
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



1-Private vs. Public  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-services/documents/Child%20Support%20Program%20Fact%20Sheet%20-

%206-2018%20Updated%20links.pdf  

Basically, there are two “paths” to accessing the Tennessee courts for paternity and child support orders. One path is 

hiring a private attorney who represents you and files your case in a district court. The other path is applying for services 

with the Tennessee Department of Human Services (TDHS), Child Support Program which will then prepare legal 

documents to establish paternity and child support.  Title IV-D of the Social Security Act requires all states to have a child 

support program.  The Child Support Program is sometimes referred to as the IV-D program for this reason.  The 

program promotes parental responsibility to meet the financial needs of children and their families. 

Private System (Non-IV-D): Public System (Title IV-D): 

Pros Pros 

• Private attorney represents your interests 

• Able to file a divorce order as well as paternity, 
child support, custody/visitation 

• Able to divide property and assets 

• Parenting plans with visitation schedules  

• Able to modify custody/visitation orders 

• Generally smaller court dockets in District Courts 
 

• Free/low cost – includes low-cost DNA testing, limited 
court costs, $35 annual fee on cases that have not 
received TANF benefits and if the state agency collects 
at least five hundred fifty dollars ($550) in child support 
payments on behalf of the family in a given fiscal year 

• Extensive locate resources and enforcement tools – 
administrative and court-based 

• Interstate enforcement resources 

• Connection to broad range of other public services (e.g. 
Medicaid, SNAP, Child Care, etc.) 
 

Cons Cons 

• Costs – for the attorney, court costs, and other 
fees (e.g. DNA testing, service of process, locate) 

• No administrative enforcement remedies – most 
enforcement actions require court filing 

• Some private attorneys have limited experience 
with non-marital cases and child support 
guidelines 

• No divorce orders and no division of property – married 
couples may get child support and custody/visitation 
addressed in separate orders    

• District Attorneys, private contractors and program staff 
do not represent either parent, they represent the 
State  

• Title IV-D courts have large dockets – may have 20 - 100 
other parents in court on the same day 

• No authority to address custody or visitation in 
conjunction with support orders 

• Large caseload in the public system – limited staff time 
for each case and customer service staff generally 
handle parent case non-legal questions 
 

 

Consideration – Most people would use a private attorney if they could afford one, though in all situations, child support 
orders follow the child support guidelines outlined in the Tennessee Codes Annotated (state law) with some deviations if 
the cases warrant this.     

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________
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2-Paternity Establishment 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-establishing-paternity.html  

https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/tennessee-paternity-
acknowledgment-program--tn-vaop-.html  

Paternity means legal fatherhood.  If a child is born while two people are married, or within 300 days of the end of the 
marriage, the husband, or ex-husband, of the mother is presumed to be the father of the child.  This means that no 
further actions are needed to establish paternity.  

If a child is born to parents who are not married at the time of birth, paternity must be established for the child to have 
a legal connection to his or her father.  This connection carries benefits, rights, and duties.  Establishing paternity is the 
first step necessary to pursue other rights. 

The two methods to establish paternity are:  

• The Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity 

• A Paternity Order – agreed or non-agreed  

Voluntary Acknowledgment of 

Paternity “VAoP” 

Agreed Paternity Order Non-Agreed (Court Ordered) 

Paternity 

This is when: 

• Parents work together to complete 
and file a Voluntary 
Acknowledgment of Paternity with 
the Office of Vital Records.  

This is when: 

• Parents, and then a court official, sign a 
legal agreement (court order) stating 
who the father of a child is. 

This is when: 

• A court order resolves 
paternity when one or both 
parents do not agree on who 
the father of a child is.  

What does it do? 

• Establishes legal connection 
between a father and child. 

• Either parent can then ask 
(petition) the court for custody, 
visitation, child and medical 
support. 

What does it do? 

• Establishes legal connection between a 
father and child. 

• Parents agree to specific legal rights 
about child support and medical 
support. 

What does it do? 

• Court orders legal connection 
between a father and child.  

• Court orders specific legal 
responsibilities about child 
support and medical support. 

