
 

 

TENNESSEE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS’ 

 

COMMITTEE FOR Physician Assistant 
 

Tuesday, June 20, 2017 

 

MINUTES 

 A regular meeting of the Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners’ Physician Assistants was held in 

the Poplar Conference Room at 665 Mainstream Drive, Nashville, Tennessee 37243. 

 

Members Present 

Chair – Omar Nava 

Ralph Dailey 

Barbara Thornton 

Gregory Cain 

 

Staff Present 

Dr. Rene Saunders 

Stacy Tarr 

Maegan Martin 

Andrea Huddleston 

Mary Bratton 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

Financial Report 
Noranda French 

 

Applicant Interviews 

 

Elizabeth Ashe 

Elizabeth Ashe is brought forward as the first applicant interview. Dr. Rene Saunders explains Ms. Ashe’s reason for the 

interview. There is a policy in place in Tennessee which would require a competency examination if one had been out of 

practice for an extended period of time. Mr. Nava asks Ms. Ashe if she was aware of the policy, and she states that she 

was not when she originally applied. Ms. Ashe withdrew her application, and agreed to re-apply when she had been in 

practice in West Virginia for 2 years. 

 

Lindsey Keenum 

Lindsey Keenum is brought forward. Ms. Keenum was arrested for suspicion of driving under the influence and open 

container. She ultimately entered a guilty plea for reckless endangerment and was sentenced to probation. A 

representative of PHP explains that Ms. Keenum was evaluated through drug screenings and meetings and passed all 

tests. Chairman Nava states, that since she has been monitored by another state program, we shouldn’t need any more 

monitoring. A motion is made for approval, seconded and passes unanimously 

 

Warren Starret 

Mr. Starrett has pled guilty to four offenses involving drugs or alcohol. The last offense, a misdemeanor, occurred in 

2001. He has undergone mandatory counseling and reports that he has submitted to random drug screens for the past 

five years without incident. A motion is made for approval, seconded and passes unanimously 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

Legislation – James Layman 
Committee for Physician Assistants  
Legislative Update - 2017  
Public Chapter 42  
This sunset provision extends the committee on physician assistants until June 30, 2021.  

Public Chapter 266  
Current law authorizes physicians and health officers to treat minors with STDs without parental knowledge or consent and incur no civil or criminal liability except 
for negligence. This legislation adds nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, and physician’s assistants to those authorized to treat minors with STDs without parental 
knowledge or consent. This act took effect on July 1, 2017.  

Public Chapter 350  
This will allow healthcare providers to satisfy one hour of continuing education requirements through the performance of one hour of voluntary provision of 
healthcare services. The maximum amount of annual hours of continuing education that a provider can receive through providing volunteer healthcare services is the 
lesser of 8 hours or 20% of the provider’s annual continuing education requirement. The legislations allows for rulemaking by the division of health related boards in 
order to administer this section. This took effect on May 12, 2017.  

Public Chapter 215  
This will require state governmental entities that establish or adopt guides to practice to do so through the promulgation of rules, rather than policy. The rulesso 
promulgated must specify all provisions included in and relating to the guide to practice. Any changes to guides to practice made after the guides are adopted must 
also be promulgated by rule in order to be effective. For purposes of this part, guides to practice includes codes of ethics and other quality standards, but does not 
include tests, examinations, building codes, safety codes, or drug standards. This legislation took effect on April 28, 2017.  

Public Chapter 240  
This legislation was brought by the Department of Health and was designed to address a number of issues throughout all licensing boards, committees, and councils. 
This legislation will:  

minations by making examination questions, answer sheets, scoring keys, and other examination data confidential and closed to 
public inspection.  

who are engaged in administrative practice. Limited licenses 
may be of restricted scope, restricted duration, and have additional conditions placed upon them in order to obtain full licensure.  

 Department with regard to an investigation are confidential until such time as formal disciplinary 
charges are filed against the provider.  

 

h care facility to report within 60 days any disciplinary action taken against an employee for matters related to 
ethics, incompetence or negligence, moral turpitude, or substance abuse, to the employee’s respective licensing board. All records pertaining to the disciplinary 
action shall be made available for examination to the licensing board.  
 
This act became effective on May 2, 2017. 

