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SLS
953

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

REPORT OF CASUAL OR ISOLATED SALE OF VESSEL OR BOAT

Validation Number

New Owner’s First Name Middle Initial Last Name Previous Owner’s First Name Middle Initial Last Name
Street Address Street Address
City State Zip Code City State Zip Code
Date Make of Boat Model Hull ID# Year Body Style Open Length Current No.
Acquired (MFG) Built . on Boat
Cabin House

__ Personal Watercraft

1. Purchase Price of Boat, Motor,
and Trailer (Attach Bill of Sale)

2. Trade-in Allowance
(* Enter below)

3. Taxable Amount

4. Taxable Amount of Boat/Motor
(**See Line 6)

5. Taxable Amount of Trailer
(***See Line 9)

$ $ $ $ $
6. State Sales or Use Tax Due on Boat and Motor (Amount in Line 4 multiplied by state rate. ** If purchase price
of boat, motor, and trailer is one amount, use 90% of Line 3 for boat and motor purchase price.) $
7. Local Sales or Use Tax Due on Boat and Motor (Up to $1,600 of amount in Line 4 multiplied by local rate.
Local tax capped at $1,600 on each single article.) $
8. State Single Article Tax Due on Boat and Motor (Multiply portion of amount in Line 4 between $1,600 and
$3,200 by 2.75%) $
9. State Sales or Use Tax Due on Trailer (Amount in Line 5 multiplied by state rate. *** If purchase price of boat,
motor, and trailer is one amount, use 10% of Line 3 for trailer purchase price.) $
10. Local Sales or Use Tax Due on Trailer (Up to $1,600 of amount in Line 5 multiplied by local rate. Local tax
capped at $1,600 on each single article.) $
11. State Single Atrticle Tax Due on Trailer (Multiply portion of amount in Line 5 between $1,600 and $
$3,200 by 2.75%)
12. State and Local Tax Due on all Warranty or Service Contracts purchased on Boat, 12a  State Tax 12b. Local Tax
Motor, and/or Trailer and on which Tennessee Sales Tax was not Collected (Multiply
total purchase prices by the state and local sales tax rates). $ $
13.Sales or Use Tax Paid in State of (Documentation must be attached) $

14.Tax Due (Lines 6 - 12 less Line 13): $ 15. Clerk's Fee: $

16.Total Due (Lines 14 and 15): $

County Clerk - If no tax due, mark specific explanation. Must attach any required information.

Trade-in - Enter year, make, model, and hull or VIN#

Gift (Attach affidavit)

New Tennessee Resident - NOT EXEMPT on boats with a fair market value of $10,000 or more. Must pay
tax on Fair Market Value of $10.000 or more less tax paid in other state. Complete Line 13.

Resale - Enter Sales Tax Account Number

Other (Attach documentation)

| certify that tax is paid on total consideration of boat, motor and trailer.

Signature of New Owner: Date:

Name of County Clerk:

Signature certifies that taxpayer has paid tax on the sales price as required by Tenn. Code Ann. Section 67-6-406.

Name of County:

Signature:

Title:

RV-F1303401 Original Form - Department of Revenue First Copy - Boat Owner Second Copy - County Clerk

INTERNET (10-15)



INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM SL S953 - REPORT OF CASUAL OR ISOLATED SALE OF VESSEL OR BOAT

Note: Information required on this form must be complete. Please print all entries.

PURCHASER AND SELLER INFORMATION:

(1) Enter the full names of both the purchaser and the seller. In the event of joint registration, enter both registrants’ names.
(2) Enter the street addresses of both the purchaser and the seller. Do not enter post office boxes.
(3) Enter the city, state, and zip codes of both the purchaser and the seller.

BOAT IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION:

Enter the date the purchaser acquired the boat/trailer, the make of boat, the model, the hull identification number, the year built, the body
style, the length, and any current number of the boat in the fields provided. This information must be complete and accurate.

