

MINUTES STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Special Called Virtual Meeting March 4, 2024 1:00 pm CT Video Recording:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6yqPUefsew

Note: These minutes correspond to the video recording. Each item has a minute counter assigned to the subject location in the video file.

MEMBER	PRESENT	ABSENT	Note
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair		Х	Excused
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	X		
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove – Chair Emeritus	X		
Mr. Ryan Holt	X		
Mr. Steven Gentile	X		
Mr. Larry Jensen	X		
Ms. Krissi McInturff	X		
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour	X		
Mr. Nate Morrow		Х	Joined at Item IA
Mr. Warren Wells	X		
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	X		

I. Letter of Necessity	(00:04:17-00:06:00)
------------------------	---------------------

Ms. Angela Sanders, General Counsel for the State Board

II. Consent Items (00:06:01-00:07:09)

A. Adoption of Agenda

Chair Bob Eby presented the item. Mr. Larry Jensen provided the motion to adopt the agenda. Mr. Ryan Holt provided the second. This motion required a roll call vote, and the motion was approved.

Motion: Jensen Second: Holt				
MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair				Х
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Х			
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove – Chair Emeritus	Х			
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х			
Mr. Larry Jensen	Х			
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Х			
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour	Х			
Mr. Nate Morrow				Х
Mr. Warren Wells	Х			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Х			

III. First Reading Items (Roll Call Vote on All)

A. English as a Second Language (ESL) Program Policy 3.207 (00:07:10-00:24:28)

Ms. Jennifer Jordan, assistant commissioner of special education and intervention for the Department of Education, presented the item. Ms. Lillian Hartgrove made a motion to accept the item on first reading. Mr. Jordan Mollenhour provided the second. Ms. Lillian Hartgrove requested additional clarity on the cut score language and timeline and shared language clarification feedback. Ms. Joann Runion, senior director of intervention programs for the Department of Education, replied the language comes directly from the new vendor and offered to take another look at the language. Chair Bob Eby offered language clarification feedback and asked about vendor contract length. Ms. Jennifer Jordan replied they are typically five years. This one is three years with an option to extend another two years. This motion required a roll call vote, and the motion was approved.

Item/Rule: ESL Program Policy				
Motion: Hartgrove				
Second: Mollenhour				
MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair				Х
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Х			
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove – Chair	Χ			
Emeritus				
Mr. Ryan Holt	Χ			
Mr. Larry Jensen	Х			
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Χ			
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour	Χ			
Mr. Nate Morrow	Χ			
Mr. Warren Wells	Χ			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Χ			

B. English as a Second Language (ESL) Programs Rule 0520-01-19 (00:24:29-00:27:45)

Ms. Jennifer Jordan presented the item. Mr. Ryan Holt made a motion to accept the item on first reading. Mr. Warren Wells provided the second. Ms. Lillian Hartgrove requested adding a definition for cut scores to increase clarity. Ms. Jennifer Jordan agreed to add the definition. This motion required a roll call vote, and the motion was approved.

Item/Rule: ESL Programs Rule				
Motion: Holt				
Second: Wells				
MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair				Х
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Χ			
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove – Chair	Х			
Emeritus				
Mr. Ryan Holt	Χ			
Mr. Larry Jensen	Χ			
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Χ			
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour	Χ			
Mr. Nate Morrow	Χ			
Mr. Warren Wells	Χ			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Χ			

IV. Final Reading Items (Roll Call Vote on All)

A. Promotion and Retention Rule 0520-01-03-.16

(00:27:46-00:43:59)

Ms. Angela Sanders presented this item. Chair Bob Eby made a motion to accept the item on final reading. Mr. Jordan Mollenhour provided the second. Mr. Jordan Mollenhour shared parent and legal guardian notification clarification feedback. Ms. Angela Sanders agreed to incorporate the requested edit. Mr. Jordan Mollenhour asked a question about tutoring related to the ground 1 appeal and asked about LEA funding. Ms. Angela Sanders clarified there is no fiscal impact and Ms. Shannon Gordon, chief operating officer with the Department of Education, concurred. Ms. Lillian Hartgrove shared LEA feedback about tutoring grant funding ending and a letter of support from the East Core Region, including 21 Directors of Schools. Mr. Jordan Mollenhour made a motion to amend the rule language based on his above feedback. Mr. Ryan Holt provided the second. This motion required a roll call vote, and the motion was approved.

Item/Rule: Promotion and				
Retention Rule Amendment				
Motion: Mollenhour				
Second: Holt				
MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair				Х
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Х			
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove – Chair	Х			
Emeritus				
Mr. Ryan Holt	X			

Mr. Larry Jensen	Х		
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Х		
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour	Х		
Mr. Nate Morrow	Χ		
Mr. Warren Wells	Х		
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Х		

Item/Rule: Promotion and Retention Rule as amended				
Motion: Eby				
Second: Mollenhour				
MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair				Х
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Х			
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove – Chair	Х			
Emeritus				
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х			
Mr. Larry Jensen	Х			
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Х			
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour	Х			
Mr. Nate Morrow	Х			
Mr. Warren Wells	X			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Х			

B. A Resolution of the Tennessee State Board of Education

(00:44:00-01:35:18)

Mr. Ryan Holt presented the item and made a motion to adopt the resolution. Mr. Larry Jensen provided a second. Ms. Lillian Hartgrove, Chair Bob Eby, Mr. Ryan Holt, Mr. Nate Morrow, and Ms. Krissi McInturff discussed whether the language should focus on students in grades K-2 or K-3. The State Board Members ultimately decided to maintain the originally proposed grades K-3 language to balance flexibility based on assessments and their intent to provide interventions as early as possible. Mr. Jordan Mollenhour, Chair Bob Eby, and other members discussed potential language edits, but they were ultimately retracted based on member feedback. This motion required a roll call vote, and the motion was approved.

Item/Rule: Resolution				
Motion: Holt				
Second: Jensen				
MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair				Х
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	X			
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove – Chair	Х			
Emeritus				
Mr. Ryan Holt	X			
Mr. Larry Jensen	X			

Ms. Krissi McInturff	Х		
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour	Х		
Mr. Nate Morrow	Х		
Mr. Warren Wells	Х		
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Х		

V. Adjournment

This meeting was conducted electronically and included board members participating by electronic means of communication. Information regarding public participation in the meeting can be obtained in the Board Meetings policy here.

State Board of Education 8th Floor – Davy Crockett Tower 500 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243 (615) 741-2966 www.tn.gov/sbe