## TRAUMA CARE ADVISORY COUNCIL MINUTES

**Date: August 9, 2014** 

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT	<ul> <li>(1) Don Barker, MD</li> <li>(2) Angie Bowen, RN</li> <li>(3) Mike Carr, MD</li> <li>(4) Brian Daley, MD</li> <li>(5) Trey Eubanks, MD</li> <li>(6) Amber Greeno, RN</li> <li>(7) Oscar Guillamondegui, MD</li> </ul>	(8) Tiffany Lasky, MD (9) Sharon Littleton, RN (10) John Marshall (11) Marisa Moyers, RN (12) Tim Nunez, MD (13) Tyler Putnam, MD (14) Stephanie Savage, MD	(15) Benji Scharfstein, MD
VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT	(1) Chris Brooks, MD (2) Joel Dishroon, EMT-P (3) Hospital Admin (vacant) (4) Consumer (vacant)	(= 1) suspinate surage, 1.1D	
GUESTS/ TCOT Members	<ol> <li>Kim Bartlett</li> <li>Linda Booker</li> <li>Paula Bergon</li> <li>Brad Dennis</li> <li>Diane Dubinski</li> <li>Howard Evans</li> <li>Daphine Fitchpatrick</li> <li>Sheryl Forman</li> </ol>	<ul> <li>(9) Juan Gallego</li> <li>(10) Tony Haley</li> <li>(11) Neal Johns</li> <li>(12) Beth Jordan</li> <li>(13) David Kerley</li> <li>(14) Robert Maxwell</li> <li>(15) Julie Murr</li> <li>(16) Roger Nagy</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>(17) Robert Parks</li> <li>(18) Rob Seesholtz</li> <li>(19) Melissa Smith</li> <li>(20) Angie Tipton</li> <li>(21) Kyonzte Hughes-Toombs</li> <li>(22) Tammi Williams</li> </ul>
NEXT MEETING DATES:	<b>2014</b> Wednesday November 12 – Nashville 12 N CST		

TOPIC	SPEAKER	SUMMARY/DECISIONS	RECOMMENDATIONS/ ACTION	RESPONSIBLE PARTY
Statute Rules	O. Guillamondegui	Required to have majority voting members present to have a quorum	Roll call – Quorum present	
I. Approval of Minutes	O. Guillamondegui	Minutes from the March 12, 2014 TCAC meeting were presented for approval.	Minutes approved with the correction of Dr. Scharfstein being in attendance.	
II. Old Business a. Trauma Fund	R. Seesholtz	Trauma fund update was provided.	At the request of the council, quarterly disbursement spreadsheets will be forwarded to TCAC members.	State Trauma Office
III. TCAC voting Membership composition	O. Guillamondegui	Work on the makeup of the voting membership is complete and was presented to council for vote.	Revised TCAC voting membership was approved and will be forwarded to the Commissioner of Health for approval.	
V. Subcommittee / Ad Hoc Committee Reports				
a. Registry	O. Guillamondegui	Data dictionary is complete and was presented to the council for approval.	Data Dictionary will be taken to the next Health Care Facilities Board meeting for approval.	
		The Registrars User Manual is complete and has been distributed to registrars around the state.		
		Statewide registry field element reporting percentages were distributed.	Individual facility reporting percentages will be distributed to each facility. It is planned to distribute this information quarterly to ensure data continuity and the accuracy of data being reported.	State Trauma Office
b. IP / Surveillance	R. Seesholtz	Terry Love extends regrets, on vacation. Senior falls conference was well attended and safe sleep is ongoing.		

TOPIC	SPEAKER	SUMMARY/DECISIONS	RECOMMENDATIONS/ ACTION	RESPONSIBLE PARTY
c. System Development/ Outreach	O. Guillamondegui	Discussion of trauma system development costs and what monies allocated would be used for. Discussion of possible budget items such as education, registry, state trauma conference.  Council wants to ensure that when a budget is developed that it is detailed enough to pass an audit and that any unused monies will revert back into the trauma fund.	Small committee consisting of John Marshall, Bryan Metzger, Rhonda Phillippi, and Rob Seesholtz will begin the process of developing a draft system development budget and report back to the council.	Committee as assigned
d. Finance		No report.		
e. PI/Outcomes	T. Eubanks	Data element reporting percentages will need to improve.		
f. Pediatric	A. Bowen/Marisa Moyers	Rhonda extends regrets.  Report reminding the council of the need for nominees for the star of life banquet next year.		
g. Legislative		Rule revision will begin soon. Volunteers were solicited from the council to participate on the rule revision committee.	Rule revision committee volunteers consisting of Niki Rasnake, Amber Greeno, Melissa Smith, Sharon Littleton, Marisa Moyers, Carol Jones, Dr. Putnam, Dr. Lasky, Dr. Nunez, Bryan Metzger, John Marshall, Diane Dubinski, and Rob Seesholtz will meet soon to begin the revision process.	Committee as assigned
VI. New Business				
a. New Membership	O. Guillamondegui	Dr. Guillamondegui welcomed Dr. Nagy and Skyline Medical Center to the council as the first trauma center in the state in 15 years to be provisionally designated.		

TOPIC	SPEAKER	SUMMARY/DECISIONS	RECOMMENDATIONS/ ACTION	RESPONSIBLE PARTY
		As a result of Dr. Guillamondegui serving as state COT /TCAC chair, Dr. T. Nunez will replace him as Vanderbilt's voting member on the council.	Welcome to the newest members of the council.	
		Sharon Littleton was elected as the Trauma Program Manager voting representative on the council.		
		Joel Dishroon was elected as the Registrar voting representative on the council		
		Nominations for a consumer of trauma care as a voting member of the council were taken.	Jamie Simmons was nominated as the consumer of trauma care to participate as a voting member on the council.	
b. Air Medical issues	Dr. Daley	Expressed concerns regarding certain drugs administered and the care provided from out of state air ambulance services.	Will investigate the authority to regulate the care provided from out of state air medical providers.	State Trauma Office
c. Claiborne County	O. Guillamondegui	Dr. Guillamondegui advised that he had received a call from Dr. Wilmoth from Claiborne County and has withdrawn his membership from the TCAC.		
VII. Adjourn		Meeting was adjourned		