Public Chapter 481  
This legislation creates a new violation of a healthcare practitioner’s practice act if that practitioner refuses to submit to or tests positive for any drug the practitioner 
does not have a lawful prescription for or a valid medical reason for using the drug. It is the duty of the employer to report any violation to the Department of Health. 
If the practitioner fails a drug test, the practitioner has 3 business days to either produce the requisite prescription or medical reason, or report to their board 
approved peer assistance program. If the practitioner does not comply with any of these measures, it is the duty of the employer to report this violation of the 
practice act to the employee’s licensing board for investigation and action. If the practitioner reports to the peer assistance program and obtains and maintains 
advocacy of the program, the employer is not required to notify the board.  
As long as a practitioner obtains, maintains and complies with the terms of a peer assistance program, the board shall not take action on the licensee for the sole 
reason of a failed or refused drug test. If a practitioner fails to obtain or maintain advocacy from the peer assistance program, the program is required to report that 
information to the appropriate licensing board. The board SHALL suspend the license of a practitioner who fails to comply with the terms of the program. Employer 
drug testing must be compliant with the Drug-free Workplace requirements. This legislation allows a quality improvement committee to share information regarding 
substance abuse by a practitioner with other quality improvement committees. Additionally, this legislation specifies that the Department of Health is not required to 
obtain prior approval from the Attorney General in order to take any emergency action on a licensee. This legislation took effect on July 1, 2017.  

Public Chapter 230  
This legislation authorizes commissioners or supervising officials of departments to evaluate certain actions by a regulatory board to determine whether the 

actionmay constitute a potentially unreasonable restraint of trade. Supervising officials must ensure that the actions of regulatory boards that 
displace competition are consistent with a clearly articulated state policy. If a board action constitutes a potentially unreasonably restraint of free 
trade, the supervising official must conduct a further review of the action and either approve, remand or veto the action. The supervising official 
may not be licensed by, participate in, or have a financial interest in the occupation, business or trade regulated by the board who is subject to 
further review, nor be a voting or ex officio member of the board. The supervising official must provide written notice of any vetoed actions to the 
senate and house government operations committees.  
Prior to filing a regulatory board's rule with the secretary of state, the commissioner or chief executive officer of the administrative department 

under which a regulatory board operates or to which a regulatory board is administratively attached, or a designee to the extent a conflict of 

interest may exist with respect to the commissioner or chief executive officer, must remand a rule that may constitute a potentially unreasonable 

restraint of trade to the regulatory board for additional information, further proceedings, or modification, if the rule is not consistent with a clearly 

articulated state policy or law established by the general assembly with respect to the regulatory board. This act took effect on April 24, 2017. 

 



 

OGC report 
 

Ms. Bratton 

 

Conflict of Interest policy is brought to the attention of the board 

 

No pending rules 

No pending appeals from disciplinary action 

No civil suits against the committee 

Currently 10 Complaints against 7 respondents that are in the office of the general council 

 

A piece of legislation just passed that will require the department to monitor prescribers that are considered high risk 

prescribers. That will be liable for more continuing education and must comply with make available to those waiting in 

their clinic in their waiting rooms, educational literature designed to warn their patience of the dangers of opioid 

addiction. They will be required to get written consent from some patients over set morphine equivalence. Failure to 

comply once recognized as a high-risk prescriber could result in disciplinary action. Chairperson Nava, suggests that the 

board send something out to prescribers to inform them that this is going into effect. OGC explains that these 

requirements will be implemented in the year going forward, and if they do not comply, then the disciplinary action 

would take effect.  

 

Federation of State Medical Boards has announced a two day program, focusing on attorney’s advisory work. Ms. 

Bratton believes that 2 attorneys from our boards be sponsored by this committee to attend this program. A motion is 

made to approve, sending 2 attorneys to this program. The motion is seconded and passes unanimously. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

New Licenses 
 

A motion is made to ratify all of the new licenses, since the previous meeting date. The motion is then seconded and 

passes unanimously. 

 

 

 

Agreed Citations 
 

Michelle Vasireddy – Lapsed 

The committee was informed that the above named practitioner was  assessed a penalty of $900 for unlicensed practice 

for the total time of 4 months. This penalty is reported to the National Practitioner Databank. 

 

 

 

 

April  7 , 2017 minutes 

 

Page 2 was amended, under CME policies.  

 

Change was implemented showing that Mr. Dailey recused himself in the situation involving Ms. Peercy  (page 4) 

 

A motion was made to approve the previous meetings minutes and was then seconded. The motion passes 

unanimously. 

 

Meeting adjourned 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 


