

A Resolution of the Tennessee State Board of Education

Sponsored By Mr. Nick Darnell,

Co-sponsored by Messrs. Bob Eby, Mike Edwards, and Mrs. Lillian Hartgrove.

Whereas, The State Board of Education, in TCA 49-1-302 is authorized to advise the Governor and General Assembly on matters of education; and

Whereas, the State of Tennessee is in the midst of an unprecedented public health emergency; and

Whereas, school districts from Memphis to Mountain City have had to educate students remotely, or using a hybrid approach resulting in extraordinary challenges in educational delivery; and

Whereas, the need for meaningful, state-level student learning information is as critical now as it has ever been to determine both where students have experienced learning losses in the wake of the public health crisis, as well as where students and schools are excelling despite the circumstances; and

Whereas, in the midst of the challenges wrought by this pandemic, many of the usual educator, school and district accountability measures based on state assessments, and required in TCA 49-1 part 6 would be difficult to implement and unsuitable in the 2020-21 school year; and

Whereas, accountability must be consistent with the State's Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) Plan previously submitted to the US Department of Education (USED); now, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that Governor Bill Lee, the Tennessee Department of Education, and The Tennessee General Assembly are hereby requested to administer state assessments for the 2020 – 2021 school year, and that the results of these tests not be used for any punitive, accountability-related purposes, including for educators, schools or districts,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Governor Bill Lee, the Tennessee Department of Education, and the Tennessee General Assembly are formally requested to submit to the US Department of Education a waiver request for the accountability aspects of Tennessee's previously submitted ESSA plan.

Adopted: November 6th, 2020.

Fileen Hartquore

Lillian Hartgrove Member for the 6th Congressional District

Chair