Instructions: Franchise and Excise Tax Return

General Information
The beginning and ending dates of the tax year must be entered. The tax year covered must coincide with the
federal return. A return can cover a 52/53-week filing period, but cannot otherwise exceed 12 months.

Enter the franchise and excise account number. This number may be found by using the account number online
search available on the Department’s website at www.tn.gov/revenue.

Enter the FEIN and/or Tennessee Secretary of State Control Number, if applicable. Also enter the North American
Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.

Check all of the boxes in the top right of the return that apply to the taxpayer. Check the amended return box if the
return reflects changes from a previously filed return. Check the final return box if all of the assets of the business
have been liquidated and distributed and no further returns are required to be filed. If the final return box is
checked, the Department may request a schedule of liquidation, distribution, or disposition of all assets and/or Final
Return Worksheets (available on the Department's website).

In order for the taxpayer to make the consolidated net worth election pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-2103(g)-
(i), it must first file a Consolidated Net Worth Election Registration Application.

The election to use the alternative annualized income installment method of computing the required estimated tax
payments can only be made on an original tax return and must be made annually. See the Estimated Franchise and
Excise Tax Payments Worksheet for additional information and to determine the required quarterly estimates
under this alternative method. The amounts from Line 23 of the worksheet should be reported on this return on
Schedule E, Lines 2(a) through 5(a).

Only manufacturers may elect to apportion net earnings and net worth using a single sales factor. A manufacturer
is generally an entity whose Tennessee revenue (less passive income) is more than 50% from manufacturing or
processing tangible personal property for resale and consumption off the premises. The election is made by
checking this box, and it remains in effect for five years. The box should be checked for each year this method of
apportionment is used.

A taxable entity that is incorporated, domesticated, qualified or otherwise registered to do business in Tennessee
that was inactive in Tennessee for the entire taxable period and owes only the minimum tax may file only page one

of this return and omit the remaining pages.

Schedule A - Computation of Franchise Tax

Line 1: Enter amount on Schedule F1, Line 5 or Schedule F2, Line 3.
Line 2: Enter amount on Schedule G, Line 15.
Line 3: Multiply the greater of Line 1 or 2 by $0.25 per $100 or major fraction thereof. The minimum tax is

$100. Franchise tax may be prorated on short period returns. Complete the Short Period Return
Worksheets and retain it for your records when filing a short period return. The franchise tax may
not be prorated on returns covering 52 weeks (364 days) filed by 52/53 week filers.

Schedule B - Computation of Excise Tax

Line 4: Enter amount on Schedule J, Line 29.
Line 5: Multiply amount on Line 4 by 6.5%. If Line 4 is a loss, enter zero.
Line 6: Enter amount on Schedule T, Line 13. A qualified taxpayer making an election to exclude certified

distribution sales from its sales factor must also include the additional excise tax required by Tenn.
Code Ann. § 67-4-2023.
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Line 7:

Add Lines 5 and 6.

Schedule C - Computation of Total Tax Due or Overpayment

Line 8:
Line 9:

Line 10:
Line 11:
Line 12:

Line 13:

Line 14:

Line 15:

Line 16:

Add Schedule A, Line 3, and Schedule B, Line 7. This is the total franchise and excise tax liability.
Enter the total available credits from Schedule D, Line 8. Total credits cannot exceed the total
franchise and excise amount on Line 8.

Subtract Line 9 from Line 8. This value must be zero or greater.

Enter total payments reported on Schedule E, Line 7.

Penalty is calculated at a rate of 5% for each 30-day period, or portion thereof, that a return is
delinquent, up to a maximum of 25% of the delinquent amount. The minimum penalty is $15 for
the delinquent filing of a return.

Interest is due on any amount of tax that is paid after the statutory due date of the return. The
interest rate is determined in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. 8 67-1-801. The current interest rate
can be found at www.tn.gov/revenue under Tax Resources.

Penalty on estimated franchise and excise tax payments is calculated at a rate of 2% per month, or
portion thereof, that an estimated payment is deficient or delinquent, up to a maximum of 24% of
the deficient or delinquent amount. It is calculated from the due date of the estimated payment
through the date paid or the due date of the return, whichever is earlier.

Interest is calculated on estimated franchise and excise tax payments on any deficient or delinquent
amount. The rate of interest is the same as determined on Line 13. It is calculated from the due
date of the estimated payment through the date paid or the due date of the return, whichever is
earlier.

