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Overview

« Laws/rules, important definitions, due
dates, rates, exemptions, etc.

TAX OVERVIEW

- Reporting requirements and filing

FILING . -
Instructions

« Where to go to find information on our
RESOURCES website, contact information, chat
Q&A
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Law: Sales Tax Basics

Business (with nexus in TN) COllects/remits sales tax for:

sl  Selling/leasing/renting Tangible Personal Property

+ Sales of these items are subject to tax unless specifically exempted by law. Gross sales
over $4,800 a year - required to register for sales tax

md  Selling certain taxable services

* Services are generally exempt from the tax unless specifically enumerated by law OR
are necessary to complete the sale of a taxable good/service. Sales of services exceeding
$1,200 a year

meed  Selling amusements

+ Charges for entering or engaging in any kind of recreational activity unless specifically
exempted by law.

=]  Selling digital products specified in the law

* There is a special local rate for these items. Digital versions of tangible products otherwise
subject to the tax are taxed at the regular rate.
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Definitions

Tangible Personal Property (TPP) - property that can be seen, weighed,

measured, felt, or touched, or that is in any other manner perceptible to the senses.

Services Subject to Sales Tax - Services specifically enumerated by law including: Repair or
installation of TPP (incl. computer software), Lodging services and rooms, Short-term space rental
for making sales, Cleaning of TPP (incl. animal bathing), Parking and storing of motor vehicles,
Telecommunication services, Ancillary Telecommunication services, Enriching of uranium
materials.

Food/Food Ingredients - Food and food ingredients taxed at a reduced rate of 4%
include substances, whether in liquid, concentrated, solid, frozen, dried, or
dehydrated form; sold for ingestion or chewing by humans; consumed for their taste
or nutritional value; and are not specifically excluded items.

Amusements - Sales Tax is applicable to charges for entering or engaging in any kind of
recreational activity, admissions to sporting events, musical & theatrical performances, & other

amusements, and charges for using tangible personal property for amusements, sports,
entertainment, or recreational activities such (i.e. golf carts, tennis courts, or bowling shoes.)
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Definitions

Sales price includes the seller’s:

TN

®

Cost of the property sold and materials used

Labor costs

Interest

Losses

Transportation costs (incoming freight)

Taxes imposed on the seller

Any expenses of the seller

Charges for any services necessary to complete the sale
Delivery charges

Installation charges




Out-of-State Dealers

Currently, out-of-state dealers with no physical
presence in Tennessee who make $100,000 or more
in sales to Tennessee customers must register and
collect Tennessee sales and use tax.

« The $100,000 threshold includes all retail sales made by the out-
of-state dealer, including exempt sales, but does not include
sales for resale.

« Report by destination delivery
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Registering

* Register on TNTAP

« Areturn will be due
for the period in
which the account

opens (i.e. if an account
is opened in October, a
monthly return will be
due starting in November)

 Returns have to be
filed every filing
period even if no
sales were made

 The business is
required to close
the account within
15 days of the el . ,
CIose/saIe date Of Approved Alcohol & Beer Brands Information and Inquiries Help
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TNTAP for Taxpayers

www.tn.gov/revenue > TNTAP

v' Register/File/Pay for -
all tax accounts . \ More Relietfor M estions?

Small esses

v Schedule payments in
advance

v' Automatic correction
of common errors

v Amend returns

v" Access returns,
certificates, and letters

v" Much more!




Filing Frequency and Due Dates

Sales Tax accounts are automatically set
up for monthly filing.

DUE: 20th day of the month following the end of the reporting period

However, effective July 1, 2021, businesses with a sales tax liability over a
12-month period that averages $1,000 or less per month may choose to
file monthly or quarterly.

QUARTERLY FILINGS DUE: 20th of the month following the end of the quarter
(January 20, April 20, July 20, October 20)

12 month filing history required before requesting a change to quarterly filing

‘- Contact us to for questions about filing frequency
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Definition: Single Article

Any item that is a separate unit, apart from any accessories, extra
parts, etc., and is capable of being sold as an independent item or

as a common unit of measure.

- Reported on Schedules B&C of the return

Entire price taxed at 7% state rate

$1600 $1600 -
rate State
SSA

rate
2.75%

Example A: Sales price $25,000
(local rate of $2.25%)

$25000 x 7% = $1,750
$1600 x 2.25% = $36
$1600 x 2.75% = $44
Total tax due = $1,830

Example B: Sales price $3,000
(local rate of $2.25%)

$3000x 7% = $210

$1600 x 2.25% = $36
$1400 x 2.75% = $38
Total tax due = $284
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Return Overview

Account > Make a Payment
123456789-SLC > View/File Returns < File’/amend return for
Balance > Additional Actions previous period
Sales and Use Return for 30-Sep- > Ffilenow < File current period return
2021 . £
i Sales and Use Tax Retum choositto SUbrz:‘:df(I)Ire
via software v
20-Oct-2021 — or input return data
Fle Upload

Info about software
ven d ors. Will you be submitting a file provided by your software vendor? : Yes No
tn.gov/revenue >

E-filing Information >

EIeCtronic Flllng USing Cancel Save Draft ¢ Previous Nedt
a Software Vendor

!

I



Return - Overview

how Errors
Location ID Doing Business As
——— 000000000 000000000

All amounts are rounded to the nearest whole dollar.

