

# **Child Support Program Fact Sheet**

In Tennessee, the Department of Human Services (DHS) administers the Child Support Program. Offices are located across the state in all Tennessee Judicial Districts. The services are provided through local district attorneys, DHS staff and private agencies. The Child Support Program provides services that promote parental responsibility to meet the financial needs of children and their families.

#### **IV-D Case**

Title IV-D of the Social Security Act requires all states to have a child support program. The Child Support program is sometimes referred to as the IV-D program. If you receive services from your local child support office, your child support case is a IV-D case.

# What services are available through the Child Support Program?

- Location of a child's parent(s) for the purpose of obtaining support or establishing paternity,
- Establishment of paternity,
- Establishment and enforcement of child support orders,
- Establishment and enforcement of medical support,
- Collection and distribution of payments,
- Modification of child support orders, and
- Enforcement of spousal support orders, if child support is involved.



#### Who can apply for services?

Any custodial parent, noncustodial parent or caretaker of a child who needs the services offered by the Child Support Program may apply for services regardless of their income.

#### How do I apply for services?

If you are a recipient of Families First/TANF benefits DHS will automatically refer your case to your local child support office. If you are not a recipient of state benefits, you may apply for child support services by completing an online application or by obtaining a paper application. If a family has never received Families First/TANF benefits, Federal statute requires that states charge an annual fee of \$35.00 for child support services after \$550 has been received on the case.

Applications are available in English and Spanish on the DHS website: <a href="https://onedhs.tn.gov/csp">https://onedhs.tn.gov/csp</a>



A free, one stop resource for Tennessee families to raise healthy and happy kids.

#### For More Information:

Web: <a href="https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services.html">https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services.html</a>

Phone: Contact information for each child support office can be found at: <a href="https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-office-locator.html">https://www.tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-office-locator.html</a>

DHS Child Support Information Line: (615) 313-4880 Child Support Disbursement Unit: (615) 253-4394 (local) or 1-800-838-6911 (toll free)

## **Frequently Asked Questions**

### What are the payment options available to the non-custodial parent?

Most noncustodial parents pay child support through Income Withholding Orders. If this is not an option, the noncustodial parent can pay their court ordered obligation by mail, online by automatic withdrawal, phone, mobile website or credit card. <a href="https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/humanservices/for-families/child-support-services/child-support-payment-information/paying-child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-support-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-services/child-ser

### How can I check the status of a child support payment?

Noncustodial parents (NCPs) and custodial parents (CPs) can view processed payments online at <a href="https://apps.tn.gov/tcses/">https://apps.tn.gov/tcses/</a> or call the Child Support Disbursement Unit at (615) 253-4394 (local) or 1-800-838-6911 (toll free) for assistance.

# I have a child support order, but the noncustodial parent doesn't pay. How can I get my order enforced?

One of the principal goals of the Child Support Program is to ensure families receive the child support they need and deserve in accordance with the child support order. Most enforcement tools utilized to collect past due support are administrative and do not require the involvement of the court. When administrative mechanisms do not prove effective, court involvement may be necessary. Enforcement actions may include placing a lien on a bank account, revoking a driver license, reporting debt to credit reporting agencies. For assistance in enforcing your child support order, contact your local child support office.



# I think the child support obligation needs adjusting. How can I get it changed?

Both parents have the right to request a review and possible modification of the child support order at any time. A significant variance is required for modification of an existing order. Current income information for both parties will be reviewed to determine if an adjustment is appropriate based on the Tennessee Child Support Guidelines. For assistance, contact your local child support office or your private attorney.

#### What if the other parent lives in another state?

If the other parent resides out-of-state, child support can be pursued across state lines under the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act (UIFSA). Using standardized forms, one state can request another state for assistance with the activities necessary to establish, enforce, and collect child support.

#### My child will soon be 18 years old and is still in high school. Do I need to do anything?

Tennessee Code Annotated Section 34-1-102 (b) states that parents shall continue to be responsible for support of the child after the child reaches eighteen (18) years of age if the child is in high school. The duty of support shall continue until the child graduates from high school or when the child attains eighteen (18) years of age graduates, whichever occurs first.

**NOTE:** The Child Support Program cannot help with civil matters such as divorce petitions, custody, or parenting time/visitation, nor can they provide legal advice on these issues. Contact the court mediator in your judicial district to discuss how these matters can be addressed by the court.

There are Tennessee programs that can assist you and your family with educational opportunities and workforce development.

#### **Tennessee Promise**

Tennessee Promise offers two years of tuition-free community or technical college to Tennessee high school graduates beginning with the Class of 2015. <a href="https://www.tnpromise.gov">www.tnpromise.gov</a>

#### **Tennessee Reconnect**

As part of Tennessee Reconnect, all Tennessee adults can now attend and earn a diploma or certificate at any of our 27 Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology completely free of tuition and fees. <a href="https://www.tnreconnect.gov">www.tnreconnect.gov</a>