
Of the 2,398 infants who failed their screening or went to 
evaluation directly: 

à 70.1%* had documented final diagnostic results 

¨ Among them, 65.7%* were within 3 months of age 

à Overall, 45.9%* of the 2,398 infants received final 
diagnostic results within 3 months of age 

Of the 154 infants identified with hearing loss, all were 
referred to early intervention services: 

à 77.2%* had confirmed enrollment with an early 
intervention provider 
¨ Among them, 70.5%* were enrolled within 6 

months of age 

à Overall, 57.3%* of the 154 infants with hearing loss 
were enrolled within 6 months of age  

*Excludes records marked as refusal, non-TN resident, moved out of state, expired, or age unknown at screening/
diagnosis/enrollment

One in 500 Tennessee infants is diagnosed with congenital hearing loss. Claire’s Law (T.C.A. § 68-5-9) went into 
effect in 2008, requiring all infants born in Tennessee to be screened for hearing loss before being discharged 
from the hospital. Tennessee’s Newborn Hearing Screening and Follow-up Program is also known as the 
Tennessee Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) Program. The program’s goal is to promote early 
screening, identification, and intervention of hearing loss by partnering with healthcare professionals and 
organizations to screen infants by 1 month of age, diagnose them by 3 months of age, and provide intervention 
services by 6 months of age. 

ASSURE ALL INFANTS 
RECEIVE A HEARING 
SCREENING, USING 

PHYSIOLOGIC
MEASURES, PRIOR TO 
HOSPITAL DISCHARGE
OR BEFORE 1 MONTH 

OF AGE. 

ASSURE ALL INFANTS 
WHO FAILED

SCREENING RECEIVE   
DIAGNOSTIC

AUDIOLOGICAL
EVALUATION PRIOR
TO 3 MONTHS OF 

AGE.  1 in 15 infants who failed their screening
were confirmed to have hearing loss. 

Of the 87,212 infants born in Tennessee in 2021: 

à 99.5%* received a hearing screening 

¨ Among them, 98.0%* were screened within 1 month 
of age 

¨ 97.3% passed their screening 

à Overall, 97.6%* of infants were screened within 1 
month of age 

ASSURE ALL INFANTS 
IDENTIFIED WITH

HEARING LOSS      
RECEIVE

APPROPRIATE EARLY
INTERVENTION

SERVICES NO LATER
THAN 6 MONTHS OF 

AGE. 
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Data Source:  
Division of Family Health and Wellness, Tennessee Department of Health.  
https://www.tn.gov/didd/for-consumers/tennessee-early-intervention-system-teis.html 
https://www.tn.gov/health/newbornhearingscreening 
https://www.infanthearing.org 
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