
 
 
1 Prior to July 1, 2017, the Department only received the 911 surcharge on prepaid wireless calling services.  The surcharge on 
monthly communications services were reported and paid to the Tennessee Emergency Communications Board.  However, 
for periods beginning July 1, 2017, the Department will begin collecting the surcharge on monthly communication services as 
well.  See Important Notice 17-05 for more information on the 911 surcharge on monthly communication services.   
 
Disclaimer:  The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations, 
or court decisions.  While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur.  In such 
cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance. 

  

 
911 Surcharge Notice 

Notice #15-02 January 2015 (last updated April 2017) 

Prepaid Wireless Calling Services 911 Surcharge  
 

Introduction  

Effective January 1, 2015, the law changed to 
increase the 911 surcharge retailers collect from 
consumers on sales of prepaid wireless calling 
services to $1.16 (from 53 cents). See the 911 Funding 
Modernization and IP Transition Act of 2014.  Because 
of this law change, the 911 emergency surcharge is 
the same for prepaid wireless calling services and 
monthly communication services (wireline and non-
prepaid wireless telecommunication services).  This 
notice, however, only addresses the 911 surcharge 
on prepaid wireless calling services.1   

 

Prepaid Wireless Calling Services Defined 

Prepaid wireless calling service is a prepaid 
telecommunications service that provides the right 
to use a mobile wireless service.  Examples include 
prepaid wireless phone cards, recharge or refill 
authorization codes, and prepaid cell phones or 
other prepaid wireless devices preloaded with 
airtime minutes.  Prepaid long-distance calling cards 
are not considered prepaid wireless calling services 
for purposes of the 911 surcharge.     

The money collected from the increase in the 
surcharge will fund advancements in technology 
needed to provide Tennesseans with better 
emergency services.  

 

Collecting the 911 Surcharge 

Retailers collect the 911 surcharge from consumers 
at the time of the sale of prepaid wireless calling 
services.  It is only collected on prepaid wireless 
sales of $10 or more that are subject to the 
Tennessee sales tax.  However, the surcharge is not 
included in the sales price, which is subject to sales 
and use tax, or gross receipts, which are subject to 
business tax. 

All users of prepaid wireless calling services must 
pay the surcharge.  Accordingly, the surcharge must 
be collected on every sale of prepaid wireless calling 
services, even if consumers, such as non-profits, 
claim a sales tax exemption.  However, retailers may 
use valid sales and use tax resale certificates to 
purchase prepaid wireless calling services for resale 
without paying the surcharge.  In such cases, the 
purchaser will be responsible for collecting the 911 
surcharge from its retail customers. 

Retailers must separately state the 911 surcharge 
on the invoice, receipt or other sales document 
given to the purchaser.  If more than one separately 
priced prepaid wireless item is sold, each item is 
subject to the 911 surcharge.  For example, if two 
prepaid wireless phone cards are sold to a 
consumer for $20 each, the retailer must collect a 
911 surcharge from the consumer in the amount of 
$2.32 ($1.16 for each retail sale). 

 



2 This section was updated April 2017 to reflect the law changes regarding the amount retailers may keep as an 
administrative fee. 
 
Disclaimer:  The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations, 
or court decisions.  While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur.  In such 
cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance. 

Reporting the 911 Surcharge2 

Once collected, the 911 surcharge on prepaid 
wireless calling is reported and paid on the sales 
and use tax return or the TV programming and 
telecommunications sales and use tax return.  
Effective July 1, 2017, retailers may keep two 
percent of the 911 surcharges that they collect 
as an administrative fee (prior to this date, they 
were permitted to keep three percent).  

For More Information   

Visit www.tn.gov/revenue.  Click on Revenue Help to 
search for answers or to submit an information 
request to one of our agents. 

 

References   

Tenn. Code Ann. § 7-86-128; Tenn. Code Ann. § 7-86-
103; Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-102(65); Public Chapter 
1047 (2016)   

 


