

# MINUTES STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION June Special Called Meeting Nashville, TN 37243 June 22, 2023 1:00 pm CT Video Recording:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRQ4l1cN81Q

**Note:** These minutes correspond to the video recording. Each item has a minute counter assigned to the subject location in the video file.

MEMBER	PRESENT	ABSENT
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	Х	
Mr. Nicholas Darnell	X	
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove	X	
Mr. Ryan Holt	X	
Dr. Bob Smith (Victoria Hartgrove	Х	
designee)		
Mr. Larry Jensen	X	
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour		excused
Mr. Nate Morrow	X	
Mr. Warren Wells	X	
Mr. Bob Eby - Chairman	Х	

### I. Letter of Necessity

(0:15:55-0:17:10)

Ms. Angela Sanders, General Counsel for the State Board

II. Consent Items (0:17:11-0:20:24)

### A. Adoption of Agenda

This is item was presented by Chairman Bob Eby. Mr. Darrell Cobbins provided the motion. Mr. Nate Morrow provided the second.

Item/Rule: Adoption of Agenda					
Motion: Mr. Cobbins Second: Mr. Morrow					
MEMBER	YEA	NAY	PNV	Absent	Technical Difficulties
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	Х				
Mr. Nicholas Darnell	Х				

Ms. Lillian Hartgrove	Х			
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х			
Mr. Larry Jensen	Х			
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour			Х	
Mr. Nate Morrow	Х			
Mr. Warren Wells	Х			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chairman	Х			

## III. First Reading Items

(0:20:25-0:36:01)

# A. High School Policy 2.103

Ms. Christy Wall, Assistant Commissioner of Academic and Instructional Strategy for the Department of Education presented the item. Both Chairman Eby and Ms. Hargrove asked questions about timelines and consistency across districts. Due to limitations of the law, districts have broad authority over the exams. Mr. Cobbins provided the motion. Mr. Ryan Holt provided the second. This item required a roll-call vote.

Item/Rule: High School Policy 2.103	
Motion: Mr. Cobbins Second: Mr. Holt	
MEMBER	YEA

MEMBER	YEA	NAY	PNV	Absent	Technical Difficulties
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	Х				
Mr. Nicholas Darnell	Х				
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove	Х				
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х				
Mr. Larry Jensen	Х				
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour				Х	
Mr. Nate Morrow	Х				
Mr. Warren Wells	Х				
Mr. Bob Eby - Chairman	Х				

### IV. Final Reading Items

## A. Professional Assessment for Tennessee Educators Policy 5.105 (0:36:02-0:46:04)

Ms. Taylor Reid, Director of Licensure for the Department of Education, presented this item. Ms. Lillian Hartgrove made the motion. Mr. Warren Wells provided the second. This item required a roll-call vote.

Item/Rule: Professional Assessment for Tennessee Educators Policy 5.105 Motion: Ms. Hartgrove Second: Mr. Wells

MEMBER	YEA	NAY	PNV	Absent	Technical Difficulties
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	X				

Mr. Nicholas Darnell	Х			
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove	Х			
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х			
Mr. Larry Jensen				X
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour			Х	
Mr. Nate Morrow	Х			
Mr. Warren Wells	Х			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chairman	Х			

# B. Educator Licensure – Permits Emergency Rule 0520-02-03-.12

(0:46:06-0:50:18)

Ms. Taylor Reid, Director of Licensure for the Department of Education, presented this item. Mr. Holt made the motion. Ms. Hartgrove seconded the motion. This item required a roll-call vote.

Item/Rule: Educator Licensure – Permits Emergency Rule 0520-02-03-.12

Motion: Mr. Holt Second: Ms. Hartgrove

MEMBER	YEA	NAY	PNV	Absent	Technical Difficulties
Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair	Х				
Mr. Nicholas Darnell	Х				
Ms. Lillian Hartgrove	Х				
Mr. Ryan Holt	Х				
Mr. Larry Jensen					Х
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour				Χ	
Mr. Nate Morrow	Х				
Mr. Warren Wells	Х				
Mr. Bob Eby - Chairman	Х				

# C. Textbook and Instructional Materials Waiver Request: Sevier County Schools (0:50:19-0:54:51) Ms. Catherine Johnson, Deputy Director of Academic Policy, presented this item. Mr. Larry Jensen made the motion. Mr. Wells seconded the motion. This item required a roll-call vote.

Item/Rule: Textbook and
Instructional Materials Waiver
Request: Sevier County Schools
Motion: Mr. Jensen

Second: Mr. Wells

 MEMBER
 YEA
 NAY
 PNV
 Absent
 Technical Difficulties

 Mr. Darrell Cobbins – Vice Chair
 X

 Mr. Nicholas Darnell
 X

 Ms. Lillian Hartgrove
 X

 Mr. Ryan Holt
 X

Mr. Larry Jensen				X
Mr. Jordan Mollenhour			Χ	
Mr. Nate Morrow	X			
Mr. Warren Wells	Х			
Mr. Bob Eby - Chairman	Х			

This meeting was conducted electronically and included board members participating by electronic means of communication. Information regarding public participation in the meeting can be obtained in the Board Meetings policy <u>here</u>.

State Board of Education

5<sup>th</sup> Floor – Davy Crockett Tower

500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1050

(615) 741-2966

www.tn.gov/sbe