

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Insurance Company Form Without Endorsed Title

PURPOSE: Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-3-209 allows the issuance of salvage certificates to insurance companies, salvage pool operators, and automotive dismantlers and recyclers if they are unable to obtain the endorsed title from the vehicle owner within 30 days of the owner accepting the loss settlement.

INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete the form in its entirety and review the information provided below. Please mail completed application to: Vehicle Services Division, 500 Deaderick Street, Nashville, TN 37242. For questions, please call 615-741-3101 or submit an online ticket via "Revenue Help" at www.tn.gov/revenue.

- * This form must be complete only when endorsed title has not been received within 30 days after settlement.
- * Must include the completed Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate
- * First mailing must be a minimum of 30 days after settlement date.

A. VEHICLE INFORMATION

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):			
Year:	_ Make:	Model:	
Insurance Company, Salvage Pool, or Dismantler/Recycler Name:			
Claim Number:		Tennessee Business License:	
Phone Number	Maili	ng Address:	

B. SETTLEMENT INFORMATION

The settlement for the vehicle listed below was completed on: ______

Owner(s) did not supply certificate of title within 30 days of settlement. Attached is proof of the two attempts to contact the owner(s) and the application for salvage title or non-repairable vehicle certificate.

Registered Owner(s):	
Mailing Address:	
The first mailing was sent on:	The second mailing was sent on:
Lienholder:	(If no lienholder, write "none")
Mailing Address:	
The first mailing was sent on:	The second mailing was sent on:

C. CERTIFICATION STATEMENT:

I hereby certify and affirm that all provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-3-209 have been complied with, and make this form for the purpose of satisfying the Tennessee Department of Revenue that a Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Certificate for the described vehicle should be issued in the name of the insurance company, salvage pool, or automotive dismantler and recycler listed above upon the facts stated herein. I also hereby release, discharge and agree to hold harmless the Tennessee Department of Revenue from any and all liability to anyone whomsoever which may arise by reason of any contest of the validity of this vehicle transfer. I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Owner/Representative/Power of Attorney: _____

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Insurance Company Form Without Endorsed Title

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:

Does the vehicle have to be disposed of in TN or can this be for all vehicles titled in TN disposed of in any state?

The vehicle does not have to be disposed of in Tennessee.

Can this be applied for out of state titles being disposed of in TN?

Yes.

Does the lien need to be released or can we use this if we are unable to get the lien release from the lender?

The department will have a form and if we have all of the requested documentation Vehicle Services will release the lien.

Does "proof of delivery" mean we can submit the tracking number that can be pulled from the USPS website or do they need the original certified mail "green cards" back? If we use UPS/Fedex, what would they need to show proof of delivery?

Any mail carrier that provides proof of delivery - includes the time of delivery, full delivery address, and the name and signature of the person who accepted the mail. The insurance company would need to include a printout showing this information.

An electronic or paper copy of the check itself or a screenshot of the ETF payment is required by the Department as acceptable proof of payment.