

2023 LEGISLATIVE UPDATES

July 2023 Tax Webinar



Thanks for joining us!

We will begin at 9:00 am (CST)

- Please check your audio settings. See below for resources in case you experience audio or other technical difficulties:
 - Contact WebEx Support https://help.webex.com/contact/
 - Link to Technical Service Resource Guide https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/web/tac/technical-services-resource-guide.html
 - Try leaving and then re-entering the event

View a recording of today's presentation!

tn.gov/revenue > Taxpayer Education > Tax Webinars

https://www.tn.gov/revenue/taxpayer-education/tax-webinars.html
The webinar recording will be posted in the "Webinar Video Library" the day after the event.

- Please submit specific account-related questions or any questions that do not get addressed in this webinar to us directly!
 - www.tn.gov/Revenue
 - Revenue.support@tn.gov
 - 615.253.0600 (M-F 8-4:30 CST)





Legislative Updates - 2023

- New legislation impacting the Department of Revenue includes:
 - Tennessee Works Tax Reduction and Jobs Investment Act
 - Brownfield Tax Credit Expansion
 - Additional Sales Tax on Delta 8 Products
 - Transportation Modernization Act
- Sales tax legislation scheduled to sunset was not renewed
 - Gun safes and gun safety devices ends June 30, 2023
 - Vendors compensation deduction ends June 30, 2023



Legislative Update - Sales Tax

- Public Chapter 53 Expands industrial machinery exemption to apply to materials purchased by contractors to complete wastewater treatment projects at the Megasite.
 - Effective July 1, 2023
- Public Chapter 449 Exempts certain trailers that are removed from Tennessee within three days of purchase from sales and use tax.
 - Effective July 1, 2023



Legislative Update - Sales Tax

- Public Chapter 467 Extends the repossession credit to dealers principally selling used cars at retail if the dealer assigns the security agreement or other title instrument to an affiliate finance company.
 - Dealer must satisfy specific eligibility criteria and department must verify such criteria is met before credit may be claimed.
 - Effective July 1, 2023
- Public Chapter 480 Clarifies that, beginning January 1, 2027, admissions to amusement/recreation activities conducted at a facility owned by a sports authority during a time period in which the authority receives a special sales tax allocation are subject to the amusement tax.
 - Effective July 1, 2023



Legislative Update - Sales Tax

• **Public Chapter 423** – Establishes a new 6% sales tax for the privilege of engaging in the business of selling products containing hemp-derived cannabinoid. This tax applies in addition to the standard 7% state sales tax rate and the applicable local option sales tax rate.

Legislative Update - Franchise & Excise Tax

- Public Chapter 86 Creates a tax credit for brownfield properties in tier 3 and tier 4 counties that is based on remediation costs.
 - Maximum value of credit is \$500,000
 - Credit may offset up to 100% of F&E liability
 - Unused credit may be carried forward for 25 years
 - Effective July 1, 2023
 - * This is in addition to the brownfield property tax credit that is based on purchase price.



Legislative Update - Miscellaneous

- Public Chapter 159 Increases registration fees for electric and hybrid vehicles.
 - All-electric vehicles
 - January 1, 2024 December 31, 2026: \$200
 - January 1, 2027 December 31, 2027: \$274
 - January 1, 2028 and thereafter: \$274, adjusted annually for inflation
 - Hybrid and plug-in hybrid vehicles
 - January 1, 2024 December 31, 2027: \$100
 - January 1, 2028 and thereafter: \$100, adjusted annually for inflation
 - Registration fees will be allocated in the same way as the gas tax



Legislative Update - Miscellaneous

- **Public Chapter 28** Eliminates requirement that, for inheritance tax purposes, the department be notified of death of last surviving lessee of safe deposit box if that person dies after December 31, 2015.
 - Effective March 10, 2023
- **Public Chapter 370** Prohibits the state from imposing the litigation tax on adoption proceedings in chancery, circuit, and juvenile courts.
 - Effective July 1, 2023
- Public Chapter 455 Establishes new caps on aviation fuel tax remittance for licensed air carriers with a transportation hub in Tennessee:
 - Through June 30, 2023: \$5 million
 - July 1, 2023 through June 30, 2024: \$3 million
 - July 1, 2024 and thereafter: \$1 million





Tennessee Works Tax Act

Franchise and Excise Tax - Single Sales Factor

- Adopts Single Sales Factor Apportionment
 - Three Year Phase-In: 5x (2023), 11x (2024), full SSF (2025)
- "Qualified groups" will continue to use three-factor formula
- TCA § 67-4-2023 Election
 - Affiliates can make the election for their entire group
 - Effective January 1, 2024
 - Taxpayer making election must have a receipts factor of 7.5% and more than 50% of its sales in Tennessee must be certified distribution sales
 - Effective January 1, 2025



Franchise and Excise Tax

- Excise Tax \$50,000 Standard Deduction
- Franchise Tax \$500,000 Deduction from Minimum Measure
- Adopts Federal Bonus Depreciation
 - TY23: 80%TY24: 60%TY25: 50%TY26: 20%TY27 and beyond: 0%
- Paid Family Leave Tax Credit
 - Two-year pilot program that mirrors federal credit
 - Credit amount is based on percentage of wages reimbursed.
 - Example: 100% wages paid = credit worth 25% of those wages
 - Maximum offset of 50% of F&E liability
- Credit Carryforwards Extended to 25 years
 - Industrial Machinery, Brownfield Property, Community Investment, Qualified Production, (new) Paid Family Leave, and Job Tax Credits



Business Tax

- Filing Threshold Increased to \$100,000 per Jurisdiction
- Local License Requirements
 - Minimal Activity License
 - Businesses with more than \$3,000 but less than \$100,000 in gross receipts
 - \$15 annual fee
 - Standard License
 - All businesses with \$100,000 or more in gross receipts
- Manufacturing Exemption Changes
 - Expanded to include sales made from storage facilities within 10-mile radius of the manufacturing location
 - Extended to out-of-state manufacturers
- Class 5A Rate Reduced to 0.1% (from 0.3%)



Sales and Use Tax

- Sales Tax Holiday on Food and Food Ingredients
 - August 1 through October 31, 2023
- Streamlined Sales and Use Tax
 - Adopts SSUTA provisions requiring destination sourcing of services
 - Repair of tangible personal property or software
 - Cleaning of tangible personal property
 - Installing tangible personal property or software
 - Sourcing of leased property
 - Tennessee tax will not be due on lease payments when the primary location of the tangible personal property moves out of state
 - Effective July 1, 2024



Questions?



Tennessee Department of Revenue

CONTACT US!





www.tn.gov/Revenue



Revenue.Support@tn.gov



615.253.0600 (Tax Call Center)



500 Deaderick St. Nashville, TN 37242



Follow us!



@TennesseeDepartmentOfRevenue



@TNRevenue



@TNDeptofRevenue



UPCOMING!

- Next Webinar: 8/29 Taxation of Short-term Rentals
- New Business Workshop: 10/8/23

TO REGISTER: www.tn.gov/revenue







PLEASE TAKE A MOMENT TO COMPLETE A BRIEF SURVEY UPON EXITING!

IMPORTANT: In order to receive CPE credit for attending, you must answer yes to question 4 of the post-event survey.