RV-F1406401 INTERNET (05-24)

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Natural Disaster
Claim for Refund of Sales Tax

Name of Claimant SSN
(print or type)

Spouse’s Name SSN

Address of Primary Residence

Street address at time of disaster

City State Zip Code County
Mailing Address
Street or P.O. Box City State Zip Code
FEMA Application Number FEMA Disaster Number
Total Amount of Tax Refund Claimed $ (cannot exceed $2,500)

SCHEDULE OF QUALIFYING PURCHASES AND TAX PAID (attach additional sheet if needed)

Dates Qualifying Item(s) Amount of
Purchased Name of Retailer Description of Item(s) Purchased Sales Tax Paid
(Purchases must be made on or (See instructions for definitions of qualifying items) on Item(s)
after the date of the disaster)
EXAMPLE: 01-14-2012 RETAILER NAME LIGHT FIXTURES $19.99
EXAMPLE: 2-15-2012 RETAILER NAME PAINTING SUPPLIES $17.25
EXAMPLE: 3-09-2012 RETAILER NAME WASHER/DRYER $70.00
EXAMPLE: 12-31-2012 RETAILER NAME FLOORING $250.00

| certify that the following is true:
o The primary address listed above is/was my primary residence at the time of the natural disaster,
o The damage was caused by a natural disaster that occurred on or after January 1, 2012,
o The damage occurred at my primary residence,
o Any “major appliances” included in this claim were purchased to replace an appliance that was damaged or destroyed in this
natural disaster,
Any “residential building supplies” included in this claim were used in my primary residence for purposes of restoration,
repair, replacement, or rebuilding due to this natural disaster,
o  Any “residential furniture” included in this claim was used in my primary residence to replace furniture that was damaged or
destroyed in this disaster, and
o | purchased the items included in this claim and paid the sales tax directly to the retailer or through a contractor.

(¢]

Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that the statements made in support of this claim are true, correct, and complete to the best of
my knowledge and belief. | understand that | may be subject to civil penalty of up to $25,000 if any information on which this claim is
based is false or fraudulent.

Signature Date

Telephone Number

CERTIFICATION for FEMA Natural Disaster
| received FEMA disaster assistance as a result of this natural disaster.

Signature Date

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Claim Examined By Date Amount Approved

Class of Tax Claim Date Account Number

Director or Delegate




ADDITIONAL SHEET
SCHEDULE OF QUALIFYING PURCHASES AND TAX PAID

Dates Qualifying ltem(s)
Purchased
(Purchases must be made on or
after the date of the disaster)

Name of Retailer

Description of Item(s) Purchased
(See instructions for definitions of qualifying items)

Amount of
Sales Tax Paid
on Item(s)




INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING
NATURAL DISASTER CLAIM FOR REFUND OF SALES TAX

Tennessee Code Annotated § 67-6-396 authorizes a refund of sales tax paid by any natural person receiving disaster assistance
through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as a result of a natural disaster. In addition, Tennessee Code Annotated
§ 67-6-396(g) authorizes a refund of sales tax paid by certain individuals affected by a natural disaster that is not a federally declared
natural disaster in limited instances.

To receive a refund of sales tax, you must:
1) Complete all items on the reverse side:
o Name and social security number (Name should be one shown on FEMA documents)
Spouse’s name and social security number
Address of primary residence at time of disaster
Current mailing address
FEMA Application Number and Disaster Number, if applicable
Schedule of qualifying purchases and tax paid

O O O O O

2) Attach copy of the FEMA decision letter, if applicable.

As proof that FEMA assistance was received, include a copy of your FEMA decision letter or payment from FEMA bearing the
FEMA application number and disaster number.
3) Remember to sign the claim form.

Refunds can be claimed for Tennessee sales tax paid to a retailer only on qualifying items. Qualifying items are items that meet the
definitions of “major appliance,” “residential building supplies,” or “residential furniture.” By signing the claim form, you are attesting that all
purchases were used for the repair, replacement, or construction of the primary residence.

4) Retain records of purchases.

Claimant must keep and preserve all receipts and invoices for a period of three (3) years from December 31 of the year in which this claim for
refund form was filed.
5) File only one refund claim.

You can only apply once per residence. Thus, you should include all your qualifying purchases in this claim for refund. The only limit on
including multiple items is that the total tax refunded to you cannot exceed $2,500.
6) Mail this claim form and documentation to:

Attn: Natural Disaster Refund Claim

Tennessee Department of Revenue

Andrew Jackson State Office Building
Nashville, Tennessee 37242

7) File claim by applicable due date.
The claim for refund must be filed within one (1) year from the date shown on the FEMA decision letter received by the

claimant. If filing as a result of a non FEMA disaster the claim must be filed by the date defined in Tennessee Code
Annotated § 67-6-396(g).



Qualifying items on which you can claim a refund of sales tax paid:

“Major appliance” means any water heater, dishwasher, washer, dryer, refrigerator, freezer, stove, range, oven, cooktop, microwave,
vacuum, or fan that is used in your primary residence to replace an appliance that was damaged or destroyed, provided that the sales price
per item is $3,200 or less.

“Residential building supplies” means any of the following items if used in your primary residence for purposes of restoration, repair,
replacement, or rebuilding due to the disaster provided that the sales price per item is $500 or less:

e Cleaning and disinfecting materials,

e Trash bags, boxes, construction tools, and hardware, or

e Roofing shingles, roofing paper, gutters, downspouts, vents, doors, windows, sheetrock, drywall, insulation, paint and paint

materials, flooring, and other necessary building materials.

“Residential furniture” means furniture commonly used in a residential dwelling that is used in your primary residence to replace
furniture that was damaged or destroyed in this disaster, provided that the sales price per item is $3,200 or less.

NEED HELP?

Taxpayer assistance is available from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Central Time) Monday through Friday.
1-800-342-1003 General information

615-253-0600 Nashville area

615-741-0443 For information on filing refund claims

615-532-6396 Refund Fax number

File on TNTAP: https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices/ /

Website: www.tn.gov/revenue

Email address: revenue.support@tn.gov



https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices/_/
http://www.tn.gov/revenue
mailto:revenue.support@tn.gov
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