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Marketplace Facilitators

Marketplace Facilitators are Responsible for
Sales Tax Collection on Marketplace Sales

Public Chapter 646 (2020), effective October 1, 2020,
enacted a marketplace facilitator law whereby a
marketplace facilitator is responsible for collecting
and remitting Tennessee sales tax on sales made
through its marketplace.

Public Chapter 759 (2020), effective October 1, 2020,
further amended the state’s marketplace facilitator
law by establishing a $100,000 sales threshold.

A Marketplace Facilitator is Liable for Sales Tax if
Total Sales in this State Exceed $100,000

A marketplace facilitator must register in Tennessee
to collect and remit sales tax if it made or facilitated
total sales to consumers in this state of $100,000 or
more during the previous twelve-month period.
Marketplace facilitators must register and begin
collecting sales tax on the first day of the third
month following the month it meets the threshold.

Marketplace Facilitator

A marketplace facilitator is a business that facilitates
the sale of taxable tangible personal property,
taxable services, or other things subject to sales and
use tax through a physical or electronic marketplace
on behalf of a marketplace seller. For sales tax
purposes, the marketplace facilitator is considered
the retailer when facilitating such sales. There are
limited circumstances in which a marketplace
facilitator is not required to report sales of the
marketplace seller. Additional information on these
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exceptions may be found in these frequently asked
questions.

Marketplace Seller

A marketplace seller is a person who makes sales
through any marketplace operated, owned, or
controlled by a marketplace facilitator.

Beginning October 1, 2020, an out-of-state
marketplace seller is not required to register in
Tennessee if all of its taxable sales are facilitated by
a marketplace facilitator. However, if the
marketplace seller makes any sales other than those
through a marketplace facilitator, it may be required
to register if it has physical presence in the state or
has made $100,000 or more in sales in the state
during the previous twelve-month period.

Sales made through a marketplace facilitator do not
count as sales of a marketplace seller for the
purpose of determining if an out-of-state seller has
a registration and collection requirement. Additional
information may be found in these FAQs.

Sourcing Sales

A marketplace facilitator must collect sales tax on
sales of tangible personal property based on the
shipped to or delivered to address of the customer.
However, sales tax on taxable services should be
reported consistent with other service sourcing
provisions.

Disclaimer: The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations,
or court decisions. While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such
cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.
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For More Information

Visit the Department's marketplace facilitator
webpage or visit www.tn.gov/revenue and click on
Revenue Help to search for answers or to submit an
information request to one of our agents.

References

Public Chapter 646 (2020); Public Chapter 787 (2020).
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