Sales

Do you have any sales to report for this period? '

Yes

Cancel

No

TN

®
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Return - Sales

LINE
1. Enter gross sales (not to include sales tax) for the period

= Cash sales, Credit sales, Conditional sales, Sales exempt from tax,

Leases and rentals of tangible personal property, Charges for
fabricating personal property for consumers, Sales of specified

digital products, Taxable services

2. Enter amount of property purchased by the taxpayer using their resale
certificate, but was used instead of being resold

3. Enter amount of items purchased out-of-state for use

4. Enter sales of items severed from Earth (coal and other minerals)

5. System calculates the total of lines 1-4

TN
13
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Schedule A - Exempt Transactions

You must answer yes or no to the question regarding exempt
transactions. Choosing ‘yes’ populates Schedule A.

Schedule A - Exempt Transactions

Do you have any exempt transactions to report? - Yes
y p

No

TN

®
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Schedule A - Exempt Transactions

The law provides for the deduction from gross sales and purchases
those items specifically exempt from tax.

LINE

1.

2
3.
4

Enter net food sales

. Enter sales for resale (supported by Resale Certificate)

Enter sales paid with SNAP/EBT

. Enter sales to exempt entities (non-profit sales supported by TN

exemption certificate or a Federally issued 501(c)(3) certificate,
government sales supported by government exemption form)

Enter merchandise returned which have been included on
current or previous return

Enter sales of Industrial machinery, research and development
machinery, agricultural items, etc (supported by corresponding
exemption certificate)
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Schedule A - Exempt Transactions

LINE

7. Enter sales in Interstate Commerce (sales originating in TN where
the purchaser takes possession outside of TN for use or
consumption outside this state

8. Enter repossessions (enter portion of unpaid principal balances
due in excess of $500, see Schedule B, Lines 2 and 6)

9. Enter other deductions not included elsewhere
10.Enter Sales Tax Holiday sales

11.System populates this amount based on info entered in lines 1-10
and applies to total calculation
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Schedule B - Computation of Local Sales
and Use Tax

Use this schedule if local taxable sales do not equal state taxable sales.

LINE
1.

2.

o Uk

System populates this amount based on return info already entered

Enter total of food sales and any applicable amounts in returned merch and
repossessions

System populates this amount based on return info already entered
Enter total amounts in excess of $1600 on each single article
Energy Fuel Sales

Enter taxable Sales subject to the specified digital products and vending
machine special tax rates

/. System populates this amount based on return info already entered

8. System populates this amount and applies to total calculation
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Schedule C - State Single Article Tax and

Special Rate on Energy, Water, & Specified
Digital Products

You must answer yes or no to the question regarding exempt
transactions. Choosing ‘yes’ populates Schedule C.

Schedule C - State Single Article Tax and Special Rate on Energy, Water, ZSpecified Digital Products

Do you have any single article sales, aviation fuel sales, or special rates on energy, water, vending, or " Yes No
specified digital products to report?

TN

®
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Schedule C - State Single Article Tax and
Special Rate on Energy, Water, & Specified
Digital Products

LINE

1.

N oA W

Enter total sales from $1,601- $3,200 on the sales price of all
single articles sold.

System populates product of line 1

Sales of water purchased at the industrial tax rate
System populates product of line 3

Enter energy fuel sales subject to the industrial tax rate
System populates product of line 5

Enter taxable sales of aviation fuel/gallons and out of state
purchases/gallons

-
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Schedule C - State Single Article Tax and

Special Rate on Energy, Water, & Specified
Digital Products

LINE

8. Enter taxable sales of water carrier energy fuel/gallons and out
of state purchases/gallons

9. System populates product

10.System populates product

11.Enter net taxable sales of specified digital products
12.System populates product of specified digital product tax
13.Enter merchandise sold through vending machines
14.System populates product of vending machine tax
15.System populates total and applies to total calculation
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Schedules D, Eand F

D -
Central Business Improvement
District (CBID) Fee

E -

For Sellers Located Outside
Tennessee Destination Sales
Report

F-
Local Occupancy Tax on Short-
term Rentals

To be completed only by certain businesses in
downtown Nashville that are subject to the
CBID fee.

Beginning 10/1/19, this schedule is to be
completed for all sales that originate from a
business located outside of Tennessee and sold
to a destination inside Tennessee. Sales must
be reported using the tax rate applicable to the
delivery destination.

Beginning 1/1/21, this schedule is to be
completed by all short-term rental unit
marketplaces for all short-term rentals of
residential units rented through the
marketplace.
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Viewing/Printing a Return

Account > Make a Payment
123456789-SLC > View/File Returns

> Additional Actions

31-Aug-2021 Sales and Use Return Processed-Ontime

31-Jul-2021

>  View Submission

> View Payment

> Print

> Amend

View or Amend Return

View or Amend Return
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Amending a Return

> Make a Payment
Account Make a Fayme /

123456789-SLC

>  Addi ior
$0.00
31-Aug-2021 Sales and Use Return Processed-Ontime
31-Jul-2021 Sales and Use Return Processed-Ontime

/

View or Amend Return

View or Amend Return

Make necessary changes to the return. If amendment is made
after the due date of the return and the amendment results in
additional tax owed, penalty and interest will calculate based

on the difference.

-
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Resources

Please submit
specific
account-
related
guestions, or
any questions

that do not get
addressed in
this webinar to
directly us!

www.tn.gov/Revenue

% Revenue.support@tn.gov

@® 615.253.0600 (M-F8-4:30 CST)
dh
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Follow us!

@TennesseeDepartmentOfRevenue

l @ ' @TNRevenue

@TNDeptofRevenue
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