Steps to take: Steps to take:  Steps to take: 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-establishing-paternity.html
https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/tennessee-paternity-acknowledgment-program--tn-vaop-.html
https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/tennessee-paternity-acknowledgment-program--tn-vaop-.html


• Hospitals must offer the 
opportunity to voluntarily establish 
paternity to all unmarried parents 
at the time of their baby’s birth. 

• Although paternity can be 
established through the Voluntary 
Acknowledgment of Paternity until 
the child reaches age 19, it is in the 
best interest of the child to 
establish paternity as soon as 
possible. Most hospitals can 
facilitate this process, or the form 
can be completed at a health 
department or child support office. 

• You can submit an agreed paternity 
order to the court on your own, with 
the help of a private attorney, or by 
working with the child support 
program. 

• Apply with the child support program 
and ask about the child support order 
and paternity establishment processes.  

• Visit the child support program’s 
website to learn more about applying 
for child support services at 
https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/fo
r-families/child-support-services/child-
support-applying-for-services.html  

• You can obtain court ordered 
paternity on your own, with 
the help of a private attorney, 
or by working with the child 
support program. 

• Applications may be obtained 
in person at any child support 
office or online at 
https://www.tn.gov/humanse
rvices/for-families/child-
support-services/child-
support-applying-for-
services.html  

 
If paternity has not been established by another method, the child support office can schedule paternity testing to 
determine whether the individual is the father.  After positive DNA testing results are returned to the local child support 
office from the certified DNA lab, paternity and child support will be established through court order.  Low-cost DNA 
testing is available for parents establishing paternity through the child support program. Please be aware that paternity 
orders established by the child support program must be based on DNA test results obtained through a State contracted 
testing lab.       
 

Key Points on Paternity Establishment: 

• The VAoP has the same legal impact as a court order determining the relationship of parent and child. 
• The child support program will not provide DNA testing in cases where paternity has already been established by 

marriage or the signing of a VAoP. 
• Either parent can file a petition (on their own or with the help of a private attorney) or open a case with the 

child support program to establish paternity.   
• An unwed father does not have the same rights as a father who was married to the mother.  Those rights are 

only legally obtained via an order signed by a judge.  Paternity is the first step necessary to file for other rights. 

 

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________
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3-Public Benefits and Cooperation with the Child Support Enforcement Program 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/families-first-tanf.html  

What types of 

benefits may 

require 

cooperation? 

• Families First 

*Tennessee’s 

Temporary Assistance 

for Needy Families 

(TANF) program  

• Medicaid 

When a custodial parent applies for and receives Families First cash 

assistance and/or Medicaid for a child and the other parent of that child 

is not in the household, cooperation with the child support program may 

be required.  Part of the application process for public assistance 

includes identifying the non-custodial parent.   

What is 

considered 

cooperation? 

• Taking action that is 

essential for 

establishing paternity 

and/or child support 

Examples of cooperation include: 

• Completing necessary documentation in full 

• Providing information about the non-custodial parent  

• Submitting yourself and/or child to DNA testing 

• Appearing for court hearings when required 

• Directing support payments to the child support program 

• Refusing to accept direct payments from the noncustodial parent 

(NCP) 

Why do I have 

to cooperate? 

• Assignment of Rights The acceptance of Families First benefits creates an assignment of rights 

to repay the state and federal governments for public assistance money 

you receive for your family in accordance with federal distribution.  

The Families First program determines the monthly unmet need amount 

for the household.  Child support payments collected up to the amount 

of the unmet need will be distributed to the custodial parent.   

What if I do not 

cooperate? 

• Families First benefits 

may be denied 

 

If there is no good cause for not cooperating with the child support 

program to establish paternity and/or child support, the DHS office that 

issued the benefits will be notified, future months of TANF will be 

denied, and the child support case will be closed. Eligibility to receive 

TANF will not be granted until there is cooperation with the child 

support program.   

What if 

cooperating 

may put myself 

or my child in 

danger? 