Add Lines 10, 12, 13, 14 and 15, and subtract Line 11. If an overpayment exists on this line, enter the
amount to be credited to the next year on Line A and/or to be refunded on Line B. If a refund of
$200 or more is requested on Line B of an amended return, a Report of Debts Form must be
completed and filed with the return.

Schedule D - Schedule of Credits

Line 1:

Line 2:

Line 3:

Line 4:
Line 5:
Line 6:
Line 7:
Line 8:

A taxpayer may take a credit for gross premium tax paid to the Department of Commerce and
Insurance during the period covered by this return. If the credit is taken, this same amount should
be added to taxable income on Schedule J, Line 6. A taxpayer may elect to forego the credit instead
of adding back the deduction in Schedule J.

Enter the amount of any Tennessee Hall income tax paid during the period covered by this return. If
this amount exceeds the net excise tax due listed on Schedule B, Line 5, enter the amount of net
excise tax due.

Enter any Green Energy Tax Credit available per Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-2109(m). This credit expired
onJuly 1, 2015. However, any taxpayer who applied for the credit prior to that date is still eligible to
take the credit if all statutory requirements have been met.

Enter any Brownfield Property Credit available per Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-2009(8).

Enter the amount of Industrial Machinery Credit from Schedule T, Line 11.

Enter the amount of Job Tax Credit from Schedule X, Line 46.

Enter the amount of Additional Annual Job Tax Credit from Schedule X, Line 38.

Add Lines 1 through 7 and enter here and on Schedule C, Line 9. Total credits may not exceed the
amount on Schedule C, Line 8, unless claiming a Green Energy Credit under the provisions of Tenn.
Code Ann. 8 67-4-2109(m).

Schedule E - Schedule of Required Quarterly Installments and Payments

Lines 2a-5a:

Lines 1-6:

Enter the required quarterly installments from the applicable line(s) of the Estimated Franchise and
Excise Tax Payments Worksheet.

Enter any overpayment from a prior period, estimated tax payments, and extension payment on the
applicable lines.
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Line 7: Add the amounts in the second column, and enter here and on Schedule C, Line 11.

Schedule F1 - Non-consolidated Net Worth

All amounts in this schedule should be determined in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles
(GAAP). However, if the taxpayer does not maintain its books on a GAAP basis, the franchise tax is computed in
accordance with the accounting method used by the taxpayer for federal tax purposes, provided this method fairly
reflects the taxpayer’s activity.

Line 1: Net worth is total assets less total liabilities computed in accordance with the above instructions.

Line 2: To the extent that a corporation is inadequately capitalized, indebtedness to or guaranteed by a
parent corporation or affiliated corporation must be added back. This amount cannot be a
deduction.

Line 3: Add amounts on Lines 1 and 2.

Line 4: Enter apportionment ratio as computed on Schedules N, O, P, R, or S. If the entity is not entitled to
apportion, enter 100%.

Line 5: Multiply Line 3 by Line 4. Enter this amount here and on Schedule A, Line 1. Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-

2121 limits the franchise tax base of any manufacturer to $2 billion.

Schedule F2 - Consolidated Net Worth

Schedule F2 is to be completed only if the Consolidated Net Worth Election Registration Application has been filed.
All amounts in this schedule should be determined in accordance with GAAP. However, if the taxpayer does not
maintain its books on a GAAP basis, the franchise tax is computed in accordance with the accounting method used
by the taxpayer for federal tax purposes, provided this method fairly reflects the taxpayer’s activity.

Line 1: Consolidated net worth is total assets less total liabilities of all members of the affiliated group
computed in accordance with the above instructions.

Line 2: Enter franchise tax apportionment ratio as computed on Schedule 170NC, 170SF, or 170SC.

Line 3: Multiply Line 1 by Line 2. Enter this amount here and on Schedule A, Line 1. Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-

2121 limits franchise tax base of any manufacturer to $2 billion.

Schedule G - Determination of Real and Tangible Property

Lines 1-5: The amounts on these lines are based on the year-end net book values of the assets on the entity's
book basis books and records. All tangible assets should be included in these values regardless of
how the assets are classified.

Line 6: This amount is calculated by multiplying the taxpayer's percentage of ownership in a general
partnership, shown on federal Schedule K-1, by the amount of real and tangible property owned or
used in this state, shown on the balance sheet of an entity treated as a partnership for federal tax
purposes. Only include property from an entity treated as a partnership on this line if the entity itself
is not required to file a Tennessee franchise and excise tax return.

Line 7: Include all inventory and work in progress on Line 7a. Include all exempt inventory on Line 7b.
Exempt inventory is any amount of finished goods in excess of $30,000,000 in accordance with Tenn.
Code Ann. §8 67-4-2108(a)(6)(B).

Line 8: Enter the net book value of pollution control equipment and equipment used to produce electricity
in a certified green energy production facility, as defined in Tenn. Code Ann. 8 67-4-2004, that has
been certified by the Department of Environment and Conservation.

Line 9: Enter the amount of any required capital investments exempted by Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-
2108(a)(6)(G).
Line 10: Add Lines 1 through 7a, and subtract Lines 7b through 9.

Lines 11-14:  The amounts in the first column are the total net annual rental paid for property located in
Tennessee. Multiply these amounts by the multiples, and enter each total on Lines 11 through 14.



Line 15:

Rents must be annualized for returns covering a period of less than 12 months. Complete the Short
Period Return Worksheets and retain them with your records when filing a short period return.

Add Lines 10 through 14, and enter total here and on Schedule A, Line 2. This amount is the total
Tennessee property.

Schedule H - Gross Receipts

Line 1:

Enter the amount of gross receipts or sales shown on the federal income tax return covering the
same tax period. This is Line 1a on federal Forms 1120, 1120S, and 1065 and Schedule C, Line 1 on
federal Form 1040.

Schedule J1 - Net Earnings for Entities Treated as Partnerships

Line 1:
Line 2:

Line 3:

Line 4:
Line 5:

Line 6:

Line 7:

Line 8:

Line 9:

Line 10:
Line 11:

Enter the amount of ordinary income (loss) from federal Form 1065, Line 22.

Enter the amount of additional income items passed through to partners or members from federal
Form 1065, Schedule K, Lines 2 through 11. This includes guaranteed payments to partners.

Enter any net loss or expense distributed to a publicly traded Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) on
federal Schedule K-1. The name and FEIN of the REIT must be made available upon request.

Add Lines 1 through 3.

Enter the amount of additional expense items passed through to partners or members from federal
Form 1065, Schedule K, Lines 12 and 13 a-d. Contributions to qualified pension or benefit plans of
any partner or member should not be reported on this line, but should be reported on Line 7
instead.

Enter the amount subject to self-employment taxes distributable or paid to each partner or member
net of any pass-through expense deducted elsewhere on this return, such as IRC Section 179
expenses and contributions. Do not enter a negative amount on this line. This deduction cannot
create a loss carryover. Include this amount on Schedule K, Line 3.

Enter the amount of contribution to qualified pension or benefit plans of any partner or member,
including all IRC 401 plans. This deduction cannot create a loss carryover. Include this amount on
Schedule K, Line 3.

Enter any net gain or income distributed to a publicly traded REIT on federal Schedule K-1. The name
and FEIN of the REIT must be made available upon request.

Enter loss on the sale of an asset not already included in the taxpayer’s net earnings or loss that was
distributed to a member, partner, or certificate holder, when such asset was sold within 12 months
of the date of distribution. Thus, the loss is recognized by the entity making the asset distribution
rather than by the seller of the asset.

Add Lines 5 through 9. This is the total amount of deductions.

Subtract Line 10 from Line 4, and enter here and also on Schedule J, Line 1.

Schedule J2 - Net Earnings for a Single Member LLC Filing as an Individual

Line 1:
Line 2:

Line 3:

Line 4:

Line 5:

Line 6:

Line 7:
Line 8:

Enter the amount of business income (loss) from federal Form 1040, Schedule C, Line 31.

Enter the amount of capital gain (loss) attributable to the LLC from federal Form Schedule D. If itis a
loss, enter as a negative.

Enter the amount of total income (loss) attributable to the LLC from federal Form 1040, Schedule E,
Line 41.

Enter the amount of net profit (loss) attributable to the LLC from federal Form 1040, Schedule F, Line
34.

Enter the amount of gain (loss) attributable to assets used by LLC from federal Form 4797.

Enter the amount of any income (loss) attributable to the LLC that is reported on any other federal
schedules and that is not reported on Lines 1 through 5 above. Please enter the type of federal form
and schedule in the space provided.

Add Lines 1 through 6.

Enter the amount subject to self-employment taxes distributable or paid to the single member. This



Line 9:

deduction cannot create a loss carryover. Include this amount on Schedule K, Line 3.
Subtract Line 8 from Line 7 and enter here and on Schedule J, Line 1.

Schedule J3 - Net Earnings for Entities Treated as Subchapter S Corporations

Line 1:
Line 2:

Line 3:
Line 4:

Line 5:

Line 6:
Line 7:

Enter the amount of ordinary income (loss) from federal Form 1120S, Line 21.

S corporation’s pass-through income items are required to be added to ordinary income. This
amount should include the total income items as shown on federal Form 1120S, Schedule K.

Add Lines 1 and 2.

S corporation’s pass-through expense items are required to be deducted from ordinary income.
This amount should include the total expense items as shown on federal Form 1120S, Schedule K.
Enter loss on the sale of an asset not already included in the taxpayer’s net earnings or loss that was
distributed to a shareholder or certificate holder, when such asset was sold within 12 months of the
date of distribution. Thus, the loss is recognized by the entity making the asset distribution rather
than by the seller of the asset.

Add Lines 4 and 5. This is the total amount of deductions.

Subtract Line 6 from Line 3, and enter here and on Schedule J, Line 1.

Schedule J4 - Net Earnings for Entities Treated as Corporations and “Other” Entities

Line 1:

Line 2:

Line 3:

Line 4:

Line 5:

Line 6:

Line 7:
Line 8:

Line 9:

Line 10:
Line 11:

Enter the amount of net earnings (loss) from federal Form 1120, Line 28. This is the amount of
taxable income or loss before the net operating loss deduction and special deductions.

Enter the amount of unrelated business taxable income before net operating loss deduction from
federal Form 990-T, Line 30.

Enter the amount of net earnings or loss from any entity that reports on any other federal schedules
and that is not reported on Lines 1 and 2 above. Please enter the type of federal form and schedule
in the space provided.

Enter any deduction for domestic production activities under the provisions of IRC Section 199.
Contribution carryovers must be added back to net income when used for federal purposes. This
amount is reflected on federal Schedule M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

Capital loss carryovers must be added to net income when offset against capital gains for federal tax
purposes. This amount is reflected on federal Schedule M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

Add Lines 1 through 6.

Contributions may be deducted, in full, for the year in which the contributions were made. This
amount is reflected on federal Schedule M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

Capital losses may be deducted, in full, the year the loss was incurred. This amount is reflected on
federal Schedule M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

Add Lines 8 and 9. This is the total amount of deductions.

Subtract Line 10 from Line 7, and enter here and on Schedule J, Line 1.

Schedule ] - Net Earnings Subject to Excise Tax

Line 1:
Line 2:

Line 3:

Line 4:

Enter the amount of net earnings or loss reported on Schedule J1, J2, J3, or J4.

Enter the intangible expense paid, accrued, or incurred to an affiliate and deducted on the federal
income tax return. “Intangible expense” and “affiliate” are defined at Tenn. Code Ann. 8§ 67-4-
2004(23) and Tenn. Code Ann. 8 67-4-2004(1)(A).

Enter any depreciation under the provisions of IRC Section 168 not permitted for excise tax
purposes due to Tennessee permanently decoupling from federal bonus depreciation.

Enter the amount of any gain on the sale of an asset sold within 12 months after distribution to a
nontaxable entity. This gain is to be reported by the entity that distributed the assets. If an asset was
distributed to a member, partner, shareholder, or certificate holder and no sale has taken place, or
the asset was sold 12 months after distribution, no entry is required. Failure to report this gain may
result in a 50% negligence penalty.



Line 5:

Line 6:

Line 7:

Line 8:

Line 9:

Line 10:

Line 11:

Line 12:
Line 13:

Line 14:

Line 15:

Line 16:

Line 17:

Line 18:

Line 19:
Line 20:

Line 21:

Line 22:

Line 23:

Enter the amount of excise tax that was deducted in determining federal net income. In the event of
an over accrual in the prior year that causes the current year's federal return to report a negative
“deduction,” this amount can be reported as a deduction.

If a taxpayer elects to take the gross premiums tax paid to the Tennessee Department of Commerce
and Insurance as a credit against its franchise and excise taxes, the amount of the gross premiums
tax expensed for federal purposes that is used as an excise tax credit must be shown here.

This amount is all tax-exempt interest as shown on the books of the taxpayer, net of disallowed
interest expense pursuant to 26 U.S.C. §§ 265 and 291. This amount is reflected on federal Schedule
M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

Enter any percentage depletion deducted for federal tax purposes. This amount is reflected on
federal Schedule M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

The excess of the fair market value over the book value of property donated must be added to net
income. This amount is reflected on federal Schedule M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

The amount of rent that is paid, accrued, or incurred in excess of reasonable rent for property
owned by an affiliate must be added back. Reasonable rent means rent that does not exceed 2% per
month of the appraised value for property tax purposes. A taxpayer receiving excess rent, to the
extent added back to net earnings by its affiliate, may enter a negative amount on this line.

Enter the amount of any pass-through net loss and expense included in the excise tax base by the
taxpayer. The pass-through items are reported to the taxpayer on federal Schedule K-1. This
adjustment is only made if the entity issuing the K-1 is itself subject to the excise tax and filing a
franchise and excise tax return. This adjustment is to prevent the duplicate recognition of the pass-
through loss and expense in the excise tax base.

Add Lines 2 through 11. This is the amount of total additions.

Enter any depreciation under the provisions of IRC Section 168 permitted for excise tax purposes
due to Tennessee permanently decoupling from federal bonus depreciation.

Enter any excess gain or loss reported for federal tax purposes resulting from the basis adjustment
due to Tennessee permanently decoupling from federal bonus depreciation.

Enter all dividends received from corporations in which the entity has direct ownership of at least
80% of the corporation’s stock.

Enter 75% of donations to qualified public school support organizations as defined in Tenn. Code
Ann. 8 67-4-2006(b)(2)(M) or nonprofit organizations as described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-
2006(b)(2)(P).

Enter any expenses incurred, other than income taxes, that were not deducted for federal tax
purposes but were used as a credit against federal income tax. Most common are federal job credits
and ESOP. The expenses are reflected on federal Schedule M-1 or federal Schedule M-3.

Enter adjustments provided by Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-2006(b)(1)(G) and (b)(2)(G)-(H) in relation to
federal “safe harbor” lease election permitted under Section 168 of the Economic Recovery Act of
1981. If the net adjustment is an increase in taxable income, enter a negative number on this line.
Enter the amount on Schedule M, Line 8.

Enter intangible expenses paid, accrued, or incurred to an affiliated entity or entities. In order to
take this deduction, Form IE - Intangible Expense Disclosure must be completed and attached to the
return. Otherwise, the deduction will be disallowed.

Enter any intangible income from an affiliated business entity to the extent that the affiliate’s
corresponding intangible expense was included in the affiliate’s net earnings or loss, but not
deducted on the affiliate’s excise tax return under Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-2006(b)(2)(N).

Enter the amount of any pass-through net gain and income included in the excise tax base by the
taxpayer. The pass-through items are reported to the taxpayer on federal Schedule K-1. This
adjustment is only made if the entity issuing the K-1 is itself subject to the excise tax and filing a
franchise and excise tax return. This adjustment is to prevent the duplicate recognition of the gain
and income in the excise tax base.

Add Lines 13 through 22. This is the amount of total deductions.



Line 24: Add Lines 1 and 12, and subtract Line 23. This is the total business income. If the corporation has a
net loss, enter the amount on Schedule K, Line 1.

Line 25: Enter apportionment ratio as computed on Schedule N, O, P, R, or S. If the entity is not entitled to
apportion, enter 100%.

Line 26: Multiply Line 24 by Line 25.

Line 27: Enter the amount on Schedule M, Line 9.

Line 28: Enter loss carryover from prior year as shown on Schedule U. Please note that Tennessee loss
carryover is computed separately from federal loss carryover.

Line 29: Add Lines 26 and 27, and subtract Line 28. Enter this amount here and on Schedule B, Line 4. This is

the excise tax base.

Schedule K - Determination of Loss Carryover Available

Line 1: Enter the net loss from Schedule J, Line 24.

Line 2: Enter the total of amounts reported on Schedule J, Lines 15 and 19.

Line 3: Enter the total of amounts reported on Schedule J1, Lines 6 and 7 or on Schedule J2, Line 8.

Line 4: Add Lines 1 through 3. If the net amount is positive, then enter zero, and no loss carryover is
available. This is the net reduced loss carryover.

Line 5: Enter apportionment ratio as computed on Schedule N, O, P, R, or S. If the entity is not entitled to
apportion, enter 100%.

Line 6: Multiply Line 4 by Line 5. This is the current year loss carryover available.

Schedule M - Nonbusiness Earnings

Lines 1-7: Income that meets the statutory definition of nonbusiness earnings is uncommon. Income that
does meet the definition and related expenses should be reported here. Deductions for taxpayer
expenses are generally related to both business and nonbusiness earnings. These expenses
include, but are not limited to, administrative costs, taxes, insurance, repairs, maintenance, and
depreciation. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, it is assumed that the expenses related to
nonbusiness rental earnings will be an amount equal to 50% of such earnings and that expenses
related to other nonbusiness earnings will be an amount equal to 5% of such earnings. See TENN.
CoMP. R. & REG. 1320-06-01.23(3).

Line 8-9: Add Lines 1 through 7 to arrive at net nonbusiness earnings and net nonbusiness earnings directly
allocated to Tennessee. Enter net nonbusiness earnings on Schedule J, Line 19 and net nonbusiness
earnings directly allocated to Tennessee on Schedule J, Line 27.

Apportionment Schedules

Multi-state taxpayers that have substantial nexus both within and outside of Tennessee apportion their business
earnings (Schedule J) and non-consolidated net worth (Schedule F1) using Schedules N, O, P, R, or S depending on
the taxpayer’'s primary business operations. Taxpayers with the right to apportion use an apportionment ratio to
determine the percentage of their total earnings or net worth that is attributable to Tennessee. See Tenn. Code
Ann. 88 67-4-2012 - 2014, 67-4-2110 - 2113 and TeNN. COmP. R. & REG. 1320-06-01-.27 - .35, 1320-06-01-.38, and
1320-06-01-.42. The code and rules can be accessed from the Department’s website at www.tn.gov/revenue.

Schedule N - Apportionment - Standard
Note that if the consolidated net worth group election has been made, this schedule is used for the apportionment
of earnings, but not for net worth. See Schedule 170NC or 170SF for the net worth apportionment calculation.

Lines 1-3: Complete all four columns for each line using the original tax-basis cost of the tangible property.
Beginning and end year values are reported in the respective columns for property located in
Tennessee and for all property located everywhere.

Line 4: Include all types of inventory on this line.

Line 5: Enter all tangible assets, including those classified as “current assets” or “other assets.”



Line 6:

Line 7:
Line 8:

Line 9:

Line 10:
Line 11:
Line 12:

Line 13:

Line 14:

Line 15:

Line 16:

Line 17:
Line 18:

Enter the taxpayer's percentage of ownership (shown on federal Schedule K-1) multiplied by the
amount of real and tangible personal property shown on the balance sheet of an entity treated as a
partnership for federal tax purposes. Only include on this line the taxpayer's ownership share of a
partnership’s property if the partnership itself is not required to file its own franchise and excise tax
return.

Add Lines 1 through 6.

Enter the amount of exempt inventory on this line. Exempt inventory is any amount in excess of
$30,000,000 of finished goods located in Tennessee that would otherwise be included in the
franchise tax base.

Subtract Line 8 from Line 7.

Add Lines 7(a) and (b) and divide by two.

Add Lines 9(a) and (b) and divide by two.

Enter the year-end value of rented property, determined by multiplying the annual rental rate by
eight. The value of owned or leased mobile/moveable property will be determined based on the
percentage of time the property was within the state during the tax period. However, the value of an
automobile/truck assigned to a traveling employee is entirely sourced to Tennessee if the vehicle is
registered in this state or if the employee’s compensation is assigned to Tennessee for purposes of
the payroll factor.

Add Lines 10 and 12 and enter in the appropriate columns. Divide 13(a) by 13(b) to calculate the
excise tax property ratio.

Add Lines 11 and 12 and enter in the appropriate columns. Divide 14(a) by 14(b) to calculate the
franchise tax property ratio.

Enter the total compensation paid during the taxable period in Tennessee on Line 15(a) and the total
compensation paid everywhere during the taxable period on Line 15(b). Divide 15(a) by 15(b) to
calculate the franchise and excise tax payroll ratios.

Enter the total business gross receipts during the taxable period in Tennessee on Line 16(a) and the
total everywhere business gross receipts during the taxable period on Line 16(b). Divide 16(a) by
16(b) to calculate the franchise and excise tax sales ratios.

Add Lines 13 through 15 and Line 16 multiplied by three.

Divide Line 17 by five or by the number of factors with everywhere values greater than zero. If a
factor's denominator (everywhere value) is zero, that factor is eliminated entirely and the average is
computed from the remaining factor or factors. Enter the result of the franchise tax ratio here and
on Schedule F1, Line 4, and the result of the excise tax ratio here and on Schedule J, Line 25.

Schedule O - Apportionment - Common Carriers

Line 1:

Line 2:

Line 3:
Line 4:

Enter total miles in Tennessee and total miles everywhere. Railroads will use total miles owned and
operated or leased and operated. Motor carriers will use the total franchise miles or odometer
miles, if there are no franchise miles, to which it holds or uses under lease, contract, or otherwise,
certificates of convenience and necessity from the Interstate Commerce Commission or Department
of Safety. Pipelines will use the number of pipeline miles owned, operated, or owned and operated.
Determine the ratio by dividing Tennessee miles by everywhere miles.

Enter total gross receipts from operations on business beginning and ending within Tennessee
without entering or passing through any other state and total gross receipts everywhere. Determine
the ratio by dividing Tennessee receipts by everywhere receipts.

Add the mileage (Line 1) and revenue (Line 2) ratios.

Divide Line 3 by two or by the number of factors with everywhere values greater than zero. If a
factor's denominator (everywhere value) is zero, that factor is eliminated entirely and the average is
computed from the remaining factor or factors. Enter here and on Schedule F1, Line 4, and on
Schedule J, Line 25.



Schedule P - Apportionment - Air Carriers

Line 1: Enter the amount of revenue originating within Tennessee and the total amount of revenue
originating everywhere. Determine the ratio by dividing Tennessee revenue by everywhere revenue.
Line 2: Enter the total Tennessee air miles and the total everywhere air miles flown. Tennessee air miles are

those from flights originating from and/or ending in Tennessee. Determine the ratio by dividing
Tennessee miles by everywhere miles.

Line 3: Add the revenue (Line 1) and miles (Line 2) ratios.

Line 4: Divide Line 3 by two or by the number of factors with everywhere values greater than zero. Ifa
factor's denominator (everywhere value) is zero, that factor is eliminated entirely and the average is
computed from the remaining factor or factors. Enter here and on Schedule F1, Line 4, and on
Schedule J, Line 25.

Schedule R - Apportionment - Air Express Carriers

Line 1: Enter the amount of revenue originating within Tennessee and the total amount of revenue
originating everywhere. Determine the ratio by dividing Tennessee revenue by everywhere revenue.
Line 2: Enter the total of Tennessee air miles flown and ground miles traveled and the total of all air miles

flown and ground miles traveled. Tennessee air miles are those from flights originating from and/or
ending in Tennessee. Ground miles traveled are only those traveled with respect to the actual
common carriage of persons or property for hire. Determine the ratio by dividing Tennessee miles
by everywhere miles.

Line 3: Add the revenue (Line 1) and miles (Line 2) ratios.

Line 4: Divide Line 3 by two or by the number of factors with everywhere values greater than zero. If a
factor's denominator (everywhere value) is zero, that factor is eliminated entirely and the average is
computed from the remaining factor or factors. Enter here and on Schedule F1, Line 4, and on
Schedule J, Line 25.

Schedule S - Apportionment - Manufacturer Single Sales Factor

Line 1: Enter the total business gross receipts during the taxable period in Tennessee and the total
everywhere business gross receipts during the taxable period. Determine the ratio by dividing
Tennessee receipts by everywhere receipts. Enter here and on Schedule F1, Line 4, and on Schedule
J, Line 25.

