TENNESSEE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION			
REGISTERED SEX OFFENDERS			1808
ADOPTED:	REVISED:	MONITORING:	
July 28, 2017		Review: Annuall	¥

Individuals registered as sex offenders in Tennessee or any other state are prohibited from the premises of any authorized charter school, except for the limited circumstances stated in this policy and/or in state law.⁴ Each authorized charter school shall adopt policies and procedures, in accordance with state law, for responding to sex offenders on the school's campus or in the nearby vicinity.

Employment. An individual listed by the state of Tennessee or any other state as a registered sex offender is ineligible for employment within any authorized charter school.

Presence on School Property. No registered sex offender, other than a student enrolled in the school in question, shall come on, about, or within 1,000 feet of a local school's property line, except as provided by state law.² Neither this policy nor state law impose any duty upon a school leader or any other employee of the school to review the sex offender registry for individuals who may come upon the property.

Parents Who Are Registered Sex Offenders. A parent or legal guardian of a child who is enrolled in the school may attend a conference with school officials with the written permission of the school's leader or a designated administrator. An offender may come within the 1,000 feet limit provided that the individual is dropping off or picking up a child or children enrolled in the school.

Legal References: ⁺T.C.A. § 40-39-201, et seq. ²T.C.A. § 40-39-211