• Good cause for not 

cooperating may be 

claimed 

• The child support 

program also has 

procedures for 

pursuing child 

support safely 

The Families FirstF application process allows for a claim of good cause 

for not cooperating with the child support program in pursuing child 

support or establishing paternity. Examples of good cause include: 

• The child was conceived as a result of rape or incest 

• Legal proceedings for adoption of the child are pending before a court 

• Cooperation in establishing paternity or securing support may result in 

physical or emotional harm to yourself or the child 

• A child support case can be opened with a family violence indicator 

alerting program staff to take precautionary measures including 

redacting the applicant’s address from documents 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/families-first-tanf.html


What happens 

when I am no 

longer receiving 

TANF? 

 When TANF benefits stop, the child support case will remain open unless 

the recipient of services notifies the child support program that services 

are no longer needed and there is no assigned balance owed to the 

state.  Case closure does not terminate the support obligation.   If there 

remains an active order, the case will become a Non-IV-D case for 

payment processing and federal reporting requirements only.  

 

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________
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4-Opening a Child Support Case 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-applying-for-services.html  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-services/documents/cs_handbook.pdf  

Why apply for child support 

services? 

• Help with locating an absent parent. Custodial parents may want help locating 
the noncustodial parent to receive financial support.   

• Paternity testing – many unmarried mothers and fathers want the certainty that 
DNA paternity testing brings – and it may be that the parents have no questions, 
but they know others may question paternity. 

• Formal, enforceable child support order – informal agreements between parents 
may work in some situations, but couples parenting in separate households can 
benefit from the structure that a court order for child support and medical 
support provides. Custodial parents are more likely to receive a consistent 
amount of support with a formal order and noncustodial parents know that their 
support is documented. 

• If the other parent resides outside of Tennessee, the child support program has 
tools and resources available for working with child support programs in other 
states, territories, tribes, and specific countries.   
 

Who can apply for services? • Anyone, regardless of income or residency, who would like to establish paternity, 
child support, or have child and medical support enforced for a child may apply. 

• Custodial parents or noncustodial parents can apply and be considered the 
“recipient of services.” 
 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-applying-for-services.html
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-services/documents/cs_handbook.pdf


How does a parent apply? • Applications may be completed online or a paper application obtained in person 
at any child support program office or on the Tennessee Department of Human 
Services’ website at  https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-
support-services/child-support-applying-for-services.html  

• Completed paper applications may be mailed, faxed or returned in person at any 
child support program office – https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-
families/child-support-services/child-support-office-locator.html  
 

What information needs to 

be provided to apply? 

 

 

 

• The more detailed information that can be provided about each parent and the 
child, the faster the child support program will be able to process an application. 

• Address information, employer information, dates of marriage and separation, if 
applicable, date of birth and paternity establishment information on children, and 
any financial support that the parent without custody has provided are examples 
of the kinds of information applicants will be asked to provide. 

• If there is reason to believe that the other parent might try to harm the applicant 
or child(ren), check “yes” on #3, page 2 of the Application for Child Support 
Services.   

• If there is a fear of harm, the address for the person with concern will be 
redacted from documents used in processing their case. 
 

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-
services/documents/Helpful_Documentation.pdf  

What if the other parent 

lives in another state? 

If the other parent lives outside of Tennessee, the location will be verified, and the 
case evaluated for the next appropriate steps to take. The child support program will 
either attempt to manage the case “long arm” or send a request to the other state 
for an “intergovernmental” case. 
Long arm: This works much like a local case, but establishment and enforcement 
tools may be limited. Typically, long arm is most effective when the other parent is 
cooperative.  
Intergovernmental: When the child support program does not have sufficient tools 
or jurisdiction for long arm, an intergovernmental case may be needed. This will 
require additional documents to create a referral to the other state. Both states will 
work together to establish and/or enforce an order.  
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5-What Happens After a Parent has Applied for Services? 

Case Set Up The information supplied by the parent applying for services will be reviewed for 

completeness.  The child support program will then schedule a date and time to interview the 

applicant. 

Locate The child support program will try to locate the other parent – based on information provided 

by the applying parent and additional information available through state and federal locate 

databases. 

Information 

Gathering 

After locating the other parent, the child support program will contact them to gather 

information needed to continue processing the case. 