Schedule T - Industrial Machinery and Research and Development Tax Credit
Industrial machinery includes everything included under the industrial machinery definition in Tenn. Code Ann. 8
67-6-102, computer and related equipment listed in Tenn. Code Ann. 8 67-4-2009(3)(A)(ii) purchased as part of the
required capital investment made in order to qualify for the job tax credit, and certain research and development
equipment meeting the requirements of TENN. COMP. R. & REG. 1320-05-01-.128. This regulation requires that the
ultimate goal of the research and development must be one of the following:

e basic research in a scientific field of endeavor;

e advancing knowledge or technology in a scientific or technical field of endeavor;

e the development of a new product, whether or not the new product is offered for sale;

e the improvement of an existing product, whether or not the improved product is offered for sale;

e the development of new uses of an existing product, whether or not a new use is offered as a rationale to

purchase the product; or
e the design and development of prototypes, whether or not a resulting product is offered for sale.

Part 1

Line 1: Enter the purchase price of industrial machinery and research and development equipment
purchased or leased during the tax period.

Line 2: Enter 1% unless the taxpayer has prior approval for a higher rate under Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-

2009 (3)(I) for investments in excess of $100,000,000.



Line 3: Multiply Line 1 by Line 2.

Line 4: Enter the amount of credit carryover available from Schedule V.

Line 5: Add Lines 3 and 4.

Line 6: Add Schedule A, Line 3 and Schedule B, Line 5.

Line 7: Enter 50% of Line 6 unless the taxpayer has prior approval from the Commissioner of Revenue and

the Commissioner of Economic and Community Development for a higher limitation under Tenn.
Code Ann. § 67-4-2009(3)(H).

Line 8: Add Schedule A, Line 3 and Schedule B, Line 5.

Line 9: Add credits from Schedule D, Lines 1 through 4 and Schedule D, Line 9.

Line 10: Subtract Line 9 from Line 8.

Line 11: Enter the least of Lines 5, 7 or 10. Also enter this amount on Schedule D, Line 5.

Part 2

Line 12; Enter the amount calculated on the Industrial Machinery Credit Recapture Worksheet, Part 2, Line 16.
Line 13; Enter the amount calculated on the Industrial Machinery Credit Recapture Worksheet, Part 2, Line 17.

Also enter this amount on Schedule B, Line 6.

Schedule U - Schedule of Loss Carryover
Net operating losses may be carried forward and used to offset income for up to 15 years or until fully used,
whichever occurs first.

Period Ended - Enter the ending date of the tax period in which the loss was incurred. List the oldest period
first.

e Original Return or as Amended - Enter the amount of loss created in the corresponding tax period. If this
amount has been adjusted by the Department, or otherwise amended, enter the corrected amount. If there is
an adjustment that has not been previously reported to us, simply changing this line will not adjust our records.
Adjustments must be made on the applicable Departmental form (amended FAE170, Federal Income Revision
form, etc.) or by correspondence.

e Used in Prior Year(s) - Enter the cumulative amount of loss carryover that has previously been used. The oldest
loss within the 15 year carryover period is used first.

e Expired - Enter the amount of loss carryover that was not used within the 15 year carryover period.

e Loss Carryover Available - Enter each year's carryover amount less amounts used or expired. Tenn. Code Ann. 8
67-4-2006(c)(8) requires that loss carryover be reduced by the Tennessee portion of discharge of indebtedness
income excluded from federal gross income under IRC Section 108(a) where the bankruptcy discharge occurs on
or after October 1, 2013. See Excise Tax Report of Bankruptcy Discharge form and the above referenced code
section for more information. Enter the total loss carryover on Schedule J, Line 28.

Schedule V - Industrial Machinery Credit Carryover
Industrial Machinery Credit may be carried forward and used to offset franchise and excise tax for up to fifteen
years or until fully utilized, whichever occurs first.

e Period Ended - Enter the ending date of the tax period in which the credit originated. List the oldest period first.

e Original Return or as Amended - Enter the amount of credit created in the corresponding tax period. If this
amount has been adjusted by the Department, or otherwise amended, enter the corrected amount. If there is
an adjustment that has not been previously reported to us, simply changing this line will not adjust our records.
Adjustments must be made on the applicable Departmental form (amended FAE170, Federal Income Revision



form, etc.) or by correspondence.

Used in Prior Year(s) - Enter the cumulative amount of credit that has previously been used. The oldest credit
within the 15 year carryover period is used first.

Expired or Recaptured - Enter the amount of credit that was not used within the 15 year carryover period.

Industrial Machinery Credit Carryover Available - Enter each year's carryover amount less amounts used or
expired. Enter the total industrial machinery credit carryover on Schedule T, Line 4.



