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Implementation of Bail Bond Tax Bail 
Bond tax 

notice 

Tennessee Code Annotated Title 67, 
Chapter 4 is amended to levy a tax on all 
bail bonds in this state. This amendment to 
the law was signed by the governor on 
July 24, 2001, and is effective 
immediately. Basically, the language of 
the new law provides: 

(1) A tax of $12 is levied on all bail bonds 
in Tennessee. This tax is to be collected by 
the bail bondsman from the person that 
posts the bond on behalf of the accused. 
The tax must be paid to the bondsman 
before the bond is written. The tax must 
be collected on all bonds written on or 
after July 24, 2001. A bail bond is not 
valid if the required tax has not been 
collected. 

(2) An increase or decrease in the amount 
of an existing bail bond will not constitute 
a new bail bond for the purposes of this 
tax. However, if a bail bond is sought 
pending the appeal of a conviction, an 
additional tax of $12 will be imposed, 
even if the bond is a continuation of a 
previous bond.  

(3) The tax is a state tax only and will be 
administered by the Department of 
Revenue. Bail bond tax revenues will be 
deposited into the civil legal 
representation of indigents fund created by 
Tenn. Code Ann. Section 16-3-808 with 
4% earmarked to underwrite costs 
associated with development and 
provision of continuing education required 
by Title 40, Chapter 11, Part 4 
(Continuing Education for Professional 
Bail Bonding Agents). 

In order to collect and remit the tax, all 
bail agents must register with the 
Department of Revenue. Enclosed is an 
Application for Registration. This 
application must be completed fully and 
must be returned to the Department of 
Revenue no later than August 10, 2001.  

The bail bond tax will be remitted 
quarterly. Each quarterly return with 
remittance for the prior quarter will be due 
the 25th of the month following the close 
of the quarter.  Accordingly, the due dates 
for the four quarterly returns required for a 
calendar year will be April 25, July 25, 
October 25, and January 25 of the 
following calendar year.  The bondsman 
collecting the tax must hold it in a separate 
trust account until it is remitted to the 
Department of Revenue with the quarterly 
tax return. 

The first return will be due in the 
Department of Revenue on October 25, 
2001, and will be for the quarter ending on 
September 30, 2001. Reporting forms will 
be mailed to all registered bail bond 
taxpayers during the last week in 
September. These reporting forms will 
include the taxpayer’s name, address, 
account number and reporting period.  

Have questions or comments?  Please let 
us know.  Contact us.   
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