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Mobile Telecommunications Services are Subject 

to Business Tax and Sourced to the Customer’s 

Place of Primary Use 

Mobile telecommunications services sold to 

customers in Tennessee are subject to business tax. 

The federal Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing 

Act (“MTSA”) requires mobile telecommunications 

services providers (“providers”) to source gross 

receipts from the sale of mobile 

telecommunications services to the customer’s 

place of primary use. The customer’s place of 

primary use is the street address where the 

customer primarily uses the service (i.e., the 

customer’s residential or business address). 

Providers should obtain a business license, register 

for business tax, and report sales of mobile 

telecommunications services made in each city and 

county (i.e. jurisdiction) where they make more than 

$10,000 in taxable sales during the tax year.   

Mobile Telecommunications Services and 

Tangible Personal Property Sold by a Provider 

within a Jurisdiction are Reported Separately  

In accordance with the MTSA, providers must 

register under Classification 3 and report sales of 

mobile telecommunications services under Location 

IDs established for the sole purpose of reporting 

such sales to customers with a place of primary use 

within a city or county jurisdiction. Tennessee 

Taxpayer Access Point (“TNTAP”) registration allows 

providers to select the city or county where they 

meet the $10,000 threshold instead of registering 

using a business location address.  

Providers should first obtain a Location ID to report 

the sales of mobile telecommunications services at 

the Classification 3 rate for each city where they 

meet the $10,000 threshold. When a provider 

registers in a city, the Department’s registration 

system will automatically create a separate county 

Location ID to report tax at the Classification 3 rate 

for the county.  

For example, a provider making sales of mobile 

telecommunications services in multiple cities within 

a county as well as the unincorporated area of the 

county will have a separate Location ID under 

Classification 3 for each city where it meets the 

$10,000 threshold. The provider will also have a 

single separate county Location ID under 

Classification 3 to report all sales of mobile 

telecommunication services into the county (i.e., all 

cities and unincorporated areas in the county) if the 

total sales into the county are more than $10,000.  

If a provider also has a store location in that 

jurisdiction, it should continue to report sales of 

tangible personal property made from the store 

under the Classification 2 rate using the store 

Location ID to report sales made from the store for 

both the city and county. 

Example 

Company X sells mobile telecommunications 

services, cellphones and accessories. During the 

2019 tax year, Company X sold $15,000 of 

cellphones and accessories from its Chattanooga 

store location. Company X also made $240,000 in 

mobile telecommunications services sales to 

customers with a place of primary use in the 

following cities in Hamilton County: $85,000 in 

Chattanooga, $50,000 in East Ridge, $25,000 in Red 
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Bank, $5,000 in Soddy-Daisy, and $75,000 in the 

unincorporated area of Hamilton County.  

 

The $15,000 in sales of cellphone and accessories 

made from the Chattanooga store are reported for 

both the city and county under the Classification 2 

store Location ID.  

 

The mobile telecommunications services are 

reported using the Classification 3 rate as follows:  

• $85,000 under the Chattanooga Location ID;  

• $50,000 under the East Ridge Location ID;  

• $25,000 under the Red Bank Location ID; and  

• $240,000 under the Hamilton County Location ID  

 

Because the mobile telecommunications services 

sold to customers with a place of primary use in the 

city of Soddy-Daisy is less than $10,000, no business 

tax is reported to Soddy-Daisy. However, the $5,000 

is included in sales reported to Hamilton County. 

The provider is still required to have a minimal 

business activity license for the city of Soddy-Daisy.  

Sales of Phones and Accessories from Outside 

the State are Subject to Only State Business Tax 

Providers making sales of tangible personal 

property to customers in Tennessee from locations 

outside of Tennessee are only subject to the state-

level business tax on those sales. Providers should 

report such sales under a separate out-of-state 

Location ID on their consolidated business tax 

return. 

 

 

 

 

 

Remaining Personal Property Tax Credit May Be 

Taken Against Business Tax Due for Mobile 

Telecommunications Services 

A provider may take a credit on its business tax 

return for the personal property taxes paid to the 

same jurisdiction during the tax period covered by 

the return or prior to the due date of the return. The 

credit shall be taken first against the business tax 

due for a store location and then may be taken 

against the business tax due for the wireless 

telecommunications services for the same 

jurisdiction up to 50% of the provider’s business tax 

liability in that jurisdiction.  

Sales of Internet Access Are Not Subject to 

Business Tax 

Taxable mobile telecommunications services do not 

include charges for internet access. Sales of internet 

access are not taxable because of the federal 

Internet Tax Freedom Act.   

Providers Should Contact the Department for 

Registration Assistance  

Providers should contact the Department at (615) 

532-9452 to obtain assistance prior to filing to 

ensure they are registered correctly. TNTAP 

registration instructions are available for wireless 

telecommunications providers.  

For More Information   

Visit www.tn.gov/revenue. Click on Revenue Help to 

search for answers or to submit an information 

request to one of our agents. 

References   

Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-701, et seq.; 4 U.S.C. §§ 116, 

151, et seq. 
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