
POLICY 

TENNESSEE MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD 
 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION VIOLATIONS 
 

 

A massage therapist licensed in Tennessee must obtain twenty-four (24) hours of 

continuing education every two (2) years. If a licensed massage therapist fails to obtain 

the required continuing education hours, in an effort to avoid the matter being forwarded 

to the Department’s Office of General Counsel for full prosecution and the possibility of 

more severe discipline, the therapist, if he or she is a first time offender, shall be offered 

an agreed citation with discipline as follows: 

 

1. The licensee shall, within thirty (30) days of being notified of the 

assessment, pay: 

 

a) a one hundred and fifty dollar ($150.00) civil penalty; AND 

b) twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per hour, or portion thereof, the 

licensee is deficient; and 

 

2. The licensee shall obtain the number of continuing education hours that he 

or she was deficient and an additional six (6) penalty hours of continuing 

education before the end of the next two (2) year period, in addition to the 

twenty-four (24) hours required for that period. 

 

If the therapist fails to accept this offer or fails to comply with its terms the matter shall 

be referred to the Department’s Office of General Counsel for full prosecution.  Full 

prosecution may include, and not be limited to, civil penalties double the amount 

offered in the agreed citation, the costs of prosecuting the case, and probation of the 

therapist’s massage license.  Likewise, if the massage therapist is found deficient in any 

subsequent biennial continuing education period he or she shall be referred to the 

Department’s Office of General Counsel for full prosecution rather than be offered the 

benefit of this policy. 

 

Notwithstanding the above, if a massage therapist is deficient no more than two hours, 

has complied with 0870-01-.12(1)(b) and (c), and has not been found deficient on the 

previous audit, the therapist shall be not be sent an agreed citation, but shall instead be 

sent a letter notifying them of the deficiency and advising them that future deficiencies 

will result in disciplinary action. 

 

Assessment of a civil penalty and/or requiring the completion of additional continuing 

education hours for failure to obtain the required number of hours is discipline that is 

reportable on the monthly disciplinary report. 

 



Revised March ____, 2018. 

 
_________________________________________ 

Marvis Burke, Chairperson 

Tennessee Massage Licensure Board 


