
Tennessee Board of Nursing 
Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement – RN and LPN 

 

The statutes governing registered nurses are in TCA, Section δ 63-7-103 and δ 63-7-104 and practical nurses are in TCA, Section δ 63-7-108 and  
δ 63-7-109, http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/tncode/ 
 

 
*Read all instructions and determine your Primary State of Residence  

before completing any applications. * 
 
 
**Allow six weeks for processing. It is not necessary to call the board to check on the status of your 
application go to: https://apps.health.tn.gov/Licensure/default.aspx. 
 
 
 
Primary State of Residence: 
If your primary state of residence* is Tennessee or a non-compact state, you may apply in Tennessee for licensure 
by endorsement.  If you declare your legal residence in another compact state and hold a multistate license, you are 
ineligible for a Tennessee license and your application will be placed on hold for up to one year until you declare 
Tennessee as your primary state of residence. https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/health/documents/PH-3913.pdf 

*Primary state of residence means the state of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal home for legal purposes; domicile.  
The following items may be requested as proof of primary state of residence:  driver’s license, voter registration card, federal income 
tax return.  For a current map of states in the compact, check the following web site: https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-
compact.htm. 
 

 
 
Criminal Background Check: 

• Criminal background check is required for TN board of nursing. 
https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/health/health-professionals/criminal-background-check/cbc-
instructions.html  OCA # RN=1703 LPN=1704 

• If applicable: obtain and upload documents relative to criminal conviction (arresting document, judgment, 
completion of judgement) along with a letter of explanation. 

 
 
Request Verification of licensure from the state where you were originally licensed.  The Nursys website 
(http://www.nursys.com ) should be used for most states.  However, if original licensure was in the following states, 
California (LPN) and Pennsylvania contact that board for verification instructions.   
 
The Tennessee Board of Nursing accepts the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) or the National Council 
Licensure Examination (NCLEX) provided scores are equal to or higher than the lowest passing scores required by 
this board. 
 

 
Complete the Online Application and UPLOAD the following documents and submit $115.00 
payment (PAY ONE TIME ONLY) – do not submit duplicate payment) at: 
https://lars.tn.gov/datamart/login.do  (We recommend using a laptop or desktop computer with Google Chrome.) 

 
a. One (1) passport sized photograph signed and dated on the front by the applicant. The date must be no more 

than 3 months prior to date of application.  Sign and date legal name legibly. (Digital signature is not accepted) Do 
not conceal the face. Note: Snapshots are not acceptable.  
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b. An official transcript from initial nursing education Request an official transcript to be sent directly from the 
educational institution of the nursing program to: nursing.health@tn.gov. An applicant must be a graduate of an 
approved school of practical nursing and licensed by written examination to be licensed as a practical nurse in Tennessee.  
An applicant must be graduate of an approved school of registered nursing and licensed by written examination to be 
licensed as a registered nurse in Tennessee. 
 
 

c. Declaration of Citizenship form: complete, sign (digital signature not accepted), have notarized and submit with 
required documentation. 
The form is online at: https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/health/healthprofboards/PH-41833.pdf 
 
 

 
Additional information, if applicable: 
Licensure by Endorsement for Foreign Nurse Graduates or Applicants Educated in Puerto Rico. 
 
Applicants seeking a licensure by endorsement must submit: 

CES Professional Report and Results from an English Language Proficiency Exam (IELTS or TOEFL) unless educated in one 
of the following countries: 

 
• Australia 
• Barbados 
• Canada (except Quebec) 
• Ireland 
• Jamaica 
• New Zealand 
• South Africa 
• Trinidad/Tobago 
• United Kingdom 
• United States (except Puerto Rico). 

 
 
Contact CGFNS at http://www.cgfns.org 
 
 
Once you have the CES Professional Report and the English Proficiency Exam, if required, you may then apply 
online for licensure by endorsement, if already licensed in another state, at:  

https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/health-professional-boards/nursing-board/nursing-
board/applications.html 

  
 
 
The “SAVE Act” requires Tennessee Department of Health (including all Boards, Commissions, and 
contractors), along with every local health department in the State, to verify that every adult applicant for a 
professional license is either a U.S. citizen, a “qualified alien,” or a nonimmigrant who meets the 
requirements set out at 8 U.S.C. 1621.    
 

 
 
 
 

**If the application is not complete upon receipt by the Board,  
you will be notified by email of the deficiency. ** 
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Please go to https://lars.tn.gov/datamart/login.do  

If you currently have a sign on ID and password, please fill in the Returning User fields. 

 

If you are a new user, please select “Begin Here for Sign-up” and complete the profile registration. 

Once you are signed in, the following “Quick Start Menu” is displayed. 

 Please select the following: Board of Nursing; then Registered Nurse: Licensure by Endorsement 
Application  

 
 

…then click the blue “Select” button. 

 

https://lars.tn.gov/datamart/login.do


An introduction page is displayed regarding this application. 

 

 

**PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS 
APPLICATION, PLEASE CONTACT THE BOARD AT 615-532-5166. 

 

 

Tennessee Board of Nursing 

665 Mainstream Drive 

Nashville, TN 37243 

Email: nursing.health@tn.gov 