DNA Testing If paternity has not been established by marriage or VAoP, paternity testing will be scheduled 

by the child support program.  An Administrative Order for Genetic Testing will be sent to the 

parties advising of the date and time for paternity testing. The appointments can be 

scheduled at different times when safety is a concern. 

 

Upon receipt of the paternity test results, a copy will be mailed to each party.  The results 

cannot be provided to either party over the phone.    

 

Positive test results alone do not establish paternity.  A court order must be entered.     

Service of Process The nonapplicant will be served legal documents with the date, time, and location for a court 

date.  Some jurisdictions offer a time prior to court to allow the parties to agree to an order.  

When safety is a concern, these discussions can be held with the parties separately. 

Both parties are sent an Affidavit of Income and Expense.  The information requested is 

needed to determine the appropriate amount of child support based upon Tennessee’s child 

support guidelines.  This information needed with support documentation includes the 

following for the parent completing the form: 

• Number of days with the child(ren) per year 

• Gross Monthly income 

• Monthly premium for health insurance (credit is given only for the child(ren)’s portion) 

• Monthly recurring medical expenses for the child(ren) 

• Monthly work-related childcare cost for the child(ren) 

• Identity of children in home not related to the case but whom there is a legal responsibility 

• Identity of children not in home, not related to the case, but whom there is a legal 

responsibility – including amount of child support paid on other child support orders.  This 

includes biological children, adopted children, but not foster care children or other children 

to whom you have legal custody (unless biological or adopted).   

 

The nonapplicant has 30 days from the date they are served to respond. 

 

The applicant is sent a letter with the date and time for the court hearing. 



Court The child support program takes precautions when safety is a concern.  Some courts allow 

appearance by electronic means.  Some courts provide a court officer to escort those with 

safety concerns to their mode of transportation. The local child support office should be 

contacted for their specific options.   

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-

services/documents/345915%20What%20to%20Expect%20in%20Court%2002-19.pdf  

Enforcement Once an order has been finalized, it is entered into the child support program system and 

enforcement actions are initiated as needed.  (See #10 below for additional information.) 

 

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________
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6-How are Child Support Order Amounts Established? 

Child support is calculated using the child support guidelines found in Title 36 of the Tennessee Codes Annotated 

(state law). Information on the guidelines, including a free child support calculator may be found at 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-guidelines.html  

Calculating the amount of child support based on the guidelines can be complex. Tennessee no longer uses a set 
percentage of gross income to determine the amount of support all parents are responsible for. Multiple factors may be 
taken into consideration such as the income of both parties; an ability to pay support; and the basic needs of the child. 
Other factors that may impact the amount of support ordered include childcare costs, health insurance costs, special 
education needs and the legal responsibility the parties may have to support other children. 

What About Retroactive Support?  

What is retroactive 
support? 

Retroactive support refers to child support for the period of time before an ongoing 
support obligation is established.  

 

How far back does 
retroactive support go? 

In Tennessee, retroactive support is limited to 5 years from the date the action for 
support was filed unless the court determines that a different award of retroactive child 

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-services/documents/345915%20What%20to%20Expect%20in%20Court%2002-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-services/documents/345915%20What%20to%20Expect%20in%20Court%2002-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-guidelines.html


support is in the interest of justice.  This determination would be based upon proof 
provided by the custodial parent to the court.  It can be less than or more than 5 years; 
depending upon the circumstances and evidence of the case.  

 

What about medical 
support? 

All support orders established by child support program must include a provision for 
medical support. Medical support includes private health insurance or a public health 
plan such as Medicaid. Either parent can be ordered to provide medical support.  The 
cost of the child(ren)’s portion of the health insurance is a factor in the child support 
guidelines.  Any plan of insurance must be accessible for the child and be reasonable in 
cost. Reasonable in cost is considered to be not more than 5% of the monthly gross 
income of the person providing the coverage.  
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7-Will I Have to Go to Court? 

Do all cases go to court? Some jurisdictions offer a time prior to court to allow the parties to enter into an agreed 

order. If there is a disagreement or if either party has requested a hearing, the case will 

be set for court. 

What if we DO need to go 

to court? 

Prior to going to court, each parent will be notified of the place, date, and time of the 

hearing. Courtrooms throughout the state have different processes so any special 

instructions will be included. 

