline can be halted if an application 
is deemed incomplete.
-- Delaware not shown because its law, which sets a timeline of 60 days, applies only to its state department of transportation.
-- In some states, separate timelines (not shown here) apply to small wireless facility applications involving requests to construct new utility poles or support 
structures.
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* Timeline varies based on the number of small wireless facilities applied for in period of time specified in state law (Tennessee, Hawaii, Iowa, Minnesota, and
Missouri).

^ Under Florida law, timeline is extended to 90 days if applicant rejects request by local government to use an alternate location.
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Fee Per Facility Doesn't Vary Fee Per Facility Varies Based on Number of Facilities in Application
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* Under Arizona law, maximum fee varies depending on whether application made to cities and towns ($100/$50) or counties ($100/$65).
^ If actual cost of processing application is less than allowed maximum, then local government is limited to recovering actual cost under state law (Arizona, Oklahoma, and Texas).

$200 each (1st 5 in app.)
$100 each (remainder)

$500 total (1st 5 in app.)
$50 each (remainder)

$500 each (1st 5 in app.)
$250 each (remainder)

$650 (single facility)
$350 each (multiple facilities)

FL KS MO, UT#, IN# OH TN, AZ*^, NM, NC$, VA AZ*^

$100 $500 $100

Note: Reimbursement for consultant fees not explicitly addressed in small 
wireless facility law in Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, 
Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio, and Virginia.

$ If either actual cost of processing application or fees charged for processing permit applications for similar construction are less than allowed maximum, then local government is limited to recovering lower amount under state law (North 
Carolina).

Reimbursement of Local Governments for Consultant Fees by 
Applicants Under State Law

# If fees charged for processing permit applications for similar construction are less than allowed maximum, then local government is limited to recovering lower fees under state law (Indiana, Iowa, and Utah).

Additional notes:
-- Maximum fees not set in small wireless facility law in Colorado, Minnesota, and Hawaii.
-- Rhode Island's small wireless facility law caps fees at the lesser of the actual cost of processing the application or the fees charged for processing permits for new utility poles.
-- Delaware not shown because its law, which caps fees at the lesser of actual cost or $100 per small wireless facility, applies only to its state department of transportation.
-- In some states, higher fee caps (not shown here) apply to small wireless facility applications involving requests to construct new utility poles or support structures.

Authorized to Seek Reimbursement for Prohibited from Seeking 
Reimbursement

All Fees Some Fees

Number of Small Wireless Facilities Allowed in Single Application Under State Law

* Local governments explicitly authorized to allow applicants to exceed cap.
^ Maximum varies depending on whether application made to cities and towns (25) or counties (35).
Note: No number set in small wireless facility law in Colorado, Delaware, Indiana, and Rhode Island.

AZ, IN, IA, KS, MO, NC, 
OK, RI, UT

TN, TX

OK^ IA# TX^

$250 $100 each (1st 5 in app.)
$50 each (remainder)

$100 each (1st 5 in app.)
$65 each (remainder)

Maximum Fees Local Governments Authorized to Charge for Processing Small Wireless Facility Applications Under State Law

Fee Charged on Per 
Application Basis

Fee Charged on Per Small Wireless Facilty Basis for Facilities in Same Application


