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• The law directing this report was prompted by the testimony of a child 
sexual abuse survivor whose abuser escaped prosecution because of an 
expired statute of limitation.  

• Statute of Limitation - Defined: 
 They can be thought of as a deadline for bringing a legal action and 

exist in both the criminal and civil law. 
 In the criminal law context, statutes of limitation establish periods 

within which prosecution can be commenced.   
 After the relevant statutes of limitations period expires, the state can 

no longer bring charges, even if more than enough evidence of the 
perpetrator’s guilt is later obtained. 

 



Why do Criminal Statutes of Limitation Exist? 

Purpose: In the criminal justice system, 
according to Tennessee case law, they exist to 
protect the defendant against unfair 
prosecutions after evidence has deteriorated 
and memories have faded and to provide an 
incentive for efficient prosecutorial action in 
criminal cases.  
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Tennessee’s Current Law – Limitations on 
Prosecutions (TCA 40-2-101) 

• Exceptions exist, but in general, for most crimes, 
Tennessee’s criminal statutes of limitations periods 
are based on the felony level of the crime: 
 15 years for a Class A felony; 
 8 years for a Class B felony; 
 4 years for a Class C or Class D felony; 
 2 years for a Class E felony; and  
 1 year for misdemeanors. 
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Exceptions to Tennessee’s General Statutes of 
Limitation 

• First degree murder has no limitation period. 
• Regardless of the level of felony, most felony child sex 

crimes statutes of limitation have been extended to be 
either 15 (victim age 33) or 25 years (victim age 43) 
after the victim becomes 18 years of age. 

• TN’s Statute of Limitation for Rape Offenses: if the 
crime is reported within the first three years after it 
occurs, the statute of limitation is eliminated; if not, 
the limitation period otherwise in place applies. (more 
on this later) 
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Why do child sexual abuse crimes have longer 
statutes of limitation? 

• Research shows that victims of child sexual 
abuse often do not disclose the sexual abuse 
until much later in life, if they disclose at all. 

• According to some research, only one-third of 
victims disclose in childhood and another one-
third never discloses the abuse; the remaining 
one-third disclose in adulthood, with age 48 as 
the median age of disclosure of child sexual 
abuse.  
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Recent Example - Pennsylvania 2018 Grand Jury 
Report on Child Sexual Abuse in the Catholic Church 

• “We ask the Pennsylvania legislature to stop shielding child 
sexual predators behind the criminal statute of limitations.  
Thanks to a recent amendment, the current law permits victims 
to come forward until age 50. That’s better than it was before, 
but still not good enough; we should just get rid of it.  We heard 
from plenty of victims who are now in their 50’s, 60’s, 70’s, 
and even one who was 83 years old….No piece of legislation 
can predict the point at which a victim of child sex abuse will 
find the strength to come forward.“ 

• Only 2 out of the 301 priests named in Pennsylvania's 2018 
report on child sex abuse have been charged with crimes as the 
rest are protected by the state's statute of limitations. 

 
 

7 



Compared to Other States 
• The national trend is to eliminate the criminal statutes 

of limitations on most child sexual abuse crimes. 
• 10 states have eliminated the statute of limitation for all 

felony child sexual abuse crimes;   
• 31 states have eliminated the statute of limitation for 

some but not all felony child sexual abuse crimes;  
• 9 states still have a statute of limitation on all felony 

child sexual abuse crimes. 
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Statute of Limitation for the Crime of Child Rape 
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Two Common Concerns with Elimination of 
Child Sex Crime Statutes of Limitation 

1. Cost  
• Fiscal Notes generally show that the cost is either 

insignificant or relatively low 

2. Unfair Prosecutions of Old Crimes 
• Defendants retain all substantive and procedural rights  
• Must still ultimately be proven beyond a reasonable 

doubt  
• Studies show that child sexual abuse false accusations 

are rare 
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Recommendations in Draft Report 

• The first recommendation listed in the Summary and 
Recommendations Section involves the second degree 
murder statutes of limitation, which was not the 
primary focus of this report but was discovered as an 
issue in interviews with District Attorneys. 

• The draft report recommends that the state may want 
to consider either extending or eliminating the 
statute of limitation for second degree murder. 
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Second Degree Murder Statutes of Limitation 
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Recommendations in Draft Report 
The second recommendation is setup as a choice between two 
alternative policy options: 
A. Tennessee should consider fully eliminating the statute of 

limitation for most felony child sex abuse crimes, as has 
already been done in a majority of other states.   

B. Alternatively, Tennessee should consider eliminating the 
statute of limitation for felony child sexual abuse crimes in 
circumstances where corroborating evidence is obtained by the 
prosecutor.  If corroborating evidence is not obtained, then the 
statute of limitations otherwise in place would apply. 
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Correction of Drafting Error in Current Law 

The final recommendation in the report 
addresses the correction of a drafting error in 
Tennessee’s current law, found at Tennessee 
Code Annotated, Section 40-2-101(h)(2) and 
(i)(2), which has the unintentional effect of 
shortening the statute of limitation for rape 
offenses committed against minors. 
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Example of the Need for Correction of the Drafting Error   

• The following example illustrates the issue:  if a 5 year old child 
is raped in 2015, and does not notify authorities within the first 
3 years, then she would have until age 20 to report the crime 
and for the prosecution to be commenced; whereas under the 
statute of limitation in place prior to the drafting error, the child 
rape victim would have until age 43 (i.e., 25 years after turning 
18) to report the crime and for prosecution to be commenced.   

• A review of the committee hearings on the bill and interviews of 
stakeholders indicate that this was not the intent of the law. 
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