

## State of Tennessee Department of Revenue Vehicle Services Division

## **Low-Speed Vehicle Affidavit**

VIN:

<ul><li>conditions are met:</li><li>The vehicle's top speed is greater than twenty</li></ul>	may be registered as a low speed vehicle if <b>all the following</b> miles per hour (20 mph) but not more than twenty-five miles per
hour (25 mph)	1: 1: 40 GFD 551 (G 1 GF 1 1 D 1 1 )
9 1	ems, as outlined in 49 CFR 571 (Code of Federal Regulations):
Headlamps	Parking brake
Stop lamps	One exterior mirror on the driver's side and one additional mirror, either on the passenger side or in the interior
Front and rear turn signal lamps	Windshield that conforms to the Federal motor vehicle safety standard on glazing materials (49 CFR 571.205)
Tail lamps	Seat belts (Type 1 or 2) located at each seating position
Reflex reflectors, one red on each side near the rear and one on the rear	Vehicle ID Number (VIN), conforming to 49 CFR 565
<u>Certification</u>	
equipped with the above listed items and meets all safe	hicle whose vehicle identification number (VIN) is shown above is ety standards as required by the National Highway Traffic Safety ed is greater than twenty miles per hour (20 mph) but not more
Signature of Certifier	Date

## IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING LOW SPEED VEHICLES

Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-8-191 allows low speed vehicles to be operated at a speed not exceeding twenty-five miles per hour (25 mph) only on streets where the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles per hour (35 mph) or less. A low speed vehicle is permitted to cross streets that exceed this thirty-five mile per hour limit.

In the interest of safety, counties in Tennessee or the Tennessee Department of Transportation may prohibit the operation of low speed vehicles on any road in its jurisdiction.

Operators of low speed vehicles must have a Class D driver license in their possession when operating these vehicles on Tennessee's roads.

Name of Applicant: