TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE RV-R0005801 (12/18)
Wholesale Beer Tax Return

BER Filing Period Due Date
107 Check if applicable:
Account Number FEIN/SSN Amended return
Legal Name Remit amount on Line 8 to:

Tennessee Department of Revenue
Mailing Address Andrew Jackson State Office Building
500 Deaderick Street

Nashville, Tennessee 37242

City state ZIP Code You may file your return and payment at
www.tn.gov/revenue.
Round to the nearest dollar
1. Total amount of tax collected (total from Schedule A, column €) ...cccevvvuvennne )

2. Total amount of tax paid directly to counties and cities

(total from Schedule A, COIUMN A).uviiieiiiiiieiieceeeeeeeeee et saaee e (2)
3. Vendor's compensation (total from Schedule A, column €).......cccceevvvvvriennnn. (3)
4, Tax due to State (total from Schedule A, cOluMN ) woovevvveveiiinieieeeeeeeee (4)
5. Credit memo balanCe e 1 e, (5)
6. Penalty (see iNStruCtions) ...cccivvevereenieneenieneeeseeienieens I_ ........ (6)
7. INtErest (SEE INSTIUCTIONS).uuuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiteeeeee e e re e e e e (7)
8. Total amount due to State (add Lines 4, 6 and 7, subtract Line 5).................. (8)

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this report, and to the best of my knowledge and belief,
itis true, correct, and complete.

Taxpayer's Signature Date Title
Tax Preparer's Signature Preparer's PTIN Date Telephone
Preparer's Address City State ZIP Code

Preparer's Email Address

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY



Schedule A - Tax Computation
Attach additional schedules as needed.

Total $35.60
Situs Codes County or City Tax Collected $34.51 $0.92 $0.17

(a) (b) (c) (d) (e) f)
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Totals (add Lines 1 through 35)......cccccvvevvennnne. (0 (d) (e) )




Instructions: Wholesale Beer Tax Return

Wholesalers of beer must pay a monthly tax of $35.60 per barrel of beer sold at wholesale in Tennessee.
Manufacturers of beer selling their products at retail under Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-5-101(c) are also subject to this
tax. A“barrel”is 31 liquid gallons of beer. Beer is defined as any alcoholic beverage, other than wine, that has an
alcohol content of 8 percent or less by weight. Wholesale sales of barrels of more or less than 31 liquid gallons
are taxed at a proportionate rate. Of the $35.60 tax, $34.51 is paid directly to the county or city in which the sale is
made, $0.92 is retained by the wholesaler, and $0.17 is remitted to the Department of Revenue with this form.

The return along with the appropriate tax payment is due monthly on or before the 20th day of the month following
the period covered. In addition to filing this return and submitting the amount listed on Line 8 to the Department

of Revenue, you should submit your completed return and appropriate payment amount shown in Schedule A,
column (d) to each county or city listed in Schedule A, column (b). The Department of Revenue does not make any
payments to counties or cities on your behalf. Returns and payments submitted to the Department should be done
online by visiting the Department’s website at www.tn.gov/revenue. Alternatively, you may mail returns and
payments owed to the Department to the address listed on the return.

You must sign and date your return. Paid preparers (accountants, attorneys, etc.) must also sign the return. If this is
an amended return, please indicate the “Filing Period” and check the appropriate box on the front of this form.

Return

Line 1:  Enter the total amount of tax owed from Schedule A, column (c).

Line 2:  Enter the total amount of tax paid directly to the counties and cities from Schedule A, column (d).

Line 3:  Enter the total amount of vendor's compensation retained from Schedule A, column (e).

Line 4:  Enter the total amount of tax owed to the State from Schedule A, column (f). This should equal Lines 2
and 3 subtracted from Line 1.

Line 5:  If your account has a credit balance from an overpayment on a prior return, enter the amount on this line.

Line 6:  Penalty is calculated at a rate of 5% for each 30-day period, or portion thereof, that a return is delinquent,
up to a maximum of 25% of the delinquent amount. The minimum penalty is $15 for the delinquent
filing of a return. If your return is delinquent, apply the appropriate penalty rate to the total tax due
from Line 4.

Line 7: Interestis due on any amount of tax that is paid after the statutory due date of the return. The interest
rate is determined in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-801. The current interest rate can
be found at www.tn.gov/revenue by clicking the Tax Resources tab. If the payment is late, apply the
interest rate to the total tax due from Line 4.

Line 8: Add Lines 4, 6, and 7; subtract Line 5.

Schedule A - Tax Computation

In columns (a) and (b), list every city and/or county, including situs codes, in which you made wholesale sales
during the period. You can find a link to the county and city situs codes on the Department’s website by clicking on
Additional Resources for Researchers under the Tax Resources tab. In column (c), list the total amount of tax owed
on sales made in each county or city. In column (d), list the portion of the total tax that is owed to the county or city.
In column (e), list the portion of the total tax that you are retaining for vendor's compensation. In column (f), list the
portion of the total tax that is owed to the State. Total the amounts in columns (c)-(f) and enter here in the
appropriate space and on Lines 1-4 of the return.



