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 New legislation 
requires that tax 
refunds be offset 
by debts owed to 
the State of 
Tennessee.  

 
 
 

 Taxpayers 
requesting a 
refund of $200 or 
more must submit 
a Report of Debts.  
 

 
 Offset applies to 

refund claims filed 
on or after July 1, 
2009. 
 

 
 Providing false 

information with 
the intent to 
deceive will be 
considered perjury. 
 

 
 
 
 

 A taxpayer may 
contest the 
existence or 
amount of a debt 
through a hearing 
requested within 
20 days of receipt 
of the state 
agency’s notice. 
 

 
 

 
INTRODUCTION 
 
This notice is intended to provide taxpayers with information concerning a new 
requirement that the Department of Revenue offset tax refunds by the amount 
of any debt owed by the taxpayer to the State of Tennessee.   
 
DISCUSSION 
 
Public Chapter 1113 (2010) directs the Department of Revenue to offset 
refunds by any debt owed by the taxpayer to a state agency, department, 
board, bureau, commission, or authority (“state agency”).   
 
Report of Debts 
 
Any taxpayer that files a claim for refund with the Department of Revenue for 
$200.00 or more must complete and submit with the claim for refund a “Report 
of Debts” form. The form is available on the Department’s website.   
 
Additionally, any taxpayer that filed a claim for refund with the Department of 
Revenue for $200.00 or more on or after July 1, 2009, must also complete and 
submit a Report of Debts if the refund has not yet been paid by the 
Department.   
 
For each debt listed on the Report of Debts form, the taxpayer must provide 
the amount of the debt and the name of the state agency to which the debt is 
owed.  Any taxpayer that provides false information on the Report of Debts 
with the intent to deceive commits the Class A misdemeanor offense of perjury. 
 
Note, however, that claims for refund resulting solely from the payment of 
estimated taxes that exceed the actual liability established by the initial tax 
return pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-1802(a)(1)(A) are not subject to 
this reporting requirement. 
 
Offset Procedure 
 
The Department will notify the applicable state agency of any debts listed on 
the Report of Debts. The state agency is then required to notify both the 
taxpayer and the Department if it wants the Department to offset the refund by 
the amount of the debt.  Within twenty (20) days after receiving notice from 
the state agency, the taxpayer may request a hearing to contest the existence 
of the debt or whether the final debt amount, as determined by the state 
agency, is correct.  Such hearing will be conducted in accordance with the 
Uniform Administrative Procedures Act.  Details about how to request a hearing 
will be included in the notice received from the state agency. 
 
 
 



For more tax information, call toll free 1-800-342-1003 
Nashville area and out-of-state call (615) 253-0600 

Email Business.Tax@tn.gov 

 
 

 The offset amount 
will be remitted to 
the state agency to 
be applied to the 
debt and the 
remaining portion 
of the refund will 
be paid to the 
taxpayer. 

 
 
 
 

 If a taxpayer 
receives a refund 
but does not report 
a debt, the 
Department may 
later assess and 
collect from the 
taxpayer the 
refunded taxes up 
to the amount of 
the debt. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
PC 1113 (2010) 

 
After twenty (20) days have elapsed from the taxpayer’s receipt of the state 
agency’s notice, or upon a final determination if a hearing is requested, the 
Department will offset the refund by the appropriate debt amount.  The offset 
amount will be remitted by the Department to the state agency to be applied to 
the debt on behalf of the taxpayer.  Any portion of the tax refund remaining 
after the offset will be refunded to the taxpayer.  The Department will provide 
the taxpayer with an accounting of the action taken on any refund whenever an 
offset of the taxpayer’s refund occurs. 
 
Assessment Procedure if Debt is not Reported 
 
Each year the Department will provide to state agencies a list of all taxpayers 
who received refunds in the amount of $200.00 or more within that year and 
reported no debts to state agencies.   
 
If a taxpayer received a refund and failed to disclose a debt, the Department is 
directed to assess and collect from that taxpayer the refunded taxes up to the 
amount of the debt.   
 
Within twenty (20) days after receiving the assessment, the taxpayer may 
request a hearing to contest the existence of the debt or whether the debt 
amount, as determined by the state agency, is correct.  Such hearing will be 
conducted in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act.  
Details about how to request a hearing will be included in the notice received 
from the state agency. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change 
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended 
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In 
such cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further 
guidance.  

 