What happens in court? In most courtrooms, each parent will be sworn in and sit in front of a judge or 

magistrate. The case details and recommendations for support, if all applicable 

information has been received, will be presented by a child support program attorney. 

The judge or magistrate may ask clarifying questions and give each party the opportunity 



to provide testimony or ask questions. Upon hearing all evidence, the judge or 

magistrate will enter their recommendations on record and end the hearing.  

Also, in most jurisdictions, the court allows the parties to speak to the child support 

attorney prior to a hearing to determine if an agreement can be 

reached.https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-

services/documents/345915%20What%20to%20Expect%20in%20Court%2002-19.pdf  

Things to keep in mind… • Child support hearings are usually very fast paced so it is important to be prepared to 

speak when it is your turn. Bringing a list of any questions or concerns may be helpful. 

• Always be prepared with copies of your income information such as check stubs or W-

2s, cost of health insurance for the child(ren), and cost of childcare (even if you have 

already submitted a copy directly to the child support office.) 

• The attorneys and child support program staff do not represent either parent and must 

remain neutral. Case facts and documents must be presented in a non-biased manner.  

• Either parent may contest the court’s decision by filing a written appeal within the 

time stated in the court order.   

• Any safety concerns should be discussed with child support services prior to the day of 

the hearing. Depending on the courtroom, telephonic options and additional security 

measures may be available.  

 

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________
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8-What About Visitation, Custody, and Parenting Time? 

https://www.tncourts.gov/programs/self-help-center  

Can the child 

support program 

help with custody 

and visitation? 

In Tennessee, the child support program does not have the legal authority to establish, 

mediate or modify custody and visitation orders. 

Can support be 

established without 

a custody and 

visitation order? 

Yes.  A custody and visitation order in not required and it is common for unmarried parents to 

have an open child support case without a formal custody agreement in place.  

How does the 

amount of time each 

parent spends with 

the child impact 

child support? 

The child support guidelines are designed to take individual family dynamics into 

consideration. The actual amount of parenting time each parent is spending with their 

child(ren) is used in calculating child support.  There is also case law that applies a different 

formula if parents have equal custody of a child, or substantially more or less than the other 

parent. 

What if the amount 

of time each parent 

has the child 

changes?  

If there is a significant change in a custody and visitation schedule that has not been 

addressed in the child support order, either party may request that the support obligation be 

reviewed for a change in circumstances. If the change meets certain criteria, the support 

amount may be adjusted to reflect the current circumstances. 

How do I get a 

custody and 

visitation order? 

• Married parents shall include a custody and visitation agreement in a Parenting Plan as part 

of a Divorce Decree. 

• Unmarried parents can petition the court for an order addressing custody and visitation.  

This action also requires the establishment of paternity. 

• There are programs available in parts of Tennessee who assist with access and visitation.  

https://www.tncourts.gov/sites/default/files/docs/access__visitation_grantee_list_fy_2020-

2021_-_10-13-2020_final.pdf  
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9-What Happens After a Parent Gets a Support Order? 

After a child support order has been established: 

• Once a support order has been finalized, it is legally binding. If either parent does not follow the court’s order, 

he or she could be brought back to court and face several penalties, including jail time.  

• If a person is not satisfied with their child support order, the case can be contested.  An appeal must be filed 

with the district court within the time stated in the court order. 

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________
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10-How is Child Support Enforced? 

The first step the child support program takes to enforce child support is through direct contact with a noncustodial 
parent’s employer to withhold child support from his/her paycheck.  A noncustodial parent should pay directly to the 
Tennessee State Disbursement Unit until the employer withholds wages to honor the Income Withholding Order.  Wage 
withholding is not optional in IV-D cases, – it is required.  https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-
services/child-support-payment-information/paying-child-support.html  

Other measures the child support program may take if a noncustodial parent gets behind in child support include: 
• calls and delinquency letters to the noncustodial parent 
• intercepting federal income tax refund checks, lottery winnings, or other money that may be due from state or 

federal sources 
• filing liens against his or her property or other assets 
• suspending driver, professional, and hunting and fishing licenses 
• placing a hold on his or her passport 
• reporting the non-payment to credit reporting agencies 
• filing contempt against the noncustodial parent asking the court to enforce its order - a judge may enter a 

judgment for past due child support and/or sentence a nonpaying parent to jail.  Incarceration is a last resort 
option. 

