
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 

It’s Not Worth It!
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DUI  FACTS 
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) includes not 
only alcohol, but any intoxicant, narcotic drug, 
or other drug producing central nervous system 
effects – including prescription drugs. 
 
Alcohol is alcohol, regardless of whether it is 
hard liquor, beer or wine coolers. 

 
A cold shower or cup of coffee will not sober 
you up. 

 
Alcohol affects your physical mobility, the ability 
to reason and use of good judgment. 

 
Large amounts of alcohol can do major damage 
to your heart, liver, stomach, and other critical 
organs. 

 
Nobody reacts the same way to alcohol.  Body 
weight, time of day, body chemistry, and mental 
state all affect a person’s physical reaction to 
drinking alcohol. 

 
Large amounts of alcohol consumed in a short 
period of time can be lethal not only for you but 
your spouse, your children, your family, and 
your friends.  Is it worth the risk? 

 
If you are going to drink alcohol, ALWAYS 
assign a designated driver. 
 

UNDER 21? 
DRINKING IS AGAINST THE LAW 
Forty-one percent of fatal crashes involving 
teenagers occur at night between 9:00 PM and 
6:00 AM. 
 
If you are between the ages of 13-17 and found 
to have possessed, consumed, or sold either 
alcohol or drugs, your driving privileges will be 
suspended for one year or until age 17, 
whichever is longer. 
 

If you are between the ages of 18-20, and are 
convicted of purchasing alcohol, you will lose 
your driver’s license for a period of one year. 
 

DUI  COSTS 
 

A single DUI conviction could cost you as much 
as $5,000 or more after all fines and fees have 
been paid. 
 
Potential costs of a DUI conviction include: 
 
 Fines 
 Court costs 
 Bail 
 Towing and vehicle storage fees  
 Attorney fees 
 Alcohol education program enrollment 
 Driver license reinstatement fees 
 Ignition Interlock Program costs 
 Higher insurance premiums and SR-22 form 

 
 
Instead of throwing your money away on a DUI 
conviction, think of all the wonderful things you 
could buy with $5,000: 
 
 College tuition 
 Family vacation 
 Down payments for homes or cars 
 Home entertainment system with high 

definition big screen television 
 Pair of season tickets to a professional 

sports team 
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DUI  STATISTICS 
 

 Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause 
of death among persons between the ages 
of 3 and 33.  (NHTSA*) 

 
 Approximately 14% of all children killed in 

motor vehicle crashes are victims of 
alcohol-impaired driving.  (NHTSA*) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 In the United States, an average of one 
person is killed in an alcohol-impaired crash 
every 48 minutes.  Those deaths represent 
32% of all traffic fatalities.  (NHTSA*) 

 
 Roughly three in every ten Americans will 

be involved in an alcohol-impaired crash at 
some time in their lives.  (NHTSA*) 

 
 Approximately 31% of all Tennessee 

roadway fatalities are alcohol-impaired.  
(NHTSA*) 

 
 An estimated 513,000 people are injured in 

alcohol-impaired crashes each year which is 
an average of 59 people per hour or 
approximately one person every minute.  
(MADD Tennessee)  

 

DUI – 1ST OFFENSE 
 

Misdemeanor Conviction 
Fine:  $350 - $1,500 
Jail Time:  48 Hours – 11 Months, 29 Days 
Driver’s License:  Suspended for 1 Year 
Community Service:  Must remove litter from 
a state highway for a period of 24 hours while 
wearing an orange-colored vest bearing the 
words, “I AM A DRUNK DRIVER.” 
 
Ignition Interlock Program:  An Ignition 
Interlock may be required for some offenses. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

DUI – 2ND OFFENSE 
 

Misdemeanor Conviction 
Fine:  $600 - $3,500 
Jail Time:  45 Days – 11 Months, 29 Days 
Driver’s License:  Suspended for 2 Years 
 
 
If second conviction occurs within 5 years of the 
first: 
 
 
Ignition Interlock:  Enrollment for up to one 
year in the Ignition Interlock Program following 
reinstatement of driver’s license. 
 
Loss of Vehicle:  Vehicle subject to seizure 
and/or forfeiture. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

DUI – 3RD OFFENSE 
 
Misdemeanor Conviction 
Fine:  $1,100 - $10,000 
Jail Time:  120 Days – 11 Months, 29 Days 
Driver’s License:  Suspended for 6-10 Years 
 
Ignition Interlock:  May be required 
 
Loss of Vehicle:  Vehicle subject to seizure 
and/or forfeiture. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

DUI – 4TH OFFENSE 
 
Felony Conviction 
Fine:  $3,000 - $15,000 
Jail Time:  Not Less Than 150 Consecutive 
Days 
Driver’s License:  Suspended for 8 Years 
 
Ignition Interlock:  May be required 
 
Loss of Vehicle:  Vehicle subject to seizure 
and/or forfeiture. 
 
 

 
* National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
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