TAX CALCULATION:

Item 1: Enter the full purchase price of the three items (boat, motor, and trailer) and attach the bill of sale. If no bill of sale is available, use
the N.A.D.A. fair market value of the boat, motor, and trailer. The purchaser may also obtain an appraisal from a reputable boat dealer.
Item 2: Enter the documented trade-in-allowance. If the trade-in is not documented, none will be allowed. Please note the trade-in must be
identified in the lower portion of this document.

Item 3: Subtract the amount in Item 2 from the amount in Item 1. Enter the amount here.

Item 4: Enter the taxable amount of the boat and motor. If the boat, motor, and trailer had a single purchase price, use 90% of the Item 3
amount.

Item 5: Enter the taxable amount of the trailer. If the boat, motor, and trailer had a single purchase price, use 10% of the Item 3 amount.
Item 6: Calculate the state sales or use tax on the combined value of the boat and motor, as shown in Item 4.

Item 7: Calculate the local sales or use tax rate on the first $1,600 of the combined value of the boat and motor. Use the local tax rate in
effect in the purchaser’s home county.

Item 8: Calculate the state single article tax of 2.75% on any portion of the combined value of the boat and motor beginning with $1,600.01
up to $3,200.

Item 9: Calculate the state sales tax on the value of the trailer, as shown on Line 5.

Item 10: Calculate the local sales or use tax rate on the first $1,600 of the value of the trailer. Use the local tax rate in effect in the
purchaser’s home county.

Item 11: Calculate the state single article tax of 2.75% on any portion of the value of the trailer beginning with $1600.01 up to $3200.
Item 12: Total the purchase prices of all warranty or service contracts purchased on all items. Calculate the Tennessee state and local
sales taxes due on the total purchase price of all warranty or service contracts. Enter collected state tax in 12a and local tax in 12b.
Item 13: Enter the amount of sales or use tax paid on the boat, motor, and trailer in the prior state of residence and the name of the state
where the tax was paid. Tax paid in another state must be documented.

Item 14: Enter the total tax due. Add Lines 6 — 12 and subtract Line 13.

Item 15: Enter the appropriate clerk’s fee.

Item 16: Enter the total tax and clerk’s fee. This is the amount to be collected from the customer.

COUNTY CLERK INFORMATION:

Trade-in: Completely identify and describe the boat, motor, and trailer for which a trade-in allowance was entered in Item 2.

Gift: Gifts between lineal relatives are exempt from sales and use tax. Gifts between other entities must be completely free of consideration
(monetary or tangible), services provided, etc., to be exempt from sales and use tax. Clerks must require an affidavit from the donor (prior
owner) affirming that no consideration was given and explaining why the boat, motor, and trailer are being given away. Questionable gifts
may be reviewed by the Department of Revenue, and the owner may be contacted for confirmation.

Important Information on New Tennessee Residents Importing a Boat, Motor, and Trailer: The boat and motor are tangible personal
property subject to use tax on the fair market value at the time of importation if the value is $10,000 or more. Trailers are separate items
and are always subject to tax upon importation. The fair market value may be established by N.A.D.A. or appraisal by a reputable dealer.
One hundred percent of documented sales tax paid to the state of origin may be given in Line 13. Title and registration in the prior state
does not establish the basis for giving the credit unless the amount of tax paid is shown. Also, there is no time element of ownership in
the other state that will create an exemption from Tennessee use tax.

Resale: Adealer in Tennessee may register a boat on temporary basis for demonstration under a TWRA permit. Enter the sales tax number
of the dealer. This cannot be used for registration in other than the business name.

Other: If the transaction or importation does not fall into any of the other categories given, explain here and attach documentation.

Signature of New Owner and County Clerk Information: Please obtain the signature of the new owner and fill in the fields as indicated.
Three copies of this form are needed - one for the county clerk, one for the owner, and one copy for the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

County Clerks: Please refer to Tenn. Code Ann. Section 67-6-406, which establishes responsibility for effective administration of
sales and use tax on boat transactions. For assistance, call the Taxpayer Services Division at (615) 253-0600 or toll-free (800) 342-
1003.
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