## TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

## **POLICY**

## EMPLOYMENT OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS WITH EXPIRED LICENSES

The Tennessee Massage Licensure Board expects massage establishments to ensure that their massage therapists have active massage therapist licenses. The license of any establishment that allows a massage therapist with an expired license to practice on its premises may itself be disciplined, including assessing civil penalties and taking other disciplinary action against the establishment. However, the Board recognizes that an establishment may inadvertently allow a massage therapist to practice while the therapist's license is expired. As such, the Board adopts the following policy regarding disciplinary action against massage establishments that have allowed practice by therapists with expired licenses.

- Immediately upon learning that a therapist's license has expired, the establishment must prohibit the therapist from any further practice on its premises.
- If the therapist worked on an expired license for up to three (3) months, the establishment shall be sent a letter of warning.
- If the therapist worked on an expired license for more than three (3) months but fewer than ten (10) months, a formal disciplinary case will be opened against the establishment in which civil penalties will be sought in the amount of fifty dollars (\$50) per month in excess of three that the therapist worked on an expired license.
- If the therapist worked on an expired license for between ten (10) and twelve (12) months, a formal disciplinary case will be opened against the establishment in which civil penalties will be sought in the amount of three hundred dollars (\$300) <u>plus</u> one hundred dollars (\$100) per month for each month of practice on a lapsed license during months ten (10) through twelve (12) after the therapist's license expired.
- If the therapist worked on an expired license for more than twelve (12) months, a formal disciplinary case will be opened against the establishment in which civil penalties of at least six hundred dollars (\$600) shall be sought.

These civil penalty amounts are in addition to any other action that may be taken against the establishment license, such as placing the license on probation, suspending, or revoking the license. These civil penalty amounts may be adjusted depending on the facts on a case-by-case basis.

Adopted by the	Board of Massage Licensure onMay	8, 2018.
	Chairperson Tennessee Massage Licensure Board	_