

MINUTES STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Special Called Virtual Meeting Nashville, TN 37243 July 15, 2024 1:00 pm CT Video Recording:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8T-qXgQXMY

Note: Each item below has a timestamp range that corresponds with the video recording above.

MEMBER	PRESENT	ABSENT	Note
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	Χ		
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Χ		
Mr. Ryan Holt	Χ		
Dr. Steven Gentile	Χ		Dr. Victoria
			Harpool - designee
Mr. Larry Jensen	Χ		
Ms. Marsha Johnson	Χ		
Dr. Ina Maxwell	Χ		
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Χ		
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour		Х	Excused
Mr. Warren Wells	Χ		
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Χ		

I. Letter of Necessity

(00:02:51-00:03:53)

Ms. P. Danielle Nellis, Deputy General Counsel for the State Board

Welcome and Comments

(00:03:54-00:06:45)

Mr. Bob Eby, Chair of the State Board

Dr. Sara Heyburn Morrison, Executive Director of the State Board

Chair Bob Eby welcomed Dr. Ina Maxwell as the newest State Board member. Dr. Sara Heyburn Morrison and Chair Bob Eby shared their reflections on attending the Education Commission of the States Conference, including that Dolly Parton's Imagination Library received an award.

II. Consent Items

(00:06:46-00:08:20)

A. Adoption of Agenda

Chair Bob Eby presented the item. Mr. Warren Wells provided the motion to accept the consent agenda, and Vice Chair Darrell Cobbins provided the second. This motion required a roll call vote, and the motion was approved.

Item/Rule: Consent Items				
Motion: Wells				
Second: Cobbins				
MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	Х			
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Х			
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х			
Mr. Larry Jensen	Х			
Ms. Marsha Johnson	Х			
Dr. Ina Maxwell	Х			
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Х			
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour				Х
Mr. Warren Wells	Х			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Х			

III. Final Reading Items

(00:08:21-00:19:46)

A. Residential Mental Health Facilities Emergency Rule 0520-01-20-.02 through -.05

Scott Indermuehle, senior director of IDEA and NEP programs for the Department of Education, presented the item. Mr. Larry Jensen provided the motion to accept the item, an emergency rule, on first and final reading, and Ms. Krissi McInturff provided the second. Chair Bob Eby, Mr. Larry Jensen, and Ms. Marsha Johnson asked clarifying implementation questions. Mr. Larry Jensen requested a follow-up about a constituent in the IEA program, and SBE staff agreed to follow up. This motion required a roll call vote, and the motion was approved.

Item/Rule: Residential Mental Health
Facilities Emergency Rule 0520-01-20.02 through -.05
Motion: Jensen
Second: McInturff

MEMBER	AYE	NO	PNV	Absent
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	Х			
Ms. Laurel Cox – Student Member	Х			
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х			
Mr. Larry Jensen	Х			
Ms. Marsha Johnson	Х			
Dr. Ina Maxwell	Х			
Ms. Krissi McInturff	Х			
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour				X
Mr. Warren Wells	Х			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chair	Х			

IV. Adjournment

State Board of Education 8th Floor – Davy Crockett Tower 500 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243-1050 (615) 741-2966 www.tn.gov/sbe