If a custodial parent is not receiving child support payments as ordered, the first step they may want to take is 
contacting the local child support office to inquire on the case status.  Any information the custodial parent can provide 
to the office to help with enforcement (e.g. name and address of the noncustodial parent’s employer, address and 
phone number for the noncustodial parent) is very helpful.  Custodial parents should be persistent and expect the child 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-payment-information/paying-child-support.html
https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-payment-information/paying-child-support.html


support staff to answer their questions with respect and accuracy.  If a custodial parent is not able to get questions 
answered by the representative they are talking to, they can ask to speak to a supervisor or the office manager.  

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

11-Modifications, Arrears, Payments, Case Closure … 

What is a 

modification? 

A modification, also known as a Review and Adjustment, is when a support order is evaluated to 

make sure it still follows the state guidelines.  

Who can 

request a 

modification? 

The custodial parent, the noncustodial parent, the third-party caretaker, or child support program 

can a request a review of the order. Not all requests for review will result in a modification. If the 

child support program determines a modification is not appropriate, both parties will be notified and 

have the right to file a petition to modify the order through the judicial process, either on their own 

or with the help of an attorney. 

When can an 

order be 

modified? 

The child support program will conduct a review: 

• Every 3 years upon the request of either party in a non-assistance case 

• Every 3 years if there is an assignment of support rights (TANF) 

• Upon learning that a noncustodial parent will be incarcerated for more than 180 days 

• When a substantial change in circumstances exists 

• When medical support needs to be addressed  

What is 

considered a 

“significant” 

change in 

circumstances? 

A change of 15% or more in the gross monthly income of the obligor is the most common reason 

parents request a modification, however, there are other potential basis for requesting a review that 

may require a court to make a final determination. 

The results of the review could be an increased obligation, decreased obligation or no change. 

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/review-and-adjustment.html  

What are 

arrears? 

Child support arrearages build up with each month that the full amount of current child support is 

not paid and may include any unpaid retroactive judgment.  Child support arrearages can also accrue 

interest charges as determined by the court.  https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/review-and-adjustment.html
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/human-services/documents/Understanding%20Past%20Due%20Child%20Support_5.20.2019%20PILO%20edited.pdf


services/documents/Understanding%20Past%20Due%20Child%20Support_5.20.2019%20PILO%20e

dited.pdf  

How are 

arrears paid? 

If a child support order does not include a separate arrears payment in addition to ongoing support, 

the child support program will assess the arrears payment at one-half of the current support amount. 

Once the ongoing support amount is met, any additional amounts collected will apply to the 

arrearages. 

Who gets the 

arrears 

payments? 

If the custodial parent has never received any public assistance (TANF), the child support arrears are 

owed to the custodial parent (unassigned arrears).   If a custodial parent has received cash assistance 

(TANF), some or all of the child support arrears may be owed to the state and federal government 

(assigned arrears).   Many parents have a mix of assigned and unassigned arrears – when payments 

are made on “mixed” arrears – the arrears that are owed to the parent are generally paid off first 

unless the payment if from a federal tax offset. 

How are 

payments 

received? 

Child support payments are applied to a prepaid debit card after the first payment is sent by check.  

https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-payment-

information/receiving-child-support.html  

When will my 

case close? 

There are many reasons for closing a case: 

• There is no current obligation and arrears are under $500 or unenforceable under state law 

• The child support program is unable to establish paternity due to the age of the child or negative 

DNA testing  

• The child support program is unable to locate the noncustodial parent 

• The noncustodial parent will be incarcerated or disabled throughout the child’s minority 

• The recipient of services fails to cooperate 

• The recipient of services has good cause not to cooperate as determined by Family Assistance 

• The recipient of services is not receiving TANF, provides a written closure request and there are no 

assigned arrears 

• The noncustodial parent’s only source of income is Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 

 

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________
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_____________________________________________________________________________
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_____________________________________________________________________________ 
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