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INTRODUCTION

This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with
information concerning Public Chapter 602, Acts of 2007, which makes
substantial changes to Tennessee sales and use tax statutes in order to comply
with the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.

Effective January 1, 2008, Tennessee has amended the definition of a
lease or rental for sales and use tax purposes.

The amended definition of lease or rental does not include transfers of
property under an agreement that requires the transfer of title upon
completion of all payments and the payment of an option price that
does not exceed the greater of $100 or 1%b6 of the total payments.

The new definition applies to leases entered into on or after January 1,
2008, and will have no impact on existing leases or rentals. The prior
definition applies to options to purchase or extend included in
agreements entered into prior to January 1, 2008.

DISCUSSION

The new lease and rental definition will be used for sales and use tax purposes
regardless of whether a transaction is characterized as a lease or rental under
generally accepted accounting principles, the Internal Revenue Code, or Title
47 Chapter 2A, or any other provision of federal, state, or local law.

"Lease or rental” means any transfer of possession or control of
tangible personal property for a fixed or indeterminate term for
consideration. A lease or rental may include future options to
purchase or extend.

The definition of lease or rental does not include the following types of
transactions:

1. Transfer of property under a security agreement or deferred payment plan
that requires the transfer of title at the end of the required payments.
Such transactions continue to be subject to tax as a sale, and not as a
lease or rental.

2. Transfer of property under an agreement that requires the transfer of title
upon completion of required payments and payment of an option price that
does not exceed the greater of $100 or 1% of total required payments.
This represents a change in Tennessee law and applies to agreements
entered into on or after January 1, 2008. The total sales price of the
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Sales and Use Tax

property is subject to tax at the time of the sale. The periodic payments,
including interest and financing charges, made under the agreement are
not subject to tax.

3. Providing an operator along with the property. An operator must do more
than maintain, inspect, or set up the tangible personal property. Such
transactions continue to be treated as the sale of a service rather than the
lease or rental of property.

Terminal rental adjustment clause
Lease or rental includes agreements that contain a terminal rental adjustment

clause covering motor vehicles and trailers where the amount of consideration
may increase or decrease by reference to the amount realized upon sale or
disposition of the property as defined in 26 U.S.C. Section 7701(h)(1).

The amended definition clarifies that additional payments or refunds required
under agreements pursuant to a terminal rental adjustment clause are part of
the proceeds of the lease. At the end of a lease term:

1. If a motor vehicle or trailer sells for less than was estimated by a lessor
and lessee at the beginning of the lease and the lessee is required to make
an additional payment under the lease, the additional payment is subject to
tax if the lease was subject to tax, or

2. If a motor vehicle or trailer sells for more than was estimated by the lessor
and lessee at the beginning of the lease and the lessor is required to make
a refund to the lessee, the refund amount is a reduction in the amount of
consideration for the lease and the lessor should refund tax on the amount
refunded to the lessee, if tax was collected on the original lease payments.

Sourcing
» New sourcing Pursuant to Public Chapter 602, statutory changes to comply with the
requirements do  Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement sourcing requirements for leases of
not take effect property are scheduled to take effect July 1, 2009. Until then lease or rental

until July 1, 2009 agreements that are entered into or take place in Tennessee continue to be
subject to sales tax in Tennessee for the duration of the lease, regardless of
whether the leased or rented property is moved outside Tennessee.

Lease or rental agreements entered into or originally taking place outside
Tennessee are subject to use tax in Tennessee if the leased or rented property
is subsequently moved into Tennessee. Credit, however, will be provided for
any sales tax properly paid to another state on the lease or rental payment
subject to Tennessee use tax.

% References: The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may

—= change as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions. While this
PC 602 (2007) notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by
T.C.A. § 67-6-102 this notice may occur. In such cases you should contact the department or
T.C.A. § 67-6-204 your tax professional for further guidance.
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