#### www.Tennessee.gov/revenue

# Tennessee Department of Revenue Reagan Farr, Commissioner

# MINERAL SEVERANCE TAX- HAMBLEN COUNTY

Notice #09-14



Mineral Severance Tax

October 2009

## INTRODUCTION

This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with information concerning a recent change in the mineral severance tax rate in Hamblen County, Tennessee.

Effective November 1, 2009, a mineral severance tax is enacted in Hamblen County Effective November 1, 2009, the governing body of Hamblen County, Tennessee has enacted a mineral severance tax rate of 15 cents per ton by means of a resolution approved by the county governing body. The mineral service tax will apply to all sand, chert, sandstone, limestone, and gravel severed from the ground on or after November 1, 2009, by persons located in all areas of Hamblen County, Tennessee.

## DISCUSSION

## **Enactment of the Mineral Severance Tax**

*Tax rate is 15 cents per ton.* County governing bodies are permitted to establish by resolution a mineral severance tax effective within the county, up to a maximum amount of 15 cents per ton. The governing body of Hamblen County has passed a resolution enacting a mineral severance tax effective in all areas of Hamblen County. The tax rate has been established at the maximum 15 cents per ton allowable by law. The mineral severance tax rate is applicable to the severance of sand, chert, gravel, sandstone, and limestone.

## Payment of the Tax

All persons engaged in severing from the ground any of the substances subject to the mineral severance tax must register with the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

Mineral Severance Tax returns and tax payments must be filed with the Department of Revenue not later than the fifteenth day of the month following the month in which the materials were severed from the ground.

The tax return will reflect the month covered by the return, the total number of tons of each type of sand, gravel, sandstone, chert, and limestone sold from each production unit operated, owned, or controlled by the taxpayer during the period covered, the amount of tax, and any other information required by the Commissioner of Revenue. All tax due must be remitted with the return.

References:

T.C.A. § 67-7-201

> Tax returns and

*day of the following month* 

payments due not

later than the 15<sup>th</sup>

